We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the self catering apartments for 2 weeks in August 2013.
Our apartment was clean and tidy although a bit basic. The biggest problem was that the rubbish was not emptied often enough.
There is space at the front of the hotel for 4 cars and the rest of the car parking is across the road from the hotel.
Location is good for walking into and around Quedlinburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank braunbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights in June 2013 in a standard room with TV and mini bar, seperate bathroom with toilet and shower. But the room was on the 3rd floor under the roof and it was very hot even though the outside temperature was rather normal (around 20°C); there is no airco. When we first entered the room there was a strong smell of mold coming from the bathroom. The silicone joints badly needed replacing, we kept the fan going with the bathroom door and the window open (all 5 days) and the smell just about cleared. Not exactly what you expect from a 4 star hotel, and it would never pass a health inspection in that condition.
The breakfast buffet was very nice with something for everyone, the staff were very friendly and helpful, but unable to keep up with tidying the tables for new arrivals, serving coffee and re-stocking the buffet, they were obviously understaffed. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant 3 times and the same happened there; Friendly staff, we didn't have to wait long for the food but any time we wanted a drink or anything else we had trouble getting a waiter to our table. They had to run around too much, the waiters (most of the time they were 2) had to go into the bar to pour out drinks, open wine bottles etc for which they really had no time in between all the rest. They even had to wait the terrace outside which was quite busy at times. There should have been at least an extra person, and this certainly takes a star out of the rating.
There is free WiFi in the hotel, but it works with a hotspot service. At the reception desk you are provided with a username and password both of which you have to enter each time you want to access the internet, not exactly userfriendly. On top of that the download speed is very slow, barely sufficient to check emails.
The hotel is conveniently located at just a short walk from the beautiful town centre which has several nice places for dinner and/or drinks. It has good parking facilities (free of charge) and is a convenient home base for visiting the Harz national park. The tourist office in the town centre offers all kind of info about the region and any activities, definitely worth a visit if you (still) need to decide what to do or where to go in the Harz.
This hotel could be at a 4 star rating but for that they need to reconsider staff management and clean up their (bath)rooms.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB-MUAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My all the best feedback words about this beautiful, cozy, clean, caring hotel! It ideally fits to the environment in this quiet medieval German town with its castle, to which only 5 minutes to go through the narrow streets ... We were staying there for three days and have got very-very pleasant experience and excellent impressions!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG_Stranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Lovely well located hotel. Everything in walking distance. Service needs tightening up. Had to search for waiters and desk staff when needed. The first room was noisy and readily changed the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizVeniceFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Weselected Schlossmuehle for a short stay in Quedlinburg, but without hesitation it would be my first choice as a base for travel in the area for another trip. The rooms are very spacious, comfy, well-appointed and the bathrooms with full bath. Spa and sauna on premises. Located just below the old city, the hotel is a 10 minute stroll into the historic areas of the city. Breakfast buffet included in the cost of the hotel was very good and offered something fine for every taste. Parking also included on the premises. Lovely outdoor garden area with a view of major monuments and quiet nights make for peaceful sleep. We didn't need a/c, but not sure if it was available. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank cyborys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel is very close to the centre of the pretty town of Quedlinburgh. It's supposed to be 4 star but is not. It has a nice restaurant and good food but the quality of service from most of the staff and especially those on reception was poor. Our party of UK travellers actually had our Christmas meals in a souless conference room. Only when a German tour group moved on did we get to enjoy the restaurant. It claims to cater for vegetarians but does not do this well. The rooms are generally OK but on the small side. The hotel does not have a lounge and the public areas are tiny. Two sofas next to reception constitute the lounge. There is a smoking room but unless you like the smell of stale tobacco this is best avoided.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This hotel is located at the foot of the castle. We stayed for one night in a large room in the older section of the hotel with a large bathroom and half timbered wood ceilings. Large comfortable king-sized bed, very clean, and plenty of room for the three of us. The breakfast was a sumptuous buffet, eggs, bacon, sausages, juices, breads and more. A short walk up the hill lead us to this medieval town with its half-timbered buildings, lovely churches, and great food. Also very nice was it was not overrun with tourists and although English was spoken by the hotel front desk staff, that was about the only place where it was spoken.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bob086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quedlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel am Bruehl
Romantik Hotel am Bruehl
#1 of 22 in Quedlinburg
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Theophano
Hotel Theophano
#7 of 22 in Quedlinburg
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quedlinburg Stadtschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Domschatz
Hotel Domschatz
#2 of 22 in Quedlinburg
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Aurora
Hotel Maria Aurora
#11 of 22 in Quedlinburg
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quedlinburger Hof
Quedlinburger Hof
#21 of 22 in Quedlinburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle

Address: Kaiser-Otto-Str. 28, 06484 Quedlinburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Schlossmuehle)
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Quedlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Price Range: $82 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Schlossmuehle in the historical UNESCO town of Quedlinburg. Only a short walk from the hotel you will find the historic old town with its 1200 half-timbered houses dating back several centuries. The winding streets and small squares that constantly invite you to linger. As one of Europe's largest area monuments and former imperial residence in our city, in the north of the Harz is always a good starting point for an unforgettable stay. Its historical castle mill is equivalent to the modern standard with a human soul. From the large courtyard terrace with a charming fountain, you have a clear picture of the castle and church. Additionally, you will find the ideal location between the Schlossberg, convent garden and Bruhl-Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing