We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“X-Mas Brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhotel Glucksburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strandhotel Glucksburg
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glucksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“X-Mas Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a pleasant X-Mas brunch in the restaurant, which is designed with attention to detail in typical Scandinavian manner - the food was above average, however it did not call for a standing ovation. Having said that, I cannot comment on the a la carte menu, which may be of a higher standard. The service was excellent, the surrounding pleasant, a good time was had by all - a perfect place for a pleasant family gathering, the brunch certainly provided a good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mr. "Frank 1958",

thank you for your visit in our restaurant "Felix".
We are very happy that you had a pleasant time and enjoy the christmas buffet with your family.

If you like to eat from our a la carte menu we wish to welcome you any time. Only if we have special dates for our lunch buffet or other events in our culinary calender it could be that we don´t offer our a la carte menu.

With plesure you can call us any time to reserve a table and try our a la carte menu.

Kind regards

Your Strandhotel Glücksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
122
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Will definitely return for a couple of nights and I don't usually say that. Had a great impression from all those we came into contact with from the hotel. Breakfast was probably the best to date. View was tranquil, beach is a nice touch and distraction for the children, room was ok size though a bit echoey. There really is only 1 other hotel in this area unless you head towards Denmark or Kiel, quite surprising really. Though really great hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Martin H,

thank you so much for taking time and write down you impressions.

We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay and also that you have plans to visit us again in future.

If you have any questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Kind regards

Strandhotel Glücksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is very charming - kept in light colours. The restaurant is nice and the food really good - both in the evening and the morning buffet. The rooms vary quiet a lot in sizes but they are all nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mrs "Susanne L",

thank you so much for your stay and also for your comment on tripadvisor.
Your feedback and comments are the only way to address the individual needs of our guests and to optimise the quality of service.

We are very happy that you´ve enjoyed your time in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Your

Strandhotel Glücksburg-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is next to the white beach. You will find Skandinavien Design in the restaurant and in the hotelrooms. Everything is new and feels very bright and clean. We have been just two times in the restaurant and the food was really good. The only thing I was missing was different alcoholfree wines and beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keddy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. Keddy78,

thank you very much for staying in our Strandhotel. Your feedback and comments are the only way to address the individual needs of our guests and to optimise the quality of service.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay which left nothing to be desired. It shows that our house and its Scandinavian ease as well as the individual, kind and caring staff are the right philosophy to create a personal atmosphere.

Thank you for your advice regarding the nonalcoholic wine and beer. You are right that there is no selection because we only have one nonalcoholic beer and one nonalcoholic wine. If you visit us again please let us know before you arrive if you have any special wishes which we can order for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Yours
Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
298 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

By all means, this is a very, very good hotel with a fantastic location on the very nice beach. The renovation done over the years has been very well handled. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very good. The breakfast however, was not up to standards, slow on refills and with a limited selection. And I missed service and flexibility reflecting the price, i.e there was no extra beds available our 4 year old, even if there was lots of space in the room. This could have been accepted on a cheaper hotel, but not in a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. Arnt78,

thank you very much for staying in our Strandhotel and also for taking time to write down your impessions. Your feedback and comments are the only way to take remedial action in case of complaints and to optimise the quality of service.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having been able to make your stay as pleasant as you expected.

In a general rule our breakfast buffet is very liked by our guests and we are very sad that the service wasn´t profesional while your stay.
For sure we offer extra beds and babybeds for our guests. It is only neseccary to order them sufficiently early because it is a limited number of beds. Unfortunately we are not able to explain why this service was not possible in your case. With pleasure we will check the details if we can talk personally. Probably we are able to find the reason later.

We would be pleased if we could welcome you again soon, not least because we would love to show that improvement in quality is possible in our house.

Kind regards

Yours Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Set right on the beach, the Strand is a lovely grand hotel which we stumbled upon when looking for somewhere in the area to stay. Renovated within the last 10 years the decor is lovely, our room was very nice with lovely sea views, and a fabulous bathroom with a rainfall shower. We had a very fine meal indeed - memorably good. A corked bottle of rather expensive German red wine was replaced with grace and it turns out Germany does do some very fine reds after all. The beach is calm and just out the door. Service was friendly and effective. Breakfast was a feast. Really nothing to fault about this place. OK you pay handsomely for the privilege, but we did get a decent discount when they saw our faces upon hearing the price initially on enquiry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. The BunnetGull,

thank you so much for taking the time to write down your impressions.

We are very happy that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and also the service, meal and german wine.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Yours
Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a lovely room. I felt like a princess in a castle. In the middle of summer - i slept with the windows open and enjoyed the fresh air from the sea. It is very relaxing to go out onto the quiet sea front and walk down the dock and watch the jelly fish. The water front restaurant was lovely for drinks.

The restaurant was ready to close when we got in late. They stayed open for us and served fantastic food. Their collection of grappa and schnaaps was impressive. We only mildly experienced that.

The rooms were large and felt very plush.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the tower. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momma_christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. momma-christa,

we refer to your stay in our hotel and your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We are very thankful for your nice words and for your compliments regarding room, service and area.

If you wish to relax again we would be very happy to welcome you again and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Kind regards

Yours Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glucksburg
1.8 mi away
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
#2 of 7 in Glucksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reich's Hotel
Reich's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Glucksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 25 in Flensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel am Wasserschloss
Hotel am Wasserschloss
#3 of 7 in Glucksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
#3 of 25 in Flensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Glucksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Glucksburg

Property: Strandhotel Glucksburg
Address: Kirstenstrasse 6, 24960 Glucksburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Glucksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glucksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strandhotel Glucksburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Strandhotel Glucksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing