We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, Quiet Villa - Perfect for day-tripping...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Olivo

Casa Cipressi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Cipressi
Bedroom 1_Villa Olivo Bedroom 2_Villa Olivo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Casa Cipressi
Bedroom 1_Villa Olivo
Bedroom 2_Villa Olivo
Bedroom 2_Villa Olivo_twin bedded
Kitchen/Dining Room_Villa Olivo
Villa Olivo_French Windows
Downstairs living room/bedroom 4_Villa Olivo
Olive Grove
View of the house from above
View from the approach road
Stream running through the land
Olive grove in the Spring_house in the distance
The terrace
View through an olive tree
Casa Cipressi
View of Montecatini Alto from the house
Looking up the approach road
Villa Olivo_upstairs bathroom
Villa Olivo_downstairs shower and toilet
Villa Olivo_downstairs living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nievole, Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark N
Felton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Peaceful, Quiet Villa - Perfect for day-tripping Tuscany.”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Villa Olivo was perfect for our needs. It was quiet, yet close to the Autostrada, enabling us to visit the surrounding areas very easily. It was roomy & clean. Having our morning coffee on the patio area was truly delightful. We recommend it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thank you, Mark. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We chose the House because of its location and easy access to the major attractions in Tuscany.
Best wishes, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur-ro...
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good house - wonderful location”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Villa Olivo is a nice old house, well restored, with good big bedrooms and a very comfortable sitting room. But it's on its location that the Villa really scores: deep in the Tuscan countryside, every bedroom has a view over the archetypal landscape of olive groves and cypress trees. The dawn chorus of birds was amazing, and we had fireflies all round the house after sunset.

And yet it's only 15 minutes or so drive down to Montecatini, where there's plenty of shopping, and you can pick up the train to Pistoia, Florence, Lucca or Pisa. With a car, you can also explore the numerous local hill-top towns such as Montecatini Alto, Serrevalle, and Montecarlo, which are within easy reach.

Then there's the Villa Medicea near Prato - a comparatively little-known site, with the most spectacular frescoes in the main reception rooms, and an 18-room gallery of the Medici family's collection of still-life paintings by mostly Italian artists of the 15th - 18th century. There is no charge for access, though you do need to book a place as visitors are only taken in groups.

And when art and culture palls, you can just walk from the Villa into the hills around; or drive a few miles south of Montecatini for a wander around the huge (1800 hectare) wetland nature reserve of the Fucecchio Marshes.

Brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Many thanks for your positive comments, Arthur. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We bought the House because of its location and accessibility to the major sights of Tuscany. We didn't know about the Villa Medicea in Prato which we intend to visit. We'll also put details in our Guests' Folder.
Best wishes, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The location of the Villa was perfect in that we were close enough to amenities yet further away enough to have a view and feel like you were in the hills. The Villa was clean and everything was in working order. The time of year we went it was very hot so the upstairs bedrooms needed the fans which were provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience, comfortable
Liked least: no washing machine, plenty mosquito's late afternoon but this could be typical for time of year and not necessarily the Villa.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Many thanks for your very positive feedback, Heather. Hope to see you again sometime. We offer a 15% discount to returning guests.
Best wishes, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff H
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent Easter here, great for a short break but really we needed longer. We took a flight from Heathrow to Pisa a nice short flight. Had a quick look around PISA , not sure we needed more time there, then went onto Villa Olivo. Walked around the house to an amazing view. You look across the rolling hills and onto Montecatini Alto. I was happy to stay the whole w/e on the patio just relaxing...but we didn't. First we went to the local supermarket for food & wine; What a choice, so much fresh local food WOW!. Later that evening to a local restaurant for Pizza always a good choice in Italy.
Next day we explored Lucca; a must do. Great walled city. Loads of café & restaurants and a wide range of posh & local shops. It was a bit wet( rain rain) for us so we continued the day with a drive around, so much to explore.
Next day was a day in Florence ( Easter Sunday) . Obviously a fantastic place to explore and special Easter events & fireworks. Try and park up the hill in the free car park and walk down. Views and photos from here are fantastic.

We didn't fit in a trip to Montecatni Terme, although we drive through here. Looks like a small town with lots to offer ;it cant be bad with so many 5 * hotels in one place.
Monday morning on the patio at last. See you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to great places around Tuscany
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Many thanks, Geoff. We chose this farmhouse because of its location. All the major tourist attractions are within easy reach e.g. Florence, Lucca, Siena, Pisa, San Gimignano, Cinque Terra. Hope to see you again
Best wishes, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R
1 review
“Quite, peaceful essence of Tuscany”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an 8-9 day stay at Casa Cipressi, what a great location for easy access to Lucca, Florence, Pisa etc etc. the villa was great and suited us well. Lara was a very helpful housekeeper .... with some English which eventuated in a lot of laughter. Karen and I would easily recommend this as a great place to stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you Greg for your very positive feedback and recommendation. We are very pleased you had such a great time
Regards, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Comfortable and Authentic”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Olivio part of this Villa for 4 nights over new years. The valley has spectacular views and there are plenty of small villages and walks to be discovered. A short drive from the train station made it great for day trips to Florence and Pisa and the bedrooms and beds are comfortable and spacious.

The villa itself is traditional with some modern touches (dishwasher, DVD player etc...) and there are comfy sofas and plenty of space for groups of people to hang out.

We stayed during the winter and the heating keeps the house snug and there is plenty of hot water for showers etc... which is always a bonus after a walk or run in the hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thanks, Emilio. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Winter in Tuscany is a special time with many days of clear blue skies and bright sunshine. The central heating in Villa Olivo keeps our guests warm and comfortable.
Regards, Clive & Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the region, and the presentation and spaciousness of the villa
Liked least: Nothing really, though the kitchen was a little under stocked with utensils and basic items such as salt and pepper.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2013
Many thanks for booking with us. We have designed Villa Olivo to provide spacious accomodation for up to 8 guests and as you say the Villa is ideally situated to visit all the major attractions in Tuscany. We are very pleased you enjoyed stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing