We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky for 20th century”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funky for 20th century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great boutique(y) hotel, but as others have noted, while they don't charge separately for air, electricity or heating, they do charge (2 euro / hour) for internet. What are they thinking? As others have noted the staff are young funky and seriously competent, asking for money for internet must seem silly to them. To be fair, there is a free machine in the first floor foyer, but the German keyboard provides an interesting level of difficulty for non-Germans. Seems silly when there is a room full of familiar devices back in the room. C'mon folks - get with the main game!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza_Deluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    117
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
93
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I recently traveled to Friedrichshafen to go flying in a Zeppelin, and chose this hotel as a base of operations. It ie an easy walk from downtown, well appointed and staffed by an outstanding group of young people who are personable, professional and knowledgeable. It is a busy hotel and clearly has cornered the market on bus tours - but despite this we had a great experience. It has a lovely breakfast buffet, good coffee a small but good restaurant and staff who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms were well appointed, though the AC was a little underpowered - it has reliable wifi (for a charge) and is directly across from both the post office and the park which is on the law.

Room Tip: Verify that the AC is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Forget that hotel if you go there for your work and you need internet ! It is really expensive and I was not even able to make simple things like a google search,it seemed to be already too much for the connection ! The breakfast may be great with a tea but unfortunately, during the 20 min I spent eating my breakfast, no one asked what I wanted to drink and there was no possibility of having a cup of tea from the buffet ! If you go there for your holidays and have time for breakfast, it may be a good option: quite a big room, next to the main train station (not always for the view... i had the "bin view"). You can walk to the Zeppelin museum and enjoy a walk along the lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroreborealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had two rooms booked here, one for approx EUR 170 that was facing the lake and the other was a single room for EUR 140. The single room ended up being in the attic with a low ceiling, a small window that you had to be 6'6 to see through, and with no elevator access from the 4th to 5th floor.
The lake view room was nice with an attempt to be a modern design but certainly a great view of the lake. The balcony is however, practically on top of the main street below.
Minibar was reasonably priced, breakfast was included and had a lot of choice but very crowded and there were lines each time the scrambled eggs or boiled eggs got refilled. Parking was cheap at 6 EUR for the night. Decent walk to the part of the waterfront that has a lot of restaurants - step out onto the lake and start walking left for that area. The hotel is literally at the train station and there seems to be tour bus parking directly in front of the hotel.
There is a toy store in the next block that is well worth visiting if you have a kid. Huge selection and a special area downstairs with lots of model trains etc.
The town itself ended up being nothing special. We had a nice meal at Bangkok am See but weren't able to rent boats. Even though it was a holiday weekend at the end of May in Germany the boat booths were closed.
We checked in quite late in the evening but they weren't able to offer us a checkout beyond 12pm.
The main street outside the hotel can get very busy as we found out the next morning, trying to head out toward Meersburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AksNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Air conditioning not working. Unseasonably warm for March, 17 deg, room facing sun and bus/ train terminal. Ask for assistance and was told that I should open the window! Considering I'm on the second floor facing the busy terminal.Obviously not concerned for guest comfort or tranquility .Wont recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week (17th-24th Nov) and it was excellent. Although the weather wasn't particularly good the area is lovely with great walks along the waterfront. The rooms were very spacious and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at a busy time in September when there was a wine festival on in the vicinity. It was a last resort as it was about 8pm and most places were booked.
The hotel seems to be quite new. Reception was good and efficient, but the restaurant was alongside reception and there did not seem to be a distinct boundary between them.
The room was very clean as you would expect from a new hotel, but the windows were at a height of about 6 feet from the floor so there was no view. There was a balcony but it overlooked houses behind so that is probably why the windows were high. It made the room very dismal.
Restaurant meal was fine and good selection for breakfast.
There is a roof terrace which has a good view of the lake.
Wifi connection was very good and parking in underground garage with lift access to rooms also good.

Room Tip: If I went back I would definitely ask for a room on the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buchhorner Hof
Buchhorner Hof
#10 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad
BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad
#19 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Friedrichshafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Friedrichshafen

Property: Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#5 Spa Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Friedrichshafen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seehotel Friedrichshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Friedrichshafen Hotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Hotel Friedrichshafen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing