We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a bar attached.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Detmold
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a bar attached.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A lovely hotel with a gem of a bar attached that does fantastic cocktails and some live entertainment. Don't forget to ask for a non smoking bedroom though as I forgot that Germany still allows indoor smoking and as a non smoker it was a downside to our stay but that was my error and not the fault of the hotel. Detmold is fantastic and a trip is thoroughly recommended especially in the Summer.

Room Tip: Remember smoking or non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
35
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

In the States, Best Westerns are not my hotel chain of choice so I was a bit leery of this hotel for that reason. But it was a perfectly pleasant hotel -- sort of on the order of the new Hyatt Places or Hilton Garden Inns - that level of comfort and accomodation. Very nice beds and baths and a great bar. Hotel staff speaks perfect English and are quite helpful. The location of this hotel is ideal within walking distance of the lovely Detmold town square with its abundance of shops, boutiques, markets, and bakeries. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very pleasant hotel, nice location next to the central shopping area of Detmold. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. Staff was very helpful and friendly during the email reservation process and upon our arrival.

Comfortable beds, even for three people in a room designed for three adults. Seating and storage area was designed more for two people than for three, but it worked okay. Nice bathrooms with a bathtub and shower head. There is A/C if you need it.

The breakfast buffet was very good, though it's not cheap. Gluten-free rolls are available upon request. There are other restaurants in the pedestrian area with a nice breakfast for a lot less money if you can do without a buffet.

The underground parkade is conveniently connected by elevator and stairs and reasonably priced. They give you a card to get in and out as you please. Wireless internet is free and the connection was good in our room.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open, ask for a room facing the back of the hotel because the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been frequenting this hotel for almost an eternity (20 years!) and countless nights - followed by the certainly best breakfast in town by far! I watched it all, from Then until Today; the bar has been finally refurbished into a very inviting “state-of-an-art” cocktail lounge and the reception comes over more than just welcoming! The staff is most friendly and is taking any special request most seriously. The room prices fluctuate anything between 79€ (single) and 139€ depending on the day of the week and/or quality of room. The rooms are very specious (some with large balcony) and very clean and tidy but will need refurbishing in the years to come though! The hotel has also a large indoor swimming pool with Sauna facilitiy. Parking is available at extra costs within the hotel premisis. In any case, you could not be staying more convenient than this; right in the very heart of City Centre, where all the attractions and activities are just a short walks away. I’ll be back!

Room Tip: Try to book a room towards the inside of the building as this is away from the main street (more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutzewutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Spent four nights at this Best Western hotel in May and found it to be clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff were polite and helpful, and all spoke very good English. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of options available. The pool and sauna were fine, as were the other public areas. The location is good, being just a stroll away from the town centre, however, I would recommend a quieter rear facing room.
The only criticism is that there is no in room safe, so I used the safe at reception.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I would describe this hotel as functional. the romms are ok and the public areas are the same. It is by no means luxurious but is comfortable. Quite expensive for what you get.
I would say it is ok for buisness use but not somewhere I would want to be on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauzee092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Modern hotel, spacious and impeccable rooms, very clean. Good value for money, helpfull staff. The rooms on the backyard are very quiet and a Luxury room upgrade (+1 0 Euro) gets you a large balcony with chairs. Nice in summer for being outside but poor views. Direct elevator access to your room from the public parking garage below the hotel. A few minutes walking distance from downtown restaurants and shops. Small town, not much going on in the evening.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank guzbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detmold
0.2 mi away
Detmolder Hof
Detmolder Hof
#1 of 8 in Detmold
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lippischer Hof
Hotel Lippischer Hof
#2 of 8 in Detmold
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel
Elisabeth Hotel
#3 of 8 in Detmold
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stadthotel Detmold
Stadthotel Detmold
#8 of 8 in Detmold
7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ringhotel Waldhotel Baerenstein
Ringhotel Waldhotel Baerenstein
#1 of 10 in Horn-Bad Meinberg
48 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Vital zum Stern
Quality Hotel Vital zum Stern
#3 of 10 in Horn-Bad Meinberg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel
Address: Paulinenstr. 19, 32756 Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Detmold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Detmold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Residenz Hotel Detmold is located in the middle of the historic Old Town, with its traditional half-timbered houses and the royal palace. Sights to see in the area include the Externsteine, strange sandstone formations whose past is wreathed in myths, at the heart of the Lippe region. The Hermann Monument high on the Grotenbrug in Hiddessen, the Westphalian Open-Air Museum and the Teutoburg Forest are all quite near. After a busy day, relax in the spacious pool and set the mood for the evening with an excellent cocktail from the hotel’s Hero’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Residenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Detmold
Detmold Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing