We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, lovely accomodation and welcoming homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can Torras rural retreat
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, lovely accomodation and welcoming homestay”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Great location an hour outside Barcelona, fab for cycling, walking, sightseeing. The views from the outdoor dining area and garden are stunning and the room with ensuite were beautifully renovated.

Karen cooked us with the tastiest meal(on request) when we arrived and was so helpful in suggesting places to go/arranging car hire and picking mushrooms!

We only stayed 2 nights tacked onto the end of a trip to Barcelona so it was just a taster but we had a wonderful time and I'd definately go back to explore the area with some bikes.

I have warm memories of Can Torras and would definately reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distractedmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Upon returning from a recent vacation in Spain we were posed with one particular question “why Spain?”. My response always begins with the beauty of Spain and ends with the incredible experience we had while staying at Can Torras retreat.

Our 6 day stay at Can Torras can only be described as one of the highlights of our vacation. We found the accommodations warm and welcoming and totally unique. The meals we enjoyed while staying there were truly unbelievable, Karen’s cooking can only be appreciated by enjoying them first hand!

Karen and David were great hosts, providing us with tips on sights to see and many local points of interest, we even got to share in the family mushroom hunt on our last day at Can Torras.

We will look forward to our next visit to Can Torras and will highly recommend it to any of our friends who visit the Catalonia area.


(And the Cava, well that can be a surprise!!!)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oisin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Amazing food, comfy surrounds, lovely hosts.

Found myself with a smile I could not wipe off my face while sitting in their hot-tub, sipping on a glass of champagne, looking over the mountains to the sea.

You will not regret visiting Can Torras.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i4detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Can Torras is the best. We were so welcome and they realy thought about what would be fun for a 12 year old guy; many games were at hand. We expected 2 bedrooms but we had our own apartment with lovely beds and everything decorated so tastefully. And Karens food was absolutely fabulous. Great view and sunsets. And all this for a very low price!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pertoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

As a family of four we were looking for a good value B&B as a quiet , relaxing and interesting place to stay and Can Torras measured up to all these and more. We have extremely high praise for Karen as a host (and her family.) They are welcoming and warm and are extremely good company without being intrusive. Karen goes to endless trouble to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. She is a great cook, breakfasts are a feast and she offers lovely evening meals if wanted. She offers good advice on places to visit and the whole area is fascinating if you like culture. Her home is tranquil, rustic and set in beautiful surroundings. We would have no hesitation in going back to visit and hope we can. We are seasoned travellers to B&B's and this goes down as one of our best stays!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clrpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed in Can Torras in my 3 children in July and it was wonderful! Karen and David could not have provided a warmer or more welcoming reception. Can Torras is located in an idyllic location. Rustic decor in the cottage bedrooms, combined with a lovely bathroom made for a very comfortable stay. My kids thoroughly enjoyed their stay, with frequent dips in the hot tubs and lots of games with the various animals... Karen's breakfast and dinners are just fantastic - excellent qualtiy food at very good prices. I am looking forward to making a return visit

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We arrived in Can Torras after an exhausting journey from the middle of Germany knowing that this was not the end of our trip but the first holiday. And it was one! Our hosts offered us a splendid recreational surrounding, we enjoyed the big bathroom, the cosy and selected furniture of our appartment and the beautiful dinner/breakfast place outside in the garden.
But what we, the four boys, my husband and me enjoyed most was the familiar and warm welcome our hosts gave us.
We can recommend this beautiful spot for exploring the Empordá.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank turiFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Can Torras rural retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Torras rural retreat

Property: Can Torras rural retreat
Address: St Mateu de Montnegre, 17242 Quart, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Quart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Quart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & breakfast and rural retreat in the hills of Gavarres National Park, close to the ancient city of Girona. Our delicious home-cooked breakfast is normally served under the pergola. Only 30 minutes from Girona airport, bus & train station and a great base for Catalonia's food, arts and activities. Explore the Costa Brava, French Pyrenees or volcanic region of Garrotxa and find the hidden gems with guidance from your English-speaking hosts. Free travel itineraries for garden, art and food lovers. After a long day you can also dine with us; a Catalan menu with ingredients from our organic garden. Follow your meal with a hot spa under the stars for pure indulgence! We can sleep up to 10 people in 2 suites of 2 rooms. Secure, free car parking. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can Torras Rural Retreat Spain/Quart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing