We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back country style hotel”
Review of Hotel Haus Duden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Haus Duden
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wesel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Laid back country style hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a collegue for a few days. I if this is an example of german hospitiality, well done. We were staying on business, and the staff were excellent, helpful and polite. All information within the hotel is in german, and the restaurant only seemed to have one menu in english but the staff spoke english so no problems! The service in the restuarant was a little slow in the evenings, and the could have done with one more staff serving. The food was of a good standard. Internet in the rooms was good, plenty of space to work. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk out of town. The queen size bed could be better. Ok for one perons, but if two were staying in one room it could be cosy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
16
85
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wesel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I wanted initially to go the hotel on the river, but it was fully booked> All I can say is that this hotel is absolutely wonderful. The extra quality is every where, the room is a sheer joy, the staff are really friendly, and all speak English(which didn't bother me 'cause I speak German, but my mum not!). The breakfast is sehr scoen(very nice). The Hotel is about 500metrs is the bust stop for number 83 bus which goes to Wesel town centre. Bus costs 2,30 Euros, it takes about an hour to walk it. Those people who said they were disappointed, they must have got their hotels mixed up

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We wanted a cosy hotel for a quiet weekend. Although the staff is very friendly, we found it too expensive for what is offered. The room is not on a 4star level at all. It is old and small and the general feeling is that it requires renovation desperately. The breakfast is good. But you do not get what you pay for and the run down feeling in general was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

This is a very good 4 star hotel in the german tradition and so one must not expect the usual 'multi-national' approach. For example, most notices and other writings are in german and are not translated. The eaves are low in some rooms, although this seems to be by design and not because of antiquity. 'Twin beds' means two mattresses side by side in the double divan frame.

The hotel benefits from being in a quiet location for a comparatively industrial area and this offsets the fact that it is a short way 'out of town'. Views are generally across open fields or directly into the woods.

The staff are very helpful and mostly have a little english language. The hotel is clean and well run and the food is very good. Breakfast is very good indeed for a 'continental style' with wide range of self serve foods. Dinner is beautifully cooked although we missed there not being any gateaux or 'pudding' on the menu.

Other guests are mainly German business people, including a high proportion of women, and those there attending business courses.

  • Liked — quiet location; reserved atmoshere
  • Disliked — no lifts
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room without a low ceiling; unless you have to book the cheapest room or are booking single
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wesel
2.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel  Wesel
Welcome Hotel Wesel
#1 of 6 in Wesel
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waldhotel Tannenhauschen
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#4 of 6 in Wesel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Landhotel Voshoevel
Landhotel Voshoevel
#1 of 4 in Schermbeck
75 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Doppeladler
Hotel Doppeladler
#1 of 2 in Rees
48 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel an de Marspoort
Hotel an de Marspoort
#1 of 7 in Xanten
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Duden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Duden

Property: Hotel Haus Duden
Address: Konrad-Duden-Str. 99, 46485 Wesel, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Wesel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haus Duden 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Haus Duden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing