We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get there early to avoid the crowds.”
Review of Zeppelin Museum

Zeppelin Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In Zeppelin Museum guests can discover around 1500 exhibits on 4000m² exhibition space. The museum houses the world's largest collection on the history and technology of aviation, a walkable model of the LZ 129 Hindenburg and an art collection that comprises the greatest masters from Southern Germany from the Middle Ages to the present.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get there early to avoid the crowds.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Plan to be the first visitors to the museum and climb into the zeppelin replica as soon as you arrive then wander through the other exhibits. Your tickets into the museum can be scanned to use the restrooms without a cost. Lockers are available to store your belongings while you're visiting; very handy for the big coats and bags. We didn't use the audio guide as much as we thought we would.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJG71229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    276
    88
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Interesting, but very crowded”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived late in the morning (about 11.00am) and wished that we had arrived earlier, as the crowds were horrendous. Close to the start of the exhibition there is an opportunity to climb up into a replica of a zeppelin, but the queue to do so was so long and snaking out of the room that we moved on instead, which was a pity as it may have been the most interesting part of the exhibition. There was some English language explanation, but I think that you really need to take the audio guide for this attraction if you want to get the most out of it. Also, arrive early!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugsbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History brought to life”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very well layed out Museum, with interactive things for the Kids. Much interest for Mums and Dads.
If you read German it will help but plenty of English translation or the Audio Guide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobnLisa6171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Frustrating for non-German Speakers”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We left feeling frustrated as it is obviously a very interesting museum (life size replica sections of the Hindenburg and history of the development of this technology), but we speak no German and were unable to make sense of most of the displays. There was no translation facilitated to any other language so from the beginning when we watched a German intro video to the exit, we muddled through the museum trying to join the dots. Would love to go back with a translator.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I didn't know about the Zeppelins and their history (aside from the crash of the Hindenburg) - this museum made me see there's a whole lot more to them. Interesting and unusual. Most of the exhibits are in German, but English-language materials help - and the photos and other objects are intelligible in any language. In the harbor area, easy to find and park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppelin Museum also viewed

Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zeppelin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing