We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni St. Georg
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel by our hosts in Celle and we could not have been happier. It is a pristine, modern hotel within a beautifully preserved historic building. Nestled in a picturesque tree-lined avenue and a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants along the medieval streets of old Celle, this is a perfect place to relax and enjoy without need for a car or public transport. Breakfast was superb, staff are friendly and we have it earmarked for future holiday visits!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a single night on our way to southern Germany. Due to trafficjam we arrived 3 hours later than planned. As the other reviews already mentioned. Its a bit hard for the GPS to find. But the "how to find us" that the hotel mailed us was very helpfull. We parked at "am alte Apothek" there was plenty of parkingspace and it was 1 min walk to the hotel. We brought our small dog with us. Though they do accept dogs they werent exactly dog friendly and we were charged 5 euro for her. Which was okay as we were told about the extra fee forehand. Its not allowed to leave the dog in the room so we had to eat takeaway or bring her with us but since we arrived late we didn't have time to go around the city and looking for a dogfriendly restaurant.

The room was very clean but quite small. Which was okay since we only booked one night but for several night the room was too cramped. The bed was very hard. We had a terracedoor leading out directly to their garden which was very nice.

Breakfast was fine nothing special but it had the usual cold cuts, bread, juice and coffee. We also got a softboiled egg.

The location is great. 2 min walk down to the mainstreet. Celle is such a nice little town and we went for a walk in the morning and saw the city and the castle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Hamburg, as we wanted to spend time in a quieter town and also to visit Bergen Belsen. Would happily have stayed for longer. Both Celle itself and Hotel Garni St Georg are very pretty, relaxed, and peaceful. The hotel is in a quiet residential street, just a short walk into the town, full of half timbered houses with old signs, pavement bars, cafes, and a good selection of restaurants. It also has a schloss and park . St Georg is a small-ish family run hotel, with very comfortable and cosy en suite rooms, TV and Wi-Fi , and a good hearty breakfast. Very clean and efficient, with courteous service. We also got a great rate for our room, and would certainly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.
After breakfast and check out, we did visit the site of the Bergen Belsen concentration camp, only about 15 minutes drive north. A superb museum has been developed, or documentation centre, with video footage and audio accounts by survivors of the atrocities.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows if travelling by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is well situated at a quite street only 5 min. walk from "the old town" .
The hotel is small and cosy with very good service.
The breakfast is excellent with a wide variation of bread, cheese etc.
The rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvendborgDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Following an unfortunate accident en route to Celle, I could not have been staying anywhere better and upon arrival I was made to feel most welcome.Despite being very busy with the hotel Englebert & Renata were most kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble when I needed assistance or information. In fact all of the staff at Hotel St Georg are warm and friendly.
The hotel is a lovely and quaint building on a charming, leafy residential street just a 5 minute walk from Celle Altstadt. The rooms are nice and very clean with comfortable beds, some overlooking the delightful rear patio and outdoor seating area. There is convenient parking. A scrumptious breakfast offers lots of choice and Renatas homemade jams are wonderful!
I cannot fault this lovely hotel and the outstanding service it provides. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel St.Georg is a beautiful, well-run, modern hotel in an old, restored building on a leafy side street close to the half-timbered houses of Celle's Altstadt. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are many close by. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the windows look out into the old trees that grow both in front and behind the hotel, bathrooms are beautifully appointed and well-constructed. Breakfast is included and lavish: it provides a very broad range of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, fresh fruit, vegetables, juices and anything that anyone could ever think of to put on their cereal or yoghurt. Eggs are prepared according to the guest's preference. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and speaks English. Internet access is available and free (neither can be taken for granted in Germany). The hotel seems to be the preferred choice of business travelers. This is a real gem, at moderate prices.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location surrounded by old trees. Any room will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This family-operated hotel is located on a side-street close to the Celle Altstadt. Finding the hotel can be a little tricky, but they will alert you in advance about the way. The hotel has a car-port for a small charge, where your vehicle is safe behind a closed gate. Book this service early, as only four spaces are available.
The building is very old but nicely renovated, rooms are large and well equipped, good beds. The service was very friendly, the breakfast lavish and in addition, morning eggs were prepared according to our wishes.
This hotel can be recommended for a short or long stay, it is central enough but quiet for a good sleep. No restaurant, of course, but any number a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.7 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
0.5 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantik
Hotel Atlantik
#3 of 26 in Celle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#6 of 26 in Celle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Borchers
Hotel Borchers
#10 of 26 in Celle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#9 of 26 in Celle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni St. Georg

Property: Hotel Garni St. Georg
Address: Sankt-Georg-Str. 25-27, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing