We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & thoughtful”

Landhotel Michaelishof
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landhotel Michaelishof
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Five stars for the plentiful, delicious food and the warmth of the ever friendly and accommodating staff. Five stars too for cleanliness too. The rooms are far from plush, but they are comfortable. If it wasn't for the lovely people who work in the hotel I might be tempted to knock stars off for the size of my bathroom (the toilet was cramped into a corner making access something of a knack) and for the wifi which was initially excellent, but then access to any website providing streaming was arbitrarily barred. It's not an international hotel so there are only 2 English speaking channels on the TV, but we were working so hard that wasn't an issue. It's true, looking at other reviews, that there was the odd smell from the drains. It's also a shame that the restaurant is closed on Sunday, especially when everywhere else is. But weighed against warmth, kindness and helpfulness these are details. I hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 is small, room 2 is a reasonable size but the bathroom is cramped as is room 3. The road can...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Landhotel Michaelishof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently stayed here for the week with work arriving late on a Sunday evening. Having dragged all my luggage up the stairs there was quite an unpleasant smell of rotten eggs along the top corridor which remained throughout the week and must have been linked to the drains. This didn't improve much on entering my room as it stank of stale cigarette smoke. The decor was very old and tired. Nor did I have any curtains, just a double layer of crochet nets. There was also no wardrobe in which to hang my clothes, which was really annoying as I had some suits and a full length evening dress to hang up.

That said, the room and bathroom were very clean and were serviced every day. The staff were really really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, including a very quick laundry service ans loan of umbrella. Breakfast every morning was fantastic with a great selection of warm pastries, bread, cereals, cheeses and meats. The coffee is delicious too. My colleagues and I ate here for most of the week in the evenings as the menu was better than most of the local restaurants. Typically German in choice and very tasty, reasonably priced and plentiful. It was also a really good sign that the restaurant was nearly always full of locals eating here.

Room Tip: Ask ahead to ensure you aren't given a smoking room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabananafanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Since my previous review I have stayed here again whilst the kitchen was open. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Apart from the previously mentioned Wifi problems I would highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here again. Particularly for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a number of people and was looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately when I arrived I discovered that the restaurant was closed for the week due to the chef being on holiday. As there is not one other eating establishment within walking distance of the hotel it meant driving and finding somewhere else (such a shame as I am told that the restaurant is excellent). The young man that was running the hotel was very apologetic, breakfast was fine and the room itself was warm and comfortable with a good shower and bathroom.

The wifi however was terrible.

I would stay here again provided the restaurant was open.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently and thought it was good value for money. The bedrooms are a bit on the dark side and the decor a bit unusual but everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, nothing fancy, but good food nonetheless. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be staying at it again if we're back in the area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Fiona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed in this hotel when i first arrived in Bergen, Germany in Nov 07 for two nights.

At first glance the hotel is situated in a very nice area outside of Bergen in a little village called Offen. It has a large area of land and several bedrooms.

When you first walk in there is like most places a reception. But im not sure anyone knows that this reception is there as nobody is is ever there. There is a bell but when you ring it nobody apears, maybe this was just a one off from when we arrived but the place was desserted. It was a ghost town. We had to walk around the hotel to find someone to book us in. The front room is just like the bedrooms very dark and gloomy.

The rooms that we stayed in were very old, dull, dark and gloomy. It looked as though the rooms hadn't been upgraded since the place was built. None the less the rooms were very clean and nicely layed out. there was enough space to store all you clothes and the bathroom on suite was very nice too.

Breakfast was included in the price which was very welcoming. but i have to say the food wasn't fantastic. Every thing was cooked far too long and became very dry. You did however have a large selection to choose from.

I know people who say there food is fantastic it's out of this world but i have never been there when it has tasted so good. so i cannot comment on these statements.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay away from the town and are willing to eat elsewhere. If you need a place to rest your head and didnt want to spend alot of money then this is it. But in Bergen itself there a far better places to go which are more welcoming, more modern and the food is substantialy better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are to the back of the hotel which is away from the road so you don't hear much no...
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

II stayed here for two nights Aug 11 and was quite surprised by the value for money (€44 for a double room with breakfast).

Very warm welcome at reception on arrival.

Incredible restaurant, fabulous menu, really exceptional food, good wine list and great beer.

I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
2.9 mi away
Seminarhotel Schulz
Seminarhotel Schulz
#7 of 14 in Bergen
10 reviews
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Jann Hinsch Hof
#1 of 3 in Winsen
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Dralle Bade
Hotel Dralle Bade
#10 of 14 in Bergen
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Baerenhaus
Hotel Baerenhaus
#5 of 14 in Bergen
16 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Amselhof
Hotel Amselhof
#5 of 9 in Bispingen
12 reviews
2.6 mi away
Desperados Hotel
Desperados Hotel
#12 of 14 in Bergen
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Michaelishof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Michaelishof

Address: Hauptstr. 5, 29303 Bergen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Bergen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Michaelishof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Landhotel Michaelishof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing