We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Krone
Ranked #2 of 28 Goslar B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is well situated and easy walk to the historic Marktplatz. Other pluses include free parking, free 1 bottle of water and breakfast included. Helpful staff. Had adequate local map provided to guests. Would stay here again.

Side note - take the map provided by the hotel unless you want to buy a map at the Tourist Information. What's annoying with many places in Germany is the constant feel of "nickel & dime" the tourists - we bring in revenue so the towns/ provinces should at least provide a helpful free local map.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ligaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
29
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We selected this hotel as it is inside the wall and just 3 blocks from the marketplace. The facade is from 1700's, but the rooms are modern and very nice. The staff was very helpful and nice to deal with. Free parking in the rear is a plus to the driving traveler.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

Goldene Krone is just what we were looking for in Goslar--a feeling of living in Medieval times with most modern conveniences. The room was small but clean and cozy. Breakfast was a huge spread that dazzled the eye and palate. Plus, it was served in an ancient timbered great room. One almost expected a knight templar to sit down at the next table. It was, however, the host, Bob, that contributed the most to our experience. I speak pretty good German and had not spoken English for over a week (except to my wife, of course). At registration, I was speaking German to the host. I really didn't know his name was "Bob". He asked where we were from; I answered "Connecticut", and he replied in perfect (British) English, "Well, let's speak English then". Over the next day or two, he told us much of the history and lore of the area and took great pains to make us feel welcome and cared for. His friendliness and desire to help us make the most of our stay added immeasurably to our time in Goslar.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

This hotel is located in the quieter eastern end of the historic (and extraordinarily charming) old town. On the outside, it looks very traditional; on the inside, it is quite modern (recently renovated), even a little plush; in any case, good value compared to other Goslar hotels. Free parking is also provided. There is no (longer) a restaurant, and so the place seems pretty quiet; indeed, the front door remains locked (and so you have to ring a bell to summon a receptionist from somewhere in the back of the house). But quiet is certainly appreciated at night, and the room was clean and comfortable. In short, I'm glad I chose this hotel and will probably do the same the next time I'm able to get to Goslar.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Goldene Krone in Goslar at the beginning of January. The hotel is a 300 year old inn situated in the beautiful, medieval town of Goslar, on the edge of the Harz mountains, 1 hours train journey from Hannover in Northern Germany. The 3 star Goldene Krone is situated on a quiet street about 10 minutes walk from the old market square and centre of town. The hotel is immaculately maintained and our room was comfortable, clean and also centrally heated, which was much appreciated as the outside temperature never rose above freezing during our stay and at night dropped to as low as minus 17 degrees!! The owners, Karina and her English husband Robert, were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and there was a good choice for breakfast which was served in an attractive medieval style wooden beamed dining hall, complete with tapestries and animal heads hanging on the walls. Goslar itself is a Unesco World Heritage site with hundreds of old timbered houses and quaint cobbled alleyways, made especially pretty by the snow that had fallen the day before we arrived. There was a good choice of reasonbly priced restaurants and bars in the town and plenty to keep us occupied, with several interesting musems,and Imperial Palace to visit plus the famous Rammelsburg silver mine which can be visited on a guided tour. There are a number of other pretty towns within an hour of Goslar, plus cable cars up into the mountains and the Brocken Steam Railway which travels through some amazing scenery up to the top of Mount Brocken.
I would thoroughly recommend both Goslar and the Goldene Krone for a short break in the winter, or for a longer stay in the summer, in this beautiful part of Germany.

  • Liked — The location, friendly service and quiet, comfortable room.
  • Disliked — No shelf for toiletries in shower cubicle
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

A comfortable, well-run, modestly-sized hotel in a lovely town. Rooms are neatly and simply furnished, everything is spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was good, with fresh rolls and excellent bread every day and good coffee. We were staying over Christmas, and it was a treat to be brought a glass of Sekt at breakfast on Christmas morning. The dining room is delightful and was made even nicer by a lovely Christmas tree. The owners, Karina Krämer and Bob Orton, were helpful and friendly but unobtrusive. If you're not looking for Wi-fi in every room or an Olympic swimming-pool, this is the place to stay in a veritable nest of World Heritage sites and beautiful landscapes. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank redhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

My family and I had threee separate rooms. All of the rooms had been refurbished beautifully. The rooms were spacious and comforatable. It is a beautiful old hotel that has been updated without losing it's charm. The hotel is in a convenient location for visting the city's many landmarks. The breakfasts were very good, served in an elegant timbered great room. The owner and staff were warm and friendly. I hope to visit again someday.

  • Liked — Comfortable and historic
  • Disliked — I have not complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenatchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goslar hotels
0.5 mi away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alte Muenze
Hotel Alte Muenze
#1 of 36 in Goslar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Goslar
H+ Hotel Goslar
#5 of 36 in Goslar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
#13 of 36 in Goslar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Hof
Hotel Kaiser Hof
#7 of 36 in Goslar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Krone

Property: Hotel Goldene Krone
Address: Breite Str. 46, 38640, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Goslar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Goldene Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing