We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant only!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Traube am See
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

after a long drive we arrived at Hotel Traube am See. Unfortunately fully booked but very friendly staff. I got to use the internet for free to find us a room in the area.

Next hotel with vacant space was 70 km away. We decided to take a break, which we spent eating at the Traube am See.

Restaurant Traube am See is a place, where you can have almost any kind of meal. There is a "cosy" area like a pub and an area looking like "fine dining". We went for the fine dining and realized the menu was the same all over :-) The restaurant offers a big selection of very different courses and a wide selection of wine "by the glass". We had starters: lobster soup /salat. Main: local wild hare in redwine sauce /Daily fish which was a cod with vegetables. Deserts: applepie with ice and cream /selection of ice.

We both had the versus red, south african wine. Total bill around 70 euros. All in all a decent meal served in a friendly atmosphere with very friendly staff. No stars - just good regional food. I would go there again any time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exploration-2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

This is review #4 out of 6 from a recent trip to Germany. Hotel budget $150 or less. Stayed here for a night in a room with air conditioning and computer hook up in the building across the sidestreet from the office (same one that the restaurant and pool are in ).
Good: air conditioning! (one of only 2 rooms we stayed at in Germany during this heat wave that had it!), restaurant (biggest breakfast buffet out of all the places we stayed), dinner (exquisite food and service), could hook up our laptop in the room to get email (no wifi required), spas in the wellness area, large room, coupons for free drinks, helpful front desk, free parking in a garage.
Not so good: again had to deal with stairs just to get to the lift. When you parked your car, you could not access the hallway/tunnel underground to get to the other building but instead have to drag luggage across the cobblestone and up stairs to get to a lift, no signage to tell you where wellness area is, couldn't use the swimming pool because of unruly children.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Recently had a business trip to Friedrichshafen and this hotel was recommended by our hosts. It turns out that this was an inspired choice. The hotel was well positioned for our visit and was located on two sides of the street. The clever twist is that they had a well decorated tunnel joining the two halves. This also served to house the Sauna room and access to the swimming pool. This was of a good size and had some great features. We eat in the hotel restaurant which was competitively priced. I'd recommend this hotel for business and pleasure and at around £75 a night it's great value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireYanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

IIfound this hoitel excellent: very good breakfast, good rooms (for being german :D) and very good service. They even brought me to work with hotel byus with no more money... nice place to stay and very interesting services (little swimming pool, sauna, turk bath, ...). Ideal for families and old people, as well as business travwelers as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Palladius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

We are the Horn family and have stayed at the Traube intermittently for the last 20 years and know the family Felix well. They are the consumate hosts and always made us feel as though we were more then welcome. Mr. Felix was the Head Chef in the past times an prepared some of the finest meals we have ever had anywhere. His son-in-law now has those duties but the quality has remained. It was always such a pleasure to see Frau Felix in the breakfast room each morning overseeing what is the finest frustuck (breakfast) in Germany. We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary at the Traube and it was a memorable event. We hope to return for our 50th in 2 more years.
The Traube am See and the Family Felix are most certainly recommended by the Family Horn, Peter & Darlene.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Warthog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir waren in einer Familiensuite, hervorragend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4kinder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
304 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
#6 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
189 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Knoblauch
Hotel Knoblauch
#7 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
104 reviews
3.2 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube am See

Address: Meersburger Str. 11, 88048 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#3 Luxury Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#3 Spa Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#5 Business Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range: $163 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Traube am See 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated hotel situated only 150m from the lakeshore. The hotel offers excellent dining option in a nice restaurant as well as an extensive Spa area with more than 900sqm including indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and treatment rooms. All rates always include the use of spa area, parking, highspeed internet access and a full breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Traube am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Am See Friedrichshafen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing