We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely home in a proper atmospheric French...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montlaur, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
valerie_g...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely home in a proper atmospheric French village.”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Considerate, helpful and fun English owners who also live in Montlaur and love it so much they wanted to share their experience of living in a non-touristy French village with lots of character, seemingly surrounded by vineyards. We would have loved another week! I would have called it a hidden gem had it not been so popular (and not just with the English). The renovated house and comprehensive facilities were as described and very comfortable, with private parking for one car and courtyard garden through the adjacent arch. An excellent butcher within yards, a well stocked little supermarket with daily deliveries and a weekly market kept us well provisioned.
A convenient base for the very many local possibilities within relatively short distances (including Lagrasse, Trebes and Carcassonne) in lovely countryside, and some super restaurants too. An interesting Cathar historic area worthy of much more exploring, another year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our village and that you wan to return. There is so much more to see and do - although relaxing in our garden and village is idyllic as you found!
Try coming in late September / early October next time for the grape harvest ( la vendange) - the colours are stunning and the village is energized . We love it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoosyDri...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immediately at home, in the heart of another world”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This quite charming property in the heart of the Corbieres wine-growing region is notable for the quality of its recent restoration and for the comprehensive facilities/equipment which owners Peter and Felicity Collier have provided for guests. With more than adequate bedrooms and public areas for a good sized family, the garden courtyard is perfect for outdoor relaxing or dining and safe for young children. The village itself is calm and perhaps just a little too quiet, sadly lacking its own restaurant, although a good selection of others can be found within 10-15 minutes by car. There are plenty of close by points of historic and cultural interest as well as day-trip opportunities, about which full information is provided. Everything to do with the organization and management of our stay was flawless.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our house and hope to welcome you again one day ! Thankyou for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay r
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect French holiday in a lovely gite in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We came to Montlaur in September 2016 with our border collie, to stay at L'Ecurie for 8 months. We wanted to 'immerse' in the village activities and hopefully improve our very basic French . We have found the gite extremely comfortable, spacious and homely and the garden has been an added bonus. With the help of Peter and Felicity we have joined the Montlaurian society for their many 'repas' and dancing events and the Abribus society for rambling and Occitan singing ! We have found the locals to be very friendly and helpful with our struggling french and we were even invited to join in ' hand picking ' the grapes at harvest time which was brilliant fun and included a very french picnic with lashings of local wine !
The garigue , which is the local countryside, is amazing and full of tracks between the vines and perfect for walking and cycling . The flowers will be amazing in the spring. We are loving being here in a very special place and would wholeheartedly recommend L'Ecurie for a perfect French holiday and a big thank you to Peter and Felicity for their friendship .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to put up this review. We are delighted you had such a good holiday and liked our house which we spent a lot of effort renovating! There is so much more to do and see in this beautiful area of France. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday here in the heart of our village and had such mellow weather despite coming in the middle of winter. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Super-Gite" with great hosts in a friendly village”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were two couples and stayed in L'Ancienne Ecurie for a week. The house has been renovated to a high standard while retaining its character. The decor is traditional French style and it is very well equipped with everything a family would need for a comfortable stay. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and willing to share their knowledge of the area with their guests. The surrounding countryside is very picturesque and it is easy to visit lots of interesting places such as Carcassonne, Lagrasse and Cathar Castles. All in all we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house and the outdoor terrace
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house in general as it was so spacious for a large party
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing