We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Velbert
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean rooms and bathroom. Reasonably quiet although walls quite thin. Modern TV in room with a large selection of programes but no On Demand menu or any other digital services. Temperature in rooms adjustable by Reception guys, no thermostat in room. Very little in the way of room facilities, no tea tray, etc..basic bathroom facilities.
Breakfast excellent. Dinner well cooked but the range on offer small. Some days there is a choice of buffet. Service is friendly but slow. Do not avoid but not especially recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_bruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
16
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall: The Best Western Parkhotel Velbert is dated in ways, but is updated in the public areas and is spotless throughout. Service from employees was excellent, and the breakfast was very good. There is no air conditioning, and wifi is not available in all rooms.

Location: The hotel is in the town of Velbert, next to the park. The location is fairly peaceful and quiet. It is about 35 minutes to Dusseldorf.

Service: Employees were very cheerful, prompt, and helpful.

Rooms: The rooms were of good size. There was no air conditioning, though that was not a big issue when I was there, as the temperature was not that high, and the windows opened for fresh air. There was a fan in the room, but I did not need it.

Wifi was not working in the first room I was given, but when I inquired, they immediately moved me to a more "central" room where I had a strong signal.

The rooms are a mix of new and old. The room key is still an old fashioned physical, metal key. Some of the bathroom fixtures were from the 70's. The shower head fixture was new, but loose, so I had to hold the nozzle in one hand while showering.

The rooms have a small safe, though not big enough for a laptop.

Facilities: Breakfast was very good. Parking was free. There was a public PC in the lobby for printing documents. There were workout and spa facilities, but I did not use them. There were also restaurants on the premises, but I did not try them.

Room Tip: If you need Internet access, ask for a more central room with a strong wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were very pleasant surprised for this business hotel. we stayed a weekend here and we adored the area, lots of nice places to visit in the area. The hotel is worth is money (is not expensive with weekend tafriffs) Very good breakfast. Very clean modern hotel and lot of privat parking spaces around the hotel. amasing is the short distance to several towns as Dusseldorf, Wuppertal etc... and the hotel is although situated with a lot of green around and very peacefull in the evening. We want to go back there one day. Personnel very helpfull and good service. Coffee on each corridor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Decent hotel. expensive 12 € breakfast. Roms ok. Eat at bar, food was fine

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

Had to stay here because all hotels nearer Dusseldorf were busy. First impressions were that this is quite a dated hotel, with a real 1970's feel. The rooms are also quite dated, but the surprise is that the whole place is so fantastically clean and well maintained, the staff are friendly, and the restaurants look good too. If you can look past the 70's fixtures this is actually a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velbert
2.5 mi away
Waldhotel Heiligenhaus
Waldhotel Heiligenhaus
#1 of 2 in Heiligenhaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Rohleder
Gastehaus Rohleder
#6 of 8 in Velbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rosenhaus
Hotel Rosenhaus
#2 of 8 in Velbert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Carpe Diem Hotel
Carpe Diem Hotel
#7 of 8 in Velbert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
7.4 mi away
Hotel Land Gut Hohne
Hotel Land Gut Hohne
#1 of 5 in Mettmann
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert

Property: Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert
Address: Guenther-Weisenborn-Str. 7, 42549 Velbert, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Best Western Parkhotel Velbert)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Velbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Velbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Parkhotel Velbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Velbert
Velbert Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing