We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location, good service”
Review of Hotel Am Hehlentor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Am Hehlentor
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Reykjavik
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine location, good service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tis nice little hotel has a prime location at the Nordwall. Our room was spacious and had a peaceful view over a courtyard. The breakfast was unusually varied and abundant. We were given a large waterbed which might have pleased others better thab us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thordur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

On our way to Berlin we stayed here for one night. Had a spaceous room on the court yard. So very quiet. Opposite the hotel the have free parking space in an other courtyard. The room was great: clean, with a very comfortable water bed (it had even a massage device in it) and spaceous bathroom with shower. Breakfast was excellent in a cosy dining room. One may sit and have a drink in the courtyard. All sights in the beautifull town are within wakling distance.
Moderate pricing for such a good place too.

Room Tip: The court yard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in room 15 in early July 2013.

We paid over 130€ per night including breakfast - which we felt was a little over priced for the location/facilities/etc...

Free parking was a nice advantage, and the staff were lovely.

Due to our room overlooking the central courtyard, we were able to hear all guests coming back to their rooms late at night. I guess this was only a problem due to a few noisy/drunk young guests.

Breakfast was ok, and we all found something to eat.

Room 15 has a bath with a handheld shower, but due to the sloping ceiling, you couldn't even stand in the bath.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel73Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel am Hehlentor is a lovely hotel in one of the prettiest towns I've ever been to. We chose not to have breakfast there because we have family in the area but we got a warm, friendly welcome when we arrived.

The room was clean and everything was fine, with plenty of space. It was very refreshing to have a hotel room that wasn't part of a big building. There's a small yard area around the back and the rooms are all located around it. I really can't fault the hotel at all and we would happily stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my recent stay here. The owner was lovely and the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. I stayed in December when there was snow on the ground and the room was lovely and room. The breakfast was a superb buffet of cereals, yoghourts, fresh fruit, juices, breads, large cheese, ham and various salad selection, freshly cooked eggs, tea and coffee and also some warm sausages, meatballs and pancakes; in short, a large continental breakfast. The staff were charming and helpful and there was mulled wine (glühwein) and biscuits to be enjoyed in the courtyard around the Christmas Tree. If I had to criticise one thing it would be that the bathroom only had a bath with a hand held shower and it was difficult to stand in this due to the roof shape. That is only a minor point however and the stay overall was very good. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We often stop for a night in Celle when driving north towards Stockholm. A few miles from the autobahn, it is a small and well-kept medieval town with a lot of charm, good hotels and cosy restaurants. The Am Hehlentor is well suited for our stopovers, conveniently located at the edge of the old town, easily accessible by car. Rooms are large and clean, and the ever-smiling owner does anything possible to keep her guests in a good mood.

  • Liked — Location, rooms and the friendly reception
  • Disliked — Lack of lobby spaces and hotel bar (on the other hand the whole old town is around the corner)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sillstryparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#7 of 26 in Celle
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Celle
IntercityHotel Celle
#13 of 26 in Celle
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#6 of 26 in Celle
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caroline Mathilde
Hotel Caroline Mathilde
#10 of 26 in Celle
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hehlentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hehlentor

Property: Hotel Am Hehlentor
Address: Nordwall 62-63, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Hehlentor 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Hehlentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing