We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cable Car.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nebelhorn

Nebelhorn
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Oberstdorf
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cable Car.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved the cable car! It was a misty snowy day when we took the car to the top. So we did not get a view of our surroundings at all, so we have to return on a sunnier day! I was quite scared when we reached the top and it was freezing so we literally jumped on the next car down without spending long up there. I would recommend it as it is a lovely experience looking down on all the trees and people skiing below are just tiny specks at times! The cable cars run very frequently. I will return and do it again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trasa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    81
    23
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great hiking peaks here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

good deep alpine views. very popular and for a good reason. lots of parasailing and all that going on. there are easy and hair raising routes to choose from.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elgringogordo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Nebelhorn is a 2224 metres (7297 ft) high mountain in the Allgäu Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

A three stage life takes you over the ski jump to the top (almost). Quite a difficult climb I think to the very top, a bit cloudy when we went so walked back down one stage then got the lifts back to oberstorf.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Worth a trip but very expensive at 27.50 euros pensioners rates.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the Alps with the option of hiking from halfway up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I travelled here at the start of Spring and it was beautiful! The weather was sunny and warm but the mountains were still snow-capped and scenic. I took the cable car all the way to the top but it was possible to hike from halfway up or down the mountain. There were many visitors who were hiking even though there was still a little snow at the highest tracks. Most of the paths were clear with no snow.

There is a restaurant at the top with a sunning deck and a small area to walk around to take in breathtaking views of the Alps. It's possible to identify the 3 European countries and each of the main peaks.

The cable car ride was worth it for the views of Oberstdorf town, the ski ramp and of course, the surrounding mountains.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank snough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nebelhorn also viewed

 
Oberstdorf, Swabia
Riezlern, Kleinwalsertal
 

Been to Nebelhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing