We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“and then there was a cat”
Review of Hermannsdenkmal

Hermannsdenkmal
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Detmold
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“and then there was a cat”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

hard to describe , i kept seeing Hermanns sword poking out from the forest top across from where i was staying ,even this didn't prepare me for the absolute size and wonder of this monument ,after a short walk from the car park (i believe two euros for parking) you walk into a wonderful peaceful atmosphere with different sights to see as you take your time to walk round and plaques to explain to you interesting objects then you suddenly have Hermann in view and it is huge . was quite a misty day when we went but this didn't spoil it at all.although not a clear view of him the sheer size was overwhelming and then a cat came out of the forest and sat beside me.loved it .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ema529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    97
    37
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen, België
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Amazing statue with nice view on top”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are in the region of Bielefeld or at Detmold,
Do not miss out the Hermannsdenkmal
Once you arrive there before arriving to the denkmal there are many little signs explaining the history behind the statue
Once at the statue you can climb some stairs to go to the top and you'll have a magnificent vie wof the region

You can also make a nice walk around the statue as there are some trails you can follow
there is also a nice tree parcours for kids to do.

I also heared fromlocals that they orginize parties sometimes around the statue looks great to have a party there if possible

Anyway don'tmiss it if u are in the region

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DjangoDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Herrmann...You Couldn't Anyway If You Tried!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love visiting Germany for both work and pleasure. While hearing several times about Herrmanns Denkmal in Detmold I had never seen it until May 4, 2013. This is another one of those huge examples of marvelous German engineering, especially when you recall that this was constructed between 1838 and 1875. Herrmann is truly amazing in stature, and don't miss going into the small wooden hut where the sculptor lived during the construction period. Even if you don't like to Denkmal you will love the scenery surrounding the site. It is a bit of a drive from the city of Detmold, but the drive itself is worthy of the trip. While you're at it, there is a majestic castle in Detmold which was the seat of power for the State of Lippe, an independent German State until 1945. Of course there are the usual number of cheesy souvenir shops and over priced food vendors at the foot of monument. I give it four thumbs up overall! There is a 2 Euro fee for parking a car.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I both came here as children on many school trips. After leaving Germany we decided to return with our family to show them where we grew upmyself in Sennelager, hubby in Detmold) Herman did not dissapoint them.

This is a historic monument so not terribly good for disabled BUT it is clear that every effort has been made to ensure it is as accessible as possible!

You can spend all day here, take a picnic walk through the woods and enjoy the stunning westfalian scenery; which is free, but if you want to climb inside the monument, there is a fee but that is small and the money is put straight back into Herman.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Historical Figure Rising out of Mythology!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hermann - or more correctly 'Arminius' (Latin for 'Armin')- rises above the tree-line,of the rolling Teutoburg forrest, with his sword thrust upwards like Excaliber of the Arthurian myths. And this analogy is a good one as he represents both the historical Roman rebel, Arminius, who galvinized the Germanic tribes of 9AD to rebel against the Empire that was seeking to expand into its territory. Using the very tactics taught him by his Roman mentors, Arminius inflicted the single heaviest defeat upon the forces of Rome, under their general Varus and cost the empire three legions: the fabled 'Lost Legions.' This single defeat and a series of minor ones under 'Hermann's' direction halted Rome's advance into the Germanic lands and thus Arminius has become an almost mythical figure within German history, symbolic of both Germanic unity and nationhood. This is why this monument was begun during the fledgling years of Germanic unity (1841) and was unveiled in 1875, by Kaiser Wilheim 1, in the early years of the 2 Reich, following the defeat of the French in 1871.

A grand monument, on a splendid plinth, well worth a visit and an excellent place for a picnic on a summers day. The monument is a gentle walk from the large car park (2 euros) and has plenty of toilets and a nice Bristo with a sun-terrace for refreshments.

Top Tip: Don't use the sat-nav address on some of the German web-sights as they take you unhelpfully into the middle of Detmold. Use the address of the Bistro at its foot: Am Hermannsdenkmal, Grotenburg 50, 32760, Detmold.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank revcole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermannsdenkmal also viewed

Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia
Horn-Bad Meinberg, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Hermannsdenkmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing