We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the 1980's decor”
Review of Hotel Borchers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Borchers
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the 1980's decor”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose this hotel as a way of ensuring that we were relatively near to Hannover airport for our return flight home and knew very little about the area.

The town of Celle is delightful and full of German half timbered houses with a buzzing town centre. The area caters for tourists and houses a former royal palace (worth a visit, French gardens (very pleasant to walk in) and numerous coffee houses and eating places. At 9.30 and 5.30 every day a trumpeter plays a tune from the church tower (a surprising tradition the first time you become aware of it at which the locals do not bat an eyelid)!!

The hotel itself is slightly stuck in a time warp and could do with updating with regards to its general furnishings and décor. However, when you get beyond the superficial, the rooms are extremely clean and tidy with ample space and the bathrooms are spotless. This is one of the best showers I had whilst I was in Germany and the beds were extremely comfortable and the cushions (for once) were English housewife style rather than the large square pillows that the Germans appear to be fond of but which are extremely difficult to sleep with. I had a good night's sleep!

As part of our package we arranged to visit a local establishment for an evening meal (this was about a 10 minute walk away) and the meal was extremely tasty. However, the town is well catered for with cafes and restaurants (next to the hotel was a pizzeria offering pizzas from 5 euros).

We also arranged to park our car at the hotel - the car park is underground which is accessed by a lift at the rear of the hotel (quite a surreal experience) and if you are not a confident driver and have a large car, this may prove to be quite difficult for some individuals.

Breakfast is a simple continental affair with the usual offerings of fresh bread, butter, cheeses and meats. Boiled eggs are also available.

Our room was at the front of the hotel, but as the roads are one way and the town is not noisy, this was not a problem.

The hotel is about a 35 minute drive from Hamburg airport.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very cosy small hotel in the old part of Celle.
Nice clean large rooms. Very nice employees!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OptiCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night while we traveled across Germany by train. We took a taxi from the train station to get to this hotel, but the cost was less than10 euros. The hotel is slightly hidden under an archway, so if you are traveling on your own keep your address handy.

We were greeted pleasantly; the room was typical hotel style without much character, but well-tended, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast provided the standard German fare, and was nicely presented and filling. Staff was friendly when we arrived, in helping us with directions to our destinations, and with arranging our taxi back to the train station the next day.

The real advantage is the location. It is right in the main town square of Celle, within easy walking distance to local attractions and the shopping area (as best we could tell, since we don't do much shopping). We were able to catch the bus to our main destination (the Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp) from the main bus area near the hotel (although the process of getting to the camp by bus is a bit tricky). We visited during December and the Christmas market was in full swing, which was quite lovely. We saw many Christmas markets during our visit, and this was a nice small town version. The snow fell the day we arrived, so the scene was very picturesque.

Overall, a pleasant hotel in a good location. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lit_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

the borchers in celle germany is a real lovely hotel to stay in,the rooms were very clean the staff were very helpfull and the price was great .i cannot fault this hotel in anyway, also location is very important what was excellent, we went to the wine festival what was round the corner from the hotel well pleased would stay again!!!!. jan kolodziejczyk england.

  • Disliked — no air con but did not matter!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeenrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Celle
IntercityHotel Celle
#15 of 26 in Celle
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Hehlentor
Hotel Am Hehlentor
#8 of 26 in Celle
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#7 of 26 in Celle
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#6 of 26 in Celle
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borchers

Property: Hotel Borchers
Address: Schuhstr. 52, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borchers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Borchers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing