We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great difference between "formal" and "feeling" side...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for our discovering of Bodensee area but could not tell you that it was a perfect choice. The hotel is really dated. It still got 4 stars but do not put your attention to it. From one side it is not the real village Gasthouse without any stars (there are a lot of them in the south of Germany and Austria) where you do not need to put your attention to facilities but just feel the atmosphere of the countryside and from another side it is not the normal 4* city hotel with all facilities.
Looking from the “formal side”: room is big with a lot of light and two windows. Bathroom is big with two washbasins and window.
Looking from the “feeling side”: room looks really dated and cold because of colors. Carpet on the floor looks not really clean (but I must be fair - is clean at the same time). Bathroom interior and design comes from seventies and you clearly see it (at the same time everything is working properly – German quality).
Breakfast is normal. It is not bad, it is not good, just normal. Coffee quality is really poor. Staff is also normal, enough friendly but not really welcoming. The only one lady was absolutely 100% perfect at the reception at our arrival date (my fault not to remember her name to present here).
Hotel got restaurant in the building which got a Michelin guided label on the door (have not visited it because of price reason: for 22.5 EUR for Wiener Schnitzel I would travel to next village to have it more than twice cheaper).
No air-conditioning in the room even if it is declared on Booking.com web page of this hotel. Parking space is not enough and sometimes it is rather tricky to park the car especially if you are driving some bigger minivan or SUV.
All in all, if I decide to come back to Bodensee, I would consider another hotel and not in Friedrichshafen but let us say in Meersburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Maier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived late-ish after a long day on the bikes having spent the Friday, Saturday & Sunday morning in Garmisch Partenkirchen helping BMW Motorrad celebrate their 90th, this Family run hotels staff were polite & friendly and spoke English which made it easy for some of the group, the AirCon was a welcome sight after seeing 30 degrees, all the rooms we had were comfortable and pleasantly turned out, our advice is get one at the back, the traffic noise during the week starts early especially if you're a light sleeper otherwise the double glazing does its job.The lake is only 5 mins away across the road, the centre of Friedrichshafen is 10 mins away in a taxi, the hotel is actually in the suburb of Fischbach. Parking at the front of the building for Motorcycles was interesting with it being on a slight incline. Breakfast was the usual continental affair, the morning we were there a bus trip got to it just before we did but the staff on duty replenished it quick enough. Other than the recommendation would we use this hotel again, Yes would be the answer.

Room Tip: At the back if you're staying midweek.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadwerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik F, Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you for your visit in our small family-run hotel. We value a lot your detailed description of our attentive staff and your recommenedation.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm greeting from beautiful Lake Constance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived by chance on our motorbike and did not know what to expect. We just do not know where we will be each night. We were glad we stopped at this hotel and rest assured this is a really good hotel. I love family run hotels for their personal touch and variety offered against a large chain hotel.

It is situated just off and by the main road, however this did not disturb us at all. The hotel is not in a town so don't expect to walk for a drink or stroll. I would say this is a great base to explore the surrounding area. It is also close enough to the lake. The owner showed me a place to parked my bike under cover as a bad storm was expected. When it did arrived thank God we were not on it...it was bad! Our room was comfy and spotless with a cool modern style which I like. The bathroom was great...sparkling clean with a great shower. Internet was in the room and no charge.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good indeed as the owner is the very competent chef. Breakfast (buffet of course!) was excellent and had all you could need with a great selection. The Spa area is worth a visit as is the roof area for relaxing.

We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very centrally located if you make a road trip around Bodensee, cosy and clean rooms (we stayed in single rooms), comfortable beds, rich breakfast, friendly hosts, silent neighborhood, free wi-fi. Pleased with our stay and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLoveBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed here last for the Friedrichshafen Aero Expo. Friend booked it, so had no idea what it would be like, but we really did land on our feet. Small hotel, very friendly staff, clean with nice touches about the place. Food in the restuarant was really very goo indeed and with a good atmosphere. Comfortable bed, and good shower. Couldn't have asked for much more. A very good find.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshallized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Spent 4 lovely days seeing the sights around Lake Constance based in a wonderful 4 star family run hotel - Maier in Fischbach which is only a short bus ride from Friedrichshafen. Train straight from airport (Ryanair flights) into Friedrichshafen then local bus only five minutes to the suburb. (One ticket for 1 EU 70 covers the train and the bus for the entire journey. ) The special rate package for seniors (off peak) included 4 nights B&B, a fruit platter in room, one Swabian menu, one 5 course gastronomic meal, 2 regular 3 course dinners, a full body massage and use of sauna, steambath, solarium. Relaxing lounge area and outside winter garden if weather is good. The food was absolutely delicious, accommodation in big, modern rooms spotlessly clean and soundproofed from the passing traffic on the main road. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke English. Lots of great places to visit by bus, train or using the lake ferries - Meersburg, Lindau, Mainau Island, Konstanz, Schaffheussen and the Rhine Falls, Bregenz (Austria) to name but a few. Heaven for walkers, bikers or with a car or public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank silvertraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emmadotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
190 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#4 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traube am See
Hotel Traube am See
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
393 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buchhorner Hof
Buchhorner Hof
#10 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Maier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Maier

Address: Poststr. 1-3, 88048 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range: $104 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Maier 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL-RESTAURANT MAIER!We are pleased to present our charming family hotel to you. The Hotel-Restaurant Maier is located in Fischbach, in the immediate vicinity of Friedrichshafen at Lake Constance.The hotel is ideal for relaxation and for holidaymakers - but due to its proximity to the exhibition for business travelers, too. It si characterized by the attractive 49 guest rooms, the attentive and personal service of the host family and, last but not least, excellent regional and seasonal dishes in our Swabian restaurant. Families will appreciate the excellent support and our own recreation yard, to short breakers and groups, we offer a variety of advantageous packages all year-round.HOLIDAY ON LAKE CONSTANCEEven sports enthusiasts get their money: the lake is only 300 meters away and it will take less than five minutes to enjoy the outdoor pool and the popular natural beach. Or you discover the attractive countryside with magnificent views of the "Bodensee" and enjoy the Alpine panorama. Many attractions are within easy reach.We are looking forward to your visit, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Maier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing