We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but no problems”
Review of NH Bingen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Bingen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bingen am Rhein
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The NH Bingen is a perfectly adequate business-style hotel. Located on the banks of the Rhine, it's well-located if you're in town for a river trip the ferries all depart some 200m away.

The font desk staff were friendly and gregarious, most helpful with tourism tips for the local area.

The rooms were just okay. Small bedroom and ensuite bathroom, furniture awkwardly arranged because of the tight space, and starting to look a bit dated - the bedhead was a strange late 80s design that's well past its used-by date and the colour scheme a bit oppressive. However everything was tidy and clean.

The hotel is a short walk to the township, and the rail line - which seems to have bothered other reviewers, but we were given a room facing the river and it didn't bother us.

We ended up eating in the hotel restaurant, and while it was a bit cold for comfort (it was late autumn), the service was warm and friendly. In sumer the view onto the Rhine would be beautiful. The food was better-than-average Rheinland cuisine - plain and honest, but not stodgy. While we were waiting for our meals, the waitress gave us a complimentary 'treat' - some local bread and a jar of savoury spread. Her otherwise excellent English didn't extend to this delicacy, so we just tried it... and it was a jar of lard! We giggled to ourselves as we feasted on bread and dripping (which was unexpectedly nice). Breakfast, also in the restaurant, was similarly plain and honest German-style and provided in viking-like quantities.

The hotel seems to be a favourite of bus tour groups, so expect to compete with them in the restaurant in particular.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river.
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for NH Bingen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed one night in Bingen as part of a 2 week bus trip in late September, 2010. The location of this hotel is wonderful, right on the river with great views of the vineyards in the hills across the river. There is a walkway along the river right in front of the hotel, accessible from the bar area. We sat outside on the terrace for a while before dinner wathcing the river traffic. very nice.
Service at dinner was fine and rooms were clean and more than adequate for our needs. As noted several times, the noise from the trains can be annoying thru the night. Our room faced the river, but we could still hear the trains, although to be fair, we left our window open for the fresh air.
Our tour included a river boat cruise the next morning, easily accesible from the hotel. Our tour was about 90 minutes and very enjoyable, watching the towns go by as well as the old castles in the hills.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DogDaze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had a standard room looking back into town, close to the rail lines. The hotel was corporate chain, and was clean, with a flat screen TV, slightly dated decor, and bathroom ensuite. Not much to add to the other reviews, as they seemed to cover most of the situations. The trains affected sleep somewhat, and it seems as if a river view is key. This hotel is close to lots of things and reasonably priced. Parking is free outside, and the staff spoke good English, while being considerate and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotdave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The NH is right on the rhine, Pay a little more and get a river front view, as you won't like the incredible number of trains that fly by the other side. The hotel is modern, dated decor, one of the best breakfasts we had in europe. The only problem I saw, other than the bar being closed, is the frequent (estimated over 40 )trains that shoot by daily. Free internet if you have your own computer, but pay as you go if you need to use theirs. I would stay there again. Conveinent beer garden next door, was a blast during world cup play offs. Don't miss the Rhine river cruise, one of the best values in europe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERRN95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the NH Bingen as one of a couple of locations from which to explore Rhineland. The location did not disappoint. The hotel is located on the riverwalk in Bingen, right on the Rhine. Our room had a beautiful view of the Rudesheim mountain across from the Rhine, which is covered in vineyards, and an old castle on the Rhine. The hotel is located right next to a beer garden, that had great beer, wine and food. We ate there several times and highly recommend it. Being on the riverwalk, the hotel is a quick 3 minute walk to the docks where you take the Rhine cruises as well as the ferry that takes you over the Rhine to Rudesheim.

However, the decoration of the hotel is a throwback to the 80s (think bright green headboard and gold lamps everywhere). We were not in the room that much, and the room was clean, so we didn't care. If you are looking for a hotel with stylish rooms, this is not it.

The hotel has free parking and they let us keep our car there after we checked out, while we were exploring the town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank era2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We booked the NH Bingen via the internet as had been our practice whilst on a 6 week tour of Europe. We hadn't picked a bad hotel all trip, however after booking this hotel we read the recent guest reviews and had immediate concerns. So much so that we looked to book different accomodation. However, in the end we retained our booking with NH Bingen and headed there with some trepidation. Unfounded as it turns out!! Some people must be hard to please. As with all things in life, you get what you pay for. This hotel is clean and very conveniently located. You couldn't ask for a better location on the Rhine. Room 408 had plenty of room for us and all our gear. We had a view over the river across to the far side of the Rhine (the castles, monuments and winery). It was hot whilst we were in Bingen and this hotel like all others becomes less comfortable after several days of heat, but hey, Europe is mostly cold isn't it ! An open window and a fresh breeze kept the room cool enough, although at night we did push it too, as the constant activity on the river and on the two main rail lines can cause you to have a less than perfect nights sleep, if you are more acustomed to 'dead quiet' at night. But hey, we enjoyed seeing all the activity.....thats what holidays are for. Breakfast was good,,,,in the traditional German way......lots of breads and meats.......if you left hungry it was because you hadn't adopted the German ways of breakfast. The room was clean and odour free (a non smoking room requested and provided). The staff were Germanically helpful, but we didnt really have much need to bother them whilst we were here, so cant comment further. Everything is within close walking distance...shops, old city, rail stations, ferry and other likley attractions or needs. All in all, I'd happily reccomend this hotel and suggest you ignore the earlier negaitive guest reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We booked this hotel for the modern facilities. that was a huge mistake. the decore is horrible. the internet overpriced, no aircondition- to top it all the stuff is down right rude. we booked 1 double and one single room. the single was used and not cleaned before we recieved it. yacks...
i defenetely do not recommend it and would not use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank einavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingen am Rhein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#1 of 5 in Bingen am Rhein
73 reviews
18.6 mi away
NH Wiesbaden
NH Wiesbaden
#36 of 45 in Wiesbaden
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bingen

Address: Am Rhein Nahe Eck, 55411 Bingen am Rhein, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bingen am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bingen am Rhein
Price Range: $75 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Bingen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Bingen is ideally located at the junction of the rivers Rhine and Nahe in the heart of Bingen am Rhein, a charming city in the romantic Rhine Valley. Offering the ideal starting point for excursions, Bingen is set in the rich and diverse landscape of Rhenish Hesse, known for its castles and cultural sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Bingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Bingen Hotel Bingen Am Rhein
Nh Bingen Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing