We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oberstaufen Visit”
Review of Hotel Ludwig Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ludwig Royal
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for a weekend and had a phenomenal time. Good food and enjoyable golf...

The hotel's exterior somewhat belies the comfortable inside as well as the size of the hotel and all of its facilities.

Special tip: get the hotel to give you directions to the Enzianhütte, which is quite famous on Oberstaufen!

Have fun...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lönig Ludwig Suite, which was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBraun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yes, nice lady manager, nice massages, nice room*, very nice indoor pool and very,very nice breakfast buffet; the receptionist, the view, finding your way around = so-so. Wellness Package and dinners overpriced.
* If travelling as a couple be sure to use the bathroom before your partner wants to take a shower because both of you will not fit into the tiny closet-size bathroom. Perhaps a sliding door would help the layout. Otherwise the building's interior design and its features are quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahrvergnuegte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were there for a spa and wellness weekend. Despite the fact that it names itself a "spa hotel" the sauna didn't open til 2pm so that on the last day (Sunday) we were not able to use any of the spa facilities interesting to us. The food is mediocre and the wine's overpriced. The rooms are decorated in so many unmatching colors that it gives you a headache: the curtains are not matching the carpet, which doesn't match the bed spread and so on. The bathroom smelled of mold and the door is not sound proof at all: we could hear all conversation going on in the hallway. There were quite a few very noisy kids, so if you like calm and quiet don't go there.
The only positive comment goes to the ladies running the wellness section: the massages and treatment were done in a very professional and pleasant way.
Will not go back and will not recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The room we were in is average: view on the rear garden and the summer outdoor pool as well as neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007babilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our third stay in this hotel and every time it has been a real delight!
Hotel staff was always attentive, especially the manageress. Excellent food in the restaurant and a very nice breakfast buffet attributed to the feelgood factor, WE were really pleased as well with room e were given (Wellness sweet 81). WE surely will be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I went there for 1 night and we chose the superior room.
We had booked wellness and it was in a beautifull surroundings the basement after that we enjoyed time at the indoor pool. Very relaxing and pleasant.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was locally inspired and tasted wonderfull. The Red wine was great.

The hotel manager welcomed us at the dinner and made us feel very welcome, she also said goodbye next morning.

The beds was great and we both slept like "babies".

Overall a beautifull hotel in beautifull sorroundings and I give them my warmest recommendations.

Thank and auf wiedersehen from Scandinavia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am an American and can only say this hotel
Rivals the Ritz Carlton Hotels in the U.S. with regard
to service. The Director of this
Hotel is charming and has trained her staff exquisitly.
This is a World class hotel with a fabulous restaurant and food.
Don't wait - book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toyotajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

by mistake we booked this hotel but had a very nice stay. Reception speaks english and is very helpful. Hotel is clean and has all amenities. rooms are spacious and quite clean. bed is good. Hotel pool spa is very nice and large. quite clean. too bad the sauna facilities didn't open till very late in the day (we couldn't use them.) restaurant is OK, dinner was average and breakfast was quite good. I give it average normally but because of the above average pool facilities a very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nix34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberstaufen hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Allgau Sonne
Hotel Allgau Sonne
#6 of 40 in Oberstaufen
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
#5 of 40 in Oberstaufen
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
#1 of 40 in Oberstaufen
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Kur- & Sporthotel
2.8 mi away
Dein Engel
Dein Engel
#17 of 40 in Oberstaufen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludwig Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwig Royal

Address: Im Dorf 29 | Steibis, 87534 Oberstaufen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel König Ludwig)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstaufen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Price Range: $172 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ludwig Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the warm season the ideal Golf and Wellness Hotel with its own tennis court. In Winter situated directly on the cross-country skiing track and for alpine skiers the first lift is just opposite. Lots of hotels advertise Golf but here you find a "real" founder golf hotel with less than a par 5 to the first tee-off. The Spa and Wellness oasis in Toskana style is completely new and lavishly planned. To radiate tradition and be modernly spoilt: welcome to the first hotel here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ludwig Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing