We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in Germany”
Review of Hotel City Krone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Krone
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite Hotel in Germany”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was by far my favourite hotel in Germany. It was very clean, well kept and located only a few steps from the main strip on Lake Constance. The service was very good and the breakfast. They also had a sauna in the hotel. Would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    154
    37
    13
    3
See reviews for
59
142
23
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel with lovely public areas, particularly the sun terrace and garden. The bedroom has modern furnishing and all the facilities one would expect, the bathroom is spacious with good lighting and a hot and powerful shower. Everything spotlessly clean. (My only gripe is that shower gel was in a bottle attached to the wall.)

The staff were welcoming, efficient and very helpful. The location ideal, close to the train station and ferry, the promenade and Zeppelin Museum.

The breakfast room is bright, clean and modern and the waiting staff very cheerful. Breakfast is superb, it is impossible to do it justice. The highlights on the two days we were there were: fresh figs, real Burcher muesli, smoked salmon, blinis, redcurrant cheese cake. Basically there is a wide selection of fresh and tinned fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, cooked meats, bread, rolls, croissants, Danish pastries, cakes, jams as well as some hot items like scrambled eggs and bacon. Everything is of the highest quality and very fresh. I have never seen such a sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We only stayed overnight but the hotel was clean, with a spacious room which had all the usual good facilities.
Disappointed to find the restaurant was not open in the evenings .
Breakfast was buffet and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a group of 4 couples, and formed a different opinion from the previous reviewers. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a reasonable size and the breakfast was excellent. We had no problem with noise, perhaps because our rooms were located away from the bar (which wasn't busy, despite the InterBoot event).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faverolles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I spent one night there on business. Reception staff unfriendly at check-in and check-out. Rest of staff also unfriendly. Superior rooms are very small with two beds arranged cross-wise. Bathrooms tiny. at Euro 149 totally overpriced. Breakfast sub-standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjacobs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel is like a really clean Super 8 from the 70's with a better bed. All in all, fine, as far as a place to sleep is concerned - unless you wind up in room 115 or nearby. There is no a/c, so you will want the windows open on a warm evening. But the hotel bar serves outside until midnight. After a long day of travel, having people partying literally 3 meters from your window until midnight is AWFUL. Even after calling at 11 to say it was too loud I was told simply that they close at midnight, so I got to suffer with it another hour - and then call again, because at midnight they had all just ordered fresh drinks.

Another issue is that, although we reserved a separate room for our kids (9 and 11), they were placed on a different floor, far away. Why do that when you have three months' notice that a family is coming? As a result of this, I can't recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinneyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

the place is one of teh oldest in the city... but is also teh newest in terms of decor and look and feel...the best part of the hotel is its location- right in the center of the downtown ...what i did not like is the size of the rooms.. really really small...and if you happen to get a single bed...you probably will have to open your luggage in the hallway...

Room Tip: take a dbl bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZapZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#4 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Goldenes Rad
Best Western Hotel Goldenes Rad
#22 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buchhorner Hof
Buchhorner Hof
#10 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Krone

Property: Hotel City Krone
Address: Schanzstr. 7, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#1 Spa Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#2 Business Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Krone 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Krone Hotel
City Krone Friedrichshafen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing