We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four star not deserved at all, make-over needed, not near downtown”
Review of H+ Hotel Goslar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H+ Hotel Goslar
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sometimes hotels do themselves a disservice when they raise expectations that they can't meet.

We intentionally paid the extra euros for a superior room at what was advertised as a four-star hotel. The front desk staff exchanged the first room we were first given (on the ground floor facing the garden so that anyone walking by could look in) for a room on the third floor with a small balcony and some privacy. The room was small, the bath functional. But the corridors were badly in need of refurbishing, were dark, and reminded us more of a hospital with a medicinal smell.

Having to pay for internet is aggravating, so we’re either not going to use it or we’re going to start choosing hotels that don’t charge. And charging for bathrobes seems a bit cheap – either don’t offer them or take the four-star status seriously and offer them free-of-charge.

Distance to the center of town is a forty-minute walk (if you walk fast) or a ten-minute taxi ride (bus service is infrequent). The hotel is located in a quiet residential part of Goslar, which some guests might appreciate. Two large groups arrived just after we did; and when we returned late in the evening, a loud party in the bar was still going on. We didn’t hear anything, however, in our room.

Breakfast was the average buffet fare. In retrospect we would’ve done better by trying one of the cafes in town – but again there’s the distance to keep in mind.

The staff were very friendly and helpful both at check-in and check-out. But we’d definitely choose a hotel in the center of this charming historic city next time. According to what we heard from other guests at hotels right on the central market square, the prices are comparable.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms look out unto a garden area that all guests have access to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baerenteam R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Goslar, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

To know the point of view of our clients is very interesting and helpful for us. Thank you for taking time to express your objective and critical impressions from your stay at the RAMADA Hotel Bären Goslar. Our Frontoffice Staff will say thank you for the compliment.

We highly appreciated the feedback you gave us and want to take the opportunity reverting back to you. Only with your valuable comments about your stay, we are able to improve our facilities and services. To meet and exceed our customers’ expectations and needs is our goal in our day to day business. Please accept our apology, as it seems that we have not met your expectations.


Once again we apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel. We hope you might give us a chance to show you our improvements during your next visit to Goslar, as we would like to welcome you again at the RAMADA Hotel Bären Goslar.

Your RAMADA Hotel Bären team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We'll be frank, we payed over a €100 a night for a room with two beds and breakfast. The room looked rather like a youthhostel than a 4 star hotelroom. The beds where hard, curtains where not good at all at keeping out the light and the furniture looked like, well like that of a youthhostel. Even closet doors were apparently too expensive to install. You can get a look at the poor room quality in the picture gallery. Oh, and there isn't even free Internet access.

Breakfast looked bad (the pineapple flesh was brown instead of yellow) and tasted even worse, flies were all over the place. And the replenishment of the food was extremely slow, mainly because the hotel was understaffed.

However I am obliged to mention that the staff at the hotel desk was very helpfull and that the spa area was very nice, it was clean and everything was offered as promised.

So al things taken into account the hotel just isn't worth anything near a €100, take our advice and do'nt go there.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Jasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baerenteam R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H+ Hotel Goslar, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear guest,
first we would like to thank you for telling us your opinion about staying at our hotel. There is to add that except our standard rooms all other room categories are equipped with cabinet doors. Of course we check also your notes on the buffet design and the organization, so that the guests can be satisfied here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again as guest in our hotel to convince you of our quality of service.
Your RAMADA Hotel Bären team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We (2 retired couples) altered our route to visit Goslar, because a friend of ours introduced it as a must-see. Well ... An appealing old town without anything stunning. The hotel was also overpriced, although they lowered it after we made our reservation. It is not within easy walk of the old town, and there is nothing special on the way. The UNESCO world-heritage mines are on the other side of the town, not within walking distance at all. Also the Schützenplatz, where fests are fiered. We were lucky, because there was this "Shützenfest" on the day we arrived - 30 th June. There were merry-go-rounds, bumping-cars, and everything at the fair ground. Lots of people coming from neighbouring towns were having fun, eating, drinking and dancing. For me and my wife, this was a nice experience.

Though the hotel has 4 stars, the rooms did not give that impression. Rooms are a bit worn-out, 2-star quality and size, only a balcony with plastic chairs extra. A heaven for a heavy smoker like me.

We tried to find a reason why this hotel had such a low benefit/price ratio, and decided that it must be because of the Germans themselves coming there for the baths. As we had no interest in bathing, and we did not intend to spend a vacation there, it should be expected that we would find the price high.

Apart from us, the only foreigners were from an elderly Japanese group, taking pictures of almost every living and non-living object they see, including us! We guessed that their interest in this town stemmed from its being a historical imperial capital. It is not that impressive though.

The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing special. As a smoker, I preferred sitting outside, but tables could not be prepared before almost an hour later than the breakfast room. I could not understand why I was asked for my room number three times by different waiters, but what the heck?

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, so ground level rooms open to the garden, and the hotel has only 3 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, dass unser Frühstücksbuffet Ihren Erwartungen nicht entsprochen hat, finden wir sehr schade. Wir sind jederzeit daran interessiert, uns den Wünschen unserer Gäste anzupassen. Nur mit Hilfe von konkreten Verbesserungsvorschlägen, können wir reagieren und auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Gäste eingehen. Für Ihre Bewertung sagen wir nochmals Danke.

Ihr Ramada Hotel Bären Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel from 4th to 9th September 2011. Part of an Alfa Travel coach holiday.
From Reception onwards I found everyone friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfasts and dinners were excellent, plentiful and with a wide choice of well presented dishes. Room was quite large (I had a twin room as a single) kept immaculately clean and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Although a little way out of town there is a bus leaving the end of the road and returning from the town centre every hour. The buses have a clear visual display showing the next stop so easy to get off at the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dewskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a quiet location, ideally placed for the sights of Goslar and the rest of the Hartz region. The room was very nice, good sized bathroo, spacious south facing balcony, clean and well maintained. The food was largely very good, even though the dining room could be a bit too busy at times. The breakfast buffet was very impressive. Some of the diningroom staff seemed unable to cope with volume of guests or simple reguests at other times. One young waiter, however was outstanding. iI would say this is a lovely hotel for families, and there were many there, with many children. Do not choose this if you prefer a more mature atmosphere. The small swimming pool was overcrowded with children, and there wete much playing of football outside. So if this is not your thing, do not go there. There was also a very strange waiter/bartender who was bordering on being very RUDE at times, he would keep customers waiting at the bar with no one else there for almost 15 mins while studiously ignoring them by doing a variety of other tasks. So, nice hotel, but the overall impression ruined by the finishing touches. 4 star, I am not so sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waxwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I organised a trip to Goslar for our Club using Greatdays Travel as my booking agents. This was a good choice as far as my group was concerned, clean comfortable rooms, good, plentiful and wide variety of buffet style food, even though the restaurant was very busy, easy access and coach parking. No complaints from any of my group and great staff particularly reception who were excellent. Bus numbers have changed from an earlier review, you now need the 801 to town centre and the 802 coming back, (if you go to Rammelsberg Mine the 803) if you travel in groups of five then the ticket price is good value at less than 2 euros for a day ticket.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScrumpyJackBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Looks small from the outside but can get easily lost going to the room. Soon get around though. Friendly staff and very good service at meal times from waiting staff serving drinks. Buffet meals with lots of variety and hot meals kept topped up by the chefs. Went with Shearings coaches for this trip and had a super driver called George who really helped us settle in. Would definetly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linjHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goslar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
#10 of 36 in Goslar
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
0.6 mi away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alte Muenze
Hotel Alte Muenze
#1 of 36 in Goslar
198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Njord
Hotel Njord
#1 of 7 in Hahnenklee-Bockswiese
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Hof
Hotel Kaiser Hof
#7 of 36 in Goslar
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Goslar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Goslar

Address: Krugwiese 11a | 38640 Goslar, 38640, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Ramada Hotel Baeren Goslar)
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goslar
Price Range: $95 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Goslar 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goslar. Discover the town's cultural treasures and its surroundings on your own or one of our many professional guided tours. Start at the market square with the majestic town hall and Marktkirche and admire the beautifully restored half-timbered houses. A must-see for everyone is the Imperial Palace built during the reign of Henry III and the World Heritage Site of Rammelsberg. Our H+ Hotel Goslar is ideally located for tours of Goslar town centre or the local area. We have 165 comfortably furnished rooms. 10 adjustable rooms for up to 350 people can be used for a wide range of events, meetings and conferences. Our team will happily assist you with organising your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ Hotel Goslar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Goslar
Goslar Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing