We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe 4 stars, but the room?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of H+ Hotel Goslar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
H+ Hotel Goslar
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Maybe 4 stars, but the room?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We (2 retired couples) altered our route to visit Goslar, because a friend of ours introduced it as a must-see. Well ... An appealing old town without anything stunning. The hotel was also overpriced, although they lowered it after we made our reservation. It is not within easy walk of the old town, and there is nothing special on the way. The UNESCO world-heritage mines are on the other side of the town, not within walking distance at all. Also the Schützenplatz, where fests are fiered. We were lucky, because there was this "Shützenfest" on the day we arrived - 30 th June. There were merry-go-rounds, bumping-cars, and everything at the fair ground. Lots of people coming from neighbouring towns were having fun, eating, drinking and dancing. For me and my wife, this was a nice experience.

Though the hotel has 4 stars, the rooms did not give that impression. Rooms are a bit worn-out, 2-star quality and size, only a balcony with plastic chairs extra. A heaven for a heavy smoker like me.

We tried to find a reason why this hotel had such a low benefit/price ratio, and decided that it must be because of the Germans themselves coming there for the baths. As we had no interest in bathing, and we did not intend to spend a vacation there, it should be expected that we would find the price high.

Apart from us, the only foreigners were from an elderly Japanese group, taking pictures of almost every living and non-living object they see, including us! We guessed that their interest in this town stemmed from its being a historical imperial capital. It is not that impressive though.

The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing special. As a smoker, I preferred sitting outside, but tables could not be prepared before almost an hour later than the breakfast room. I could not understand why I was asked for my room number three times by different waiters, but what the heck?

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, so ground level rooms open to the garden, and the hotel has only 3 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H+ Hotel Goslar, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, dass unser Frühstücksbuffet Ihren Erwartungen nicht entsprochen hat, finden wir sehr schade. Wir sind jederzeit daran interessiert, uns den Wünschen unserer Gäste anzupassen. Nur mit Hilfe von konkreten Verbesserungsvorschlägen, können wir reagieren und auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Gäste eingehen. Für Ihre Bewertung sagen wir nochmals Danke.

Ihr Ramada Hotel Bären Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
28
79
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel from 4th to 9th September 2011. Part of an Alfa Travel coach holiday.
From Reception onwards I found everyone friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfasts and dinners were excellent, plentiful and with a wide choice of well presented dishes. Room was quite large (I had a twin room as a single) kept immaculately clean and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Although a little way out of town there is a bus leaving the end of the road and returning from the town centre every hour. The buses have a clear visual display showing the next stop so easy to get off at the right place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dewskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a quiet location, ideally placed for the sights of Goslar and the rest of the Hartz region. The room was very nice, good sized bathroo, spacious south facing balcony, clean and well maintained. The food was largely very good, even though the dining room could be a bit too busy at times. The breakfast buffet was very impressive. Some of the diningroom staff seemed unable to cope with volume of guests or simple reguests at other times. One young waiter, however was outstanding. iI would say this is a lovely hotel for families, and there were many there, with many children. Do not choose this if you prefer a more mature atmosphere. The small swimming pool was overcrowded with children, and there wete much playing of football outside. So if this is not your thing, do not go there. There was also a very strange waiter/bartender who was bordering on being very RUDE at times, he would keep customers waiting at the bar with no one else there for almost 15 mins while studiously ignoring them by doing a variety of other tasks. So, nice hotel, but the overall impression ruined by the finishing touches. 4 star, I am not so sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waxwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I organised a trip to Goslar for our Club using Greatdays Travel as my booking agents. This was a good choice as far as my group was concerned, clean comfortable rooms, good, plentiful and wide variety of buffet style food, even though the restaurant was very busy, easy access and coach parking. No complaints from any of my group and great staff particularly reception who were excellent. Bus numbers have changed from an earlier review, you now need the 801 to town centre and the 802 coming back, (if you go to Rammelsberg Mine the 803) if you travel in groups of five then the ticket price is good value at less than 2 euros for a day ticket.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScrumpyJackBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Looks small from the outside but can get easily lost going to the room. Soon get around though. Friendly staff and very good service at meal times from waiting staff serving drinks. Buffet meals with lots of variety and hot meals kept topped up by the chefs. Went with Shearings coaches for this trip and had a super driver called George who really helped us settle in. Would definetly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linjHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at the Ramada Hotel Baren for four nights after travelling with Shearings.

The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. We had a balcony and as the rooms do not have fridges, we used the balcony to keep our drinks cold.

The breakfast was good as was the evening meal with the exception of one evening. There is a salad bar if the meat selection is not to your taste.
The bar prices were reasonable.
The hotel is situated about a twenty minute walk from Goslar. During the day this is easy but at night if the weather is bad then a taxi may be a better option. A fellow guest paid 5 Euros going out and 9 Euros coming back. It is better to negotiate a price.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank keeno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Check in was quick considering size of party. The room we were in was on the ground floor adjacent to the reception lounge so very near all amenities
swimming pool & sauna and also dining & bar area.There was a patio door in the room leading into a garden which is ideal if you are a smoker. The room was a fair size & a the bathroom had good selection of toiletries ,the bed was very comfortable .The breakfast buffet was very good, fresh fruit ,yogurt plus the usual continental type also bacon,egg,sausage german style.Evening dinner was also excellent there was a menu board as you approach the dining room telling you what was on offer for that night jn german but when you come to serve yourself at the side it tells you in english what it is. .To get to the town centre go out the hotel turn right at the end of the road turn right take the bus 181 when coming back catch the182 bus.There is a small train in the centre of town showing the highlights of the town charges about 4 euro very good if it is raining.The area has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goslar hotels
0.7 mi away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
#12 of 36 in Goslar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alte Muenze
Hotel Alte Muenze
#1 of 36 in Goslar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
5.8 mi away
Hotel Njord
Hotel Njord
#1 of 7 in Hahnenklee-Bockswiese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schiefer Hotel
Schiefer Hotel
#5 of 36 in Goslar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Goslar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Goslar

Property: H+ Hotel Goslar
Address: Krugwiese 11a | 38640 Goslar, 38640, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Ramada Hotel Baeren Goslar)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goslar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Goslar 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goslar. Discover the town's cultural treasures and its surroundings on your own or one of our many professional guided tours. Start at the market square with the majestic town hall and Marktkirche and admire the beautifully restored half-timbered houses. A must-see for everyone is the Imperial Palace built during the reign of Henry III and the World Heritage Site of Rammelsberg. Our RAMADA Hotel Baren Goslar is ideally located for tours of Goslar town centre or the local area. We have 165 comfortably furnished rooms. 10 adjustable rooms for up to 350 people can be used for a wide range of events, meetings and conferences. Our team will happily assist you with organising your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your H+ Hotel Goslar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Goslar
Goslar Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing