We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice day out, some great bargains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ingolstadt Village

Ingolstadt Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.84*
and up
Ingolstadt Village Shopping Day Trip from Munich
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Ingolstadt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fifty minutes from Munich, Ingolstadt Village hosts over more than 110 outlet boutiques, showcasing a vibrant mix of luxury brands with reductions of up to 60% on the former recommended retail price. Reflecting the architecture of textile mills and the Germany’s late- 19th nineteenth century industrial heritage, Ingolstadt Village evokes a world away from the bustle of the city. Top German brands are well represented, from Wolford to Phillip Plein, to Schneiders and, MCM, Hanro, Birkenstock and Strenesse. International collections include 7 7 For All Mankind, Escada, Hackett, L’´Occitane en Provence, For All Mankind, Desigual, Escada, Gant, Wolford and Le Creuset, as well as celebrated Italian designers brands Baldessarini, Bally, Boggi Milano, Versace, Valentino, La Perla, Furla and Trussardi. Given its proximity to the Austrian and Swiss borders and the Alps, Ingolstadt Village also has a selection of specialist ski and performance wear brands, including Bogner Outlet, Napapijri, The North Face, Salomon and Helly Hansen. The Village’s eateries dining options include Stifl, which servesing hearty Bavarian cuisine and Kaimug offering healthy, authentic Thai dishes. The Ingolstadt Village Shopping Express® runs to and from Munich, and a. There’s also a free shuttle service operates from Ingolstadt’s main train station.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice day out, some great bargains”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I liked this outlet. I went with low expectations having been to some American outlets that are just amazing. I was pleasantly surprised with what I found there. I'm more on the side of looking for high street stuff at a discount than designer stuff at a discount and this was great for those types of bargains, especially in terms of shoes and jeans. If you are looking for high-end I'm not sure you will find what you want here but I do still think it is worth a visit. I liked the Marco Polo outlet and the Marc shoe store and the Tom Tailor store. The Fossil shop was good as well, I like their jewellery but wouldn't pay the prices they charge outside of sales.
The best way to get there is on the bus from outside Sofitel (12 Bayerstrasse) at 9.30 Mon-Sat, you will arrive into the village at 11.00, the bus then leaves at 4.00, and we actually got into Munich for around 5.10. It is quicker than they estimate and has got to be easier than getting a train. Its costs 15euro return and the driver is nice, he gives out bottles of water on each journey, nice touch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eabhamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    174
    90
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Waist of time, not that cheap!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Cons first: I honestly don't understand why one would need to build a discount village when same or even more shops are available in Munich or any other bigger city offering same or better discounts. Shopping area is quite small, I'd say Munich's Olympia shopping mal or even Pasing Arcaden are way bigger, they have mostly the same brand names and same discounts.

Although there is a variety of offers, however they are not great, there is no WOW effect. I'm not a fashion guru and it makes no difference to me if the garment is from the last season, but I felt like all the crap that no one else wants to buy ended up in some of these shops. Not all, just some shops. Most of the shops sell the same overpriced stuff as they do in any other city in the world, just a bit cheaper. However I'm sure you could get the same stuff from Amazon cheaper :)

We've been to similar discount places in Canada. THESE were discounts! Same applies to USA. Honestly if you can go to Canada or States and buy several years worth of stuff there it's much more reasonable than going to this place.

The only visible diner was an Asian place that was packed to the max. San Francisco coffee shop didn't offer much besides coffee and a sandwitch, so we left hungry.

Pros: the area itself is very nice, clean, presentable. The only great shop was Geox shoe shop. You could tell that they sell stuff people need and want and it's actually properly discounted, it was packed. We ended up buying tall boots for the lady and shoes for sun. Latter was originally priced at 75€, then discounted to 45€ and we paid 19€! That's really cheap for a good Geox shoe.

Eating: if you are there by car I would recommend taking a 5km trip to Audi Forum on Effinger Str. and eating at their restaurant. It's not cheap, but it's very very good :) A good lunch for 2 would cost you around 25-30€.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Blumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Nice shopping deal”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great place to spend your time with a great shopping deal. We bought many things from there such as watches, bags, wallets, accessories, Swarovski....ect
There are many options for transportation from Munich to the Village. The Express Bus was an option but it will take approx. two hours to reach there and return back at 5 pm. So we decided to find easier and faster one. We took the train from Munich at arround 9 am to Ingolstadt Nord and arrive after approx. 1:15 hrs and from there we tried to reach the bus 25 but a nice lady working there in the satation told us that the bus is coming every hour. We took a taxi for 10 mins only and return back also by taxi which can easily get one from the Village's Information office.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
189 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Some good buys, mostly odd sizes and normal prices”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We headed to the village mainly because of the Lindt-outlet and then checked the whole thing. The target shop was a real disappointment: small and mostly on normal price, only a few items had around 25% discount. The other shops tended to follow this pattern: (near)normal price or strange sizes for the discounted items. Admittedly, we managed to find a couple of good buys, but the overall feeling was a let-down.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Window Shopping at its best”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived in Igolstadt at around 7pm so the shops were closed (many close at around 6 or 6:30) but it did not matter to us. We were waking around in circles for ages really enjoying ourselves. It was a little bit chilly so we did not have any of that wonderful Icecream from that parlor we passed a few times. It might be easy to loose directions :-)
On sundays all shops (except shops at gas stations which sell almost anything but in limited variation and with a higher price of course) in Germany (at least Bavaria) and Austria are closed. This is not annoying.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolla_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingolstadt Village also viewed

Ingolstadt, Upper Bavaria
Ingolstadt, Upper Bavaria
 
Ingolstadt, Upper Bavaria
Ingolstadt, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ingolstadt Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing