We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
TRYP Celle(Celle)
$171
$146
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni St. Georg(Celle)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
128
114
48
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
114
48
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantbit wornpalio restaurantvery nice hotelmy favoritedelicious breakfastmain restaurantold townone starprice levelmichelin star restaurantservice minded staffits charmclassic architecturerooms are greatonly criticismnice and friendly staff
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 316 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Hotel Fuerstenhof we were treated like royalty. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and the personal accoutrements were topnotch. The breakfast buffet was the best we have ever had anywhere!! We had the duck special for two persons in the Endtenfang and absolutely loved every bite! There simply are not enough superlatives to describe this hotel. We went to Celle to experience the Christmas Market and loved it and the Hotel Fuerstenhof was the perfect place to call home during our time in the lovely city of Celle.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here four times om our way through Germany. The last two times we planned so we would pass Celle and could stay at this hotel.
The service is excellent and the food is to die for!!
Very spacious rooms and nicely decorated. The cleaning service was tip-top.
The location of the hotel is very good, it only took us 5 minutes to wal in to the centre. It has a very nica front garden were we had our dinners.
Good parking facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Furstenhof for five nights in August. It was a short notice, get away from it all break. The hotel is really nice, very convenient for the main train station in Celle. I asked for adjoining rooms and we stayed on the top floor of the original building. Lovely big rooms and shower rooms. The housekeeping staff made sure they were immaculate every day and folded down the bed in the evening. The hotel pool was very clean and quiet. The breakfast has to be one of the best, if not the best, we have had anywhere. Only slight downside is that the bar prices are quiet steep compared to the nearby pubs but the bar area is very nice and only one of the three restaurants was open, the Italian. However the food was excellent and quite reasonable. The local town swimming baths are brilliant with 3 pools, two indoor and one 50metre outside with great slides. The town of Celle is very picturesque, it wasn’t extensively damaged in the war and retains most of its medieval timber framed buildings. We ate out and the restaurants were reasonably priced and there is plenty of choice. On the last night we went to the Ratskeller and had amazing local food, duck, pork etc in a very traditional German restaurant. We had a day out in Berlin travelling by train from Celle, if we go again I think we’ll take two days as there is so much to see.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if a family or if not specify that you would like to stay in the original part of the hotel, bigger rooms and more character and more convenient for the bar and restaurants
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ned878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel twice. First time over the weekend in the wedding suite for our wedding. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city in walking distance to the sites and sounds of this wonderful little town.
We were treating very nicely. The staff is very friendly and courteously. Therefore we had a very nice and relaxing time during those exciting days.
The hotel has a very nice wellness area and a lovely pool. The breakfast is first class.
I especially like the very tasteful interior referring to hunting and horses. The overall style is neo-classical.
The second time was not so nice as I picked a single room which was a mistake as it was located right at the main floor and therefore quite loud.
But overall this is a very nice hotel which we really recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozlover1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Since we spend 3-4 nights per year in this hotel I´d thought a second review makes sense. We normally stay on special occasions such as the wine dinners or take advantage of the arrangements and treat ourselves regularly to the Junior suites. Those I can highly recommend, large, spacious with a small balcony and all needed amenities including bathrobes and slippers. Plus you get a nice big bath with all amenties in.

The decor is plush so if you are in for modern and "cool" styling it might not be the place for you. The staff is more than friendly and always willing to help out when needed.
One of the advantages of the hotel is the proximity to the center of Celle which is a very nice mediavel town with good shopping opportunities. Parking space is available at the hotel, some in the garage for a fee. For bad weather the Sauna and the swimmimg pool con be recommended.
The other is the food. All the restaurants serve (each in their own style) very well prepared food, not fancy three star kitchen but very tasty down to earth high value kitchen. The whole mood is pretty relaxed, a suit might be adequate for their one star restaurant but not really needed.

If you do not find a room in Hannover due to fairs and the like, this hotel might be a good choice for you or as a night or two in between Berlin and the western/northern part of Germany.

I freely admit being unneutral in this review due to the fact that being a regular makes also for nice moments but for me it is always a worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: Take a suite or a junior suite
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews