We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”
Review of Shakespeare Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shakespeare B&B and Inns
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our theater group has had a 'Stratford' weekend every June for some years now. This year, we lodged at the Shakespeare Inn, which is about a 10 minute drive east of Stratford, and really enjoyed the stay. Is it perfect? No, but it surely is a good place to stay. Starting when we made reservations, the owner was most cordial and helpful when it came to some special needs and requests. The rooms were clean and comfortable. A Continetal breakfast was included and the breakfast room was bright and cheerful. The food was fresh - including hot blueberry muffins right out of the oven. We will stay there again!
Dave S

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
11
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here in a pinch but would prefer to be in Stratford next time. Very dated facility, extremely noisy heater (kept me up most of the night), no hair blower, etc. Owners seemed friendly enough and the rooms were indeed pretty clean. Not worth the $99 per night (and that's during off-season). Overall, very very basic.

Room Tip: Crank the heat when you arrive so you can turn it off before bed and actually get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shakespeare hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My mother,myself and my daughter stayed at the Shakespeare Inn this past August while on a Theatre Trip to Stratford and are very glad we did. The owners, Margaretha and Mike Byers keep this Inn very clean and inviting and are very accomodating. The beds are quite large (2 queen size beds - as opposed to most places which only give you 2 doubles when sharing a room). Breakfast is included and you can smell the great aroma as soon as you get downstairs. Freshly baked muffins were delicious. Located less than 5 minutes away from Stratford. We will definitely go back to Shakespeare Inn next time we go to the theatre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isergiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Recent stay at Shakespeare Inn was very pleasant. I am a group leader for Seniors from the Finger Lakes area in NY. The rooms are very clean and our hosts, Dr. Byer and Margaurite are very welcoming and personable. The breakfast is a continental, but the coffee is good and fresh baked muffins and coffee cake are delicious. The Inn is located 10 minutes from Stratford and provides a more economical alternative to the accommodations right in town. This is the second year we have stayed here and we will most likely stay again. One thing to keep in mind is there is no elevator and the inn has two stories.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 913Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

For the 4th. time, our expectancy of the warmth and hospitality of residing at the Shakespeare Inn was fully met starting with the greeting from our affable hosts, Margaretha and Mike Byers. There is not one thing detracting from experiencing the finest hotel stay available. Minutes from the world's finest theater company, the story- book city of Shakespeare Ontario and the Inn greets you with a picture perfect setting. From the spotless floors and carpeting to the personal needs of guests, it would be rare to find a flaw in our stay. My wife and I have always enjoyed our private visits.
Of course, the aroma of Margaretha's home made muffins and morning continental breakfast can be blamed for that as well. The Shakespeare Inn is contagious, so be careful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaOmega1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A well maintained property. Small, clean, basic room. Soft mattress. Complimentary self-serve breakfast included in price of room. Use this location to explore the area and to attend the Stratford Shakespeare Festival.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Will NEVER stay here again, and regretably, tainted our entire Stratford experience. Owners were rude and unprofessional. Over priced for what you get, but the owners act like it is a palace and we should be " grateful" for " allowing" us to stay there. Felt like I was staying in a semi-clean motel stuck in the 70's. Avoid this place, and continue closer to Stratford. No value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RippedOffInSWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakespeare
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
309 reviews
4.7 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
165 reviews
7.1 mi away
Puddicombe House
Puddicombe House
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
96 reviews
6.9 mi away
Newburg Inn
Newburg Inn
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: 8-2166 Shakespeare St, Shakespeare, Ontario N0B 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Shakespeare
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shakespeare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shakespeare Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shakespeare Festival Country. We feature country-quiet 4-Star accommodation in the Hamlet of Shakespeare, gracious European hosting, wonderful continental breakfast in our delightful Breakfast Cafe. Stay in our 50 sparkling bright rooms and suites, shop and play in the antique capital of Shakespeare, and enjoy all that Southwest Ontario has to offer. Enjoy the Stratford Shakespeare Festival 5 minutes away, St Jacobs Farmers Markets, KW Oktoberfest, local Dinner Theatres and relax in the local Amish country ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing