We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip to Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best part of our trip to Brazil”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I found Tarzan here on TripAdvisor several months before our trip. He responded quickly to my emails and answered all my questions. I was hesitant about picking a guide from the internet for many reasons, one being that I was traveling with my 12 year old son. And you tend to be a little more concerned when you have a child along. But, Tarzan was great! He picked us up at the airport, took us to the hotel for the night. Was there on time the next morning to pick us up to make the trek to the lodge. He has people coming and going all the time, but he made us feel like we were his priority (just like I'm sure he made everyone else feel also). He took time to explain things to us, took my son fishing several times, and made sure we were comfortable. Rico was our guide for some of the excursions and he was also very nice and knowledgable (and speaks excellent English).
As others have explained, the lodge is very simple but clean. The meals were very good -- much better than what I expected. My only recommendations are that:
- They need bigger/better fans in the rooms. There was a small fan on a ledge in our room. However, it's REALLY hot and a stand-up oscillating fan would have been nice. The fan on the shelf really didn't help at night because it blew air above our heads so we didn't get the benefit of it.
- Rooms should be cleaned daily. I think they cleaned them twice during our 5 day stay.

But, these recommendations/suggestions wouldn't keep me from recommending this place or going back again. At the end of 5 days, they felt like family and my son is already planning our next trip there.

We spent 3 weeks in Brazil and this was our last stop. I think it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrym78218849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
none
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had an amazing trip and experience in the jungle thanks to the knowledge and kindness of Tarzan. He is a very knowledgeable person that perfectly knows the area (plants, animals, traditional medicine, which is of great value for me as a biologist) and is very caring. This is the kind of adventurous trip that I would highly recommend to everyone who is interested in discovering the nature in this wild part of the world!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I´am just after the trip with amazon Tarzan and I must say this this experience was just breathtaking. The virgin amazon forest, the variousity of beautiful animals and plants... and everything living together in a great hormony. Many oportunities to take fotos, to learn how to live in the jungle and to enjoy life! Norberto is a very experienced guide with a lot of knowledge, he helped me discover deeply any smallest detail of the selva. Our lodge was located in a beatiful área at the Reserve Juma river - rarely visited place surrouned by the virgin rainforest. I highly recommend this company! This experience will always stay in my memory !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had an amazing time with Amazon Tarzan, we did all sorts of adventures ! One of my best vacations ever! I highly recommend it. The food, the trips, the jungle, the lodge, the very friendly people....couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahJumah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We did a 3 day tour with Tarzan based at his lodge in the Rio Juma area. At 65, my wife and I have travelled extensively around the world and would rate our Amazon visit up there in our top ten destinations. Much of this was due to Tarzan. He cared both about us and about the environment in which he operates. We did all the usual things, piranha fishing, caiman spotting, river dolphins etc and all were memorable. But it was the simple things that made it remarkable - dawn on the river, paddling silently up small tributaries, suddenly spotting a sloth high up, in the trees.
The accommodation is basic but that simply added to the experience. The food was remarkably good considering how remote we were and Tarzan mixes a great caipirinha.
At such a distance, it is quite difficult to choose which organisation to go with into the Amazon but I think it would be difficult to beat Tarzan and his people. From the moment he met us at the airport to the moment he dropped us back there, he did an excellent job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Despite the drama throughout 2012 in getting to Manaus, from the moment Tarzan had collected us from the airport until we were dropped off at the airport to return home, it was nothing but exciting, fun, adventurous, nerve-wrecking and special! Tarzan reminds me of African tour guides who are so in their element with heightened senses, spotting a monkey while we're busy getting through jungle vines. He is genuinely kind (looking after our sickly coughs and my sunburnt), fun and very knowledgeable. Cris' family are nearby and are the most friendly and helpful bunch of locals which added to our happy experience. We couldn't have asked for a better trip! Be prepared for a REAL jungle tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were 2 girls and we stayed with Tarzan and his family for a 5 days / 4 nights stay which allowed us to see everyhing in the region and do all kind of unsual activities. The Juma reserve is really beautiful and we were able to see many animals, plants thanks to the very precise and accurate knowledge of our enthusiastic guide Tarzan who grew up in the jungle. Tarzan and his family were really helpful and attentive to what we wanted to do. I would definitely recommend the Amazon Tarzan Lodge: close to this beautiful nature, a real expertise and simplicity. Just what you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Careiro
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
104 reviews
Juma Amazon Lodge
#1 of 10 in Autazes
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 14 in Careiro
87 reviews
Cirandeira Bela
#1 of 35 in Manacapuru
54 reviews
Amazonia Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Rio Preto da Eva
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Tarzan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Tarzan Lodge

Property: Amazon Tarzan Lodge
Address: Rio Juma, Careiro, State of Amazonas 69250, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Careiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Careiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazon Tarzan Lodge is located about 100km south of Manaus on Rio Juma.Monkeys, Guariba, Hawks, Egrets, Jacu, Amazon Kingfisher, Toucan, Macaw and other species can be easely found.The lodge is manage by Chico and his family who were raised on the island.The lodge offers private room with double bed and/or single bed, restaurant and hammock hut.All buildings are covers with straw from local babacu plants.A floating dock offers fishing and swimming opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amazon Tarzan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Tarzan Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing