We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart modern hotel in Friedrichshafen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smart modern hotel in Friedrichshafen”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a large hotel close to the railway station in Friedrichshafen.

The rooms are large, spotless and with great bathrooms. The food in the evening was excellent and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. Staff were warm and friendly.

The only reservation is that the hotel is new and has yet to develop its own character; once inside you could be in any 4 star hotel in any major European City.

But if you are after a comfortable modern hotel with good food then this ticks all your boxes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    117
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
93
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - right next to the station and only a few minutes walk from the water's edge! I had asked for a high room and was given one on the 5th floor - WOW what a view, and when we got onto the roof terrace it was even better.
The only thing I would say about the rooms are that they would benefit from a fridge and/or tea and coffee making facilities.
Our air conditioning wasn't working properly, and it was 32 degrees when we stayed, and the maintenance staff couldn't mend it. We were offered a move but thought we'd stay as you don't spend that much time in the room - the manager gave us a couple of free drinks (which was rather nice of him) and the staff ensured we had a large fan.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but can say that the breakfast was excellent - a large choice of cereals, meats and cheeses, cooked sausage and eggs and danish pastries. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which was very comfortable and reasonably priced.
The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful.
If I am ever in Friedrichshafen again I'd be looking to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have great views but you'll have to climb a flight of stairs as the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Seehotel is located perfectly in the city and offers very spacious rooms. Food is local and nice, but nothing special. The staff is very friendly. parking available. easy to walk to all places nearby, i.e. the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived by train from Munich, two nerdy, unenlightened Americans in town to visit the amazing Zeppelin Museum of Friedrichshafen, Germany. As we lugged our bags up the stairs from the train station we wondered how far we would have to lug them to the SeeHotel. Well, take about 25 steps and you are walking in their lobby door! No taxi needed to get there. That was great news and a perfect start to our visit. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful to us during our entire stay. Our room was fabulous -- on the 5th (top) floor. The elevator only goes to the 4th floor and then one does have to climb a floating staircase up to the 5th floor. It wasn't an issue for us, but might be a concern if you travel with kids and have a lot of luggage -- or if you have issue with using the stairs. Our room was across the hall from the hotel spa (sauna, steam bath and tanning bed in a relaxing solarium atmosphere) and the spiral staircase to the rooftop patio. We were visiting in early April so the rooftop patio was bare. Still, it was a fabulous vantage point for photos and sea views. Our large room was perfect! Very Ikea- like with simple, modern furnishings and simple platform bed. We liked that the "king bed" was actually two twin mattresses next to each other on the king platform frame. I'm not sure why it was like that, but all the hotels we stayed with in Germany and Switzerland seem to do it. Since we were both still tossing and turning from jet-lag the separate mattresses helped the person that finally fell asleep -- stay asleep. It was also nice to have our own twin duvet comforters. (We actually do this in our own home. No twin beds, but we share a king and each have our own twin duvets. No more tugging the covers off of each other! Don't laugh... sleep is important! We highly suggest it.) The SeeHotel offers a wonderful breakfast buffet. It was included in the price of our room and they are very serious about giving you a great start to your day. Classic German breakfast fare like eggs, sausages, cheeses, cured meats, fish, juices, fresh fruit, Cereals, yogurts, delicious breads -- and a large thermal carafe of coffee on your table ( tea and hot chocolate were available, too). Oh... just writing this review makes me want to go back and visit Friedrichshafen again. Besides the SeeHotel being on the main square near the train station, it's also across the street from the lovely park on the Bodensee -- which can be strolled up and down the coast. We were there on Easter Monday (also the first day the sun had shone in over 22 days) and Friedrichshafen was hopping with people on holiday strolling the boardwalk and parks, dining in cafes, feeding the swans, watching the ravens and enjoying the sunshine and sea breezes. Yeah, April is chilly -- but the weather reminded us of our hometown, Cleveland, Ohio -- so we're used to it. So, all in all, great little town and great hotel experience in Friedrichshafen.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the rooms on the 5th (top floor) are only accessible by a stairway from the 4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghaifanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The SEEHotel is an excellent business hotel. Directly adjacent to main rail station and within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and bars in the area. The rooms are large (by German standards) with plenty of power outlets. The WiFi is solid good; although it did not have sufficient bandwidth to run internet meetings from the room.

The hotel also has an underground parking garage as well as a small parking lot in the back of the hotel. As most nearly everyone has stated before, the staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of upper floors away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arizona_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were suprised at the simplicity of this room and was suprised that it was ranked 4 stars. We had a larger than normal room that faced the parking lot. We were told that we would have covered parking at the reception desk upon checking in but there were no spots available and had to park outside. We almost had a fender bender in the garage when another car realized there were no spaces and practically backed into us. No hotel guide book, guess everything was accessible on tv which was hard to navigate. Even newspapers were able to be read online, had difficulty with that function. Excellent view of the lake from the top floor have to walk up the last fight of stairs and go through a room. The phone was dated and most of the walls were bare. Breakfast was simple, however the juice from the machine was warm and the coffee from the machine was cold. I told the staff and they said they knew about the problem.The kids did like the rubber duckies passed out when we checked out. It was a nice location to the sites, be sure to ask for a travel map. It was a short walk to the promonade and about 10 minutes or so to the Zepplin Museum. We enjoyed the town. We were expecting a higher quality of hotel since we paid much more than usual for a room. They strongly discouraged openning windows due to bugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navygal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel was average, rooms tidy and spacious, but nothing exceptional. Breakfast was nice and the staff very friendly. Very small outside parking space. It is next to the main train station, so it might be a bit busy on weekends, but there were absolutely no disturbance of it. I nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaisuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buchhorner Hof
Buchhorner Hof
#10 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad
BEST WESTERN Hotel Goldenes Rad
#19 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Friedrichshafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Friedrichshafen

Property: Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#5 Luxury Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Friedrichshafen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seehotel Friedrichshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Friedrichshafen Hotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Hotel Friedrichshafen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing