We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, good atmosphere”
Review of Il Bacio

Il Bacio
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

For a relatively new restaurant this place has a very good atmosphere. weather its the friendly service or the decor, or maybe both. The food is pretty good, and for a local restaurant this is a good place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank londonCityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing taste of Sardinia”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The negative reviews on here are from amateur diners and Essex idiots.
The food is amazing, and authentic.
The staff are friendly and fun.
Yes it is busy and squashed - like all good places!
If you want empty and overstaffed go find a bland chain restaurant.
Or just order take out.
Its great. A welcome addition to our highstreet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lamontsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Too busy, with too few staff, who weren't attentive enough. The first night for the drinks waitress, who was trying very hard.
We would have stayed for dessert, but service was too slow.
I had risotto, not made with risotto rice, and no wine flavour, it was terrible. I think it was just uncle bens white rice! I would have complained if they had come anywhere near my table to ask how we were enjoying our meals. My husband had a pizza, it was ok.
There is no flare or polish, and I'm surprised how bad it has become, the decor is still great though. We are trying Nouvo next week.
There is a take away service too, they are doing too much in too small a space - rushing about. I won't be back until I see some great reviews, and that things have turned around

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank faerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've had problems before with this restaurant over-booking and claiming to not know that we'd booked, so, since it was a Saturday night, I rang to confirm our booking a few hours before we set off. The restaurant was full when we arrived and our table was booked for 8.30, but we were asked to wait "for ten minutes" while the table was prepared. After half an hour, we were offered drinks "while the other people pay their bill". We asked whether we were going to get a table at all and were told our pre-dinner drinks would be free. Great, but we'd gone there to eat, not to freeload alcohol.

We politely waited and tried to keep it good-humoured since we were there with friends who had been impressed by the (bewildering number of) good reviews. We spoke to Luigi, the owner, after we'd waited for more than an hour and he insisted this situation was a one-off and was the result of people turning up just before us, claiming they had a booking and making such a fuss that 'someone' had given them our table. People we have since spoken to have told us that they were given similar excuses at this restaurant on more than one occasion.

We had already suggested to our guests that we should go elsewhere, but, at almost 10pm on a Saturday, it seemed pointless to start looking for another restaurant, so we stayed. We were eventually given a table at 10.20.

The restaurant has a mystifyingly good reputation, possibly because its nearby competitors are 'chain' restaurants, a Carvery and curry houses. However, the food is really only ok: not great, not spectacular and certainly not what you would expect for the prices they charge. A lot of favourable reviews mention the 'buzz' and the ambience as an acceptable trade-off against quite ordinary Italian food. But the buzz really amounts to no more than a lot of noise in a small, over-crowded space and the ambience is tarnished by the unacceptable disrespect for customers who have booked in advance but are made to wait while the owner lines his pockets and tells lies to cover his poor management.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Probitas670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy Friday night meal for 6”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We'd booked, something I'd advise you do on a Friday evening, and enjoyed it immensely. We all had pizzas, but the specials menu had some seriously good sounding dishes which I'll be trying next time I go.

Service was quick and attentive without being overbearing. All in all a great local restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R-M-Orpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacio also viewed

Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 

Been to Il Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing