We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spa hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ludwig Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ludwig Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
“great spa hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our third stay in this hotel and every time it has been a real delight!
Hotel staff was always attentive, especially the manageress. Excellent food in the restaurant and a very nice breakfast buffet attributed to the feelgood factor, WE were really pleased as well with room e were given (Wellness sweet 81). WE surely will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    78
    26
    18
    4
See reviews for
40
200
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I went there for 1 night and we chose the superior room.
We had booked wellness and it was in a beautifull surroundings the basement after that we enjoyed time at the indoor pool. Very relaxing and pleasant.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was locally inspired and tasted wonderfull. The Red wine was great.

The hotel manager welcomed us at the dinner and made us feel very welcome, she also said goodbye next morning.

The beds was great and we both slept like "babies".

Overall a beautifull hotel in beautifull sorroundings and I give them my warmest recommendations.

Thank and auf wiedersehen from Scandinavia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am an American and can only say this hotel
Rivals the Ritz Carlton Hotels in the U.S. with regard
to service. The Director of this
Hotel is charming and has trained her staff exquisitly.
This is a World class hotel with a fabulous restaurant and food.
Don't wait - book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyotajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

by mistake we booked this hotel but had a very nice stay. Reception speaks english and is very helpful. Hotel is clean and has all amenities. rooms are spacious and quite clean. bed is good. Hotel pool spa is very nice and large. quite clean. too bad the sauna facilities didn't open till very late in the day (we couldn't use them.) restaurant is OK, dinner was average and breakfast was quite good. I give it average normally but because of the above average pool facilities a very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nix34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2005

Himmel auf Steibis is a lovely hotel located in the small ski village of Steibis, above Oberstaufen, in the Allgäu section of Germany. The landscape is stunning and well suited for walking/hiking, with a large number of huts serving food within easy reach. Since we were there before the ski season, I can't speak much to the ski opportunities, other than to say that it looks somewhat small and old-fashioned. The village of Steibis is small without much in the way of activities, but Oberstaufen is only ten minutes away by car and offers all one could want. The food was good. The hotel has an excellent offering of wellness activities (massage, ayurveda, sauna, peeling, etc.). The room was comfortable and of a decent size (included a couch and coffee table). It was quite clean and well-kept, but was beginning to show its age, which one could say of the entire hotel. The staff were very friendly. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay, particularly for the price, which was very reasonable.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberstaufen hotels
2.7 mi away
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
#1 of 39 in Oberstaufen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Allgau Sonne
Hotel Allgau Sonne
#6 of 39 in Oberstaufen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
#5 of 39 in Oberstaufen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
#3 of 39 in Oberstaufen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Kur- & Sporthotel
2.8 mi away
Dein Engel
Dein Engel
#8 of 39 in Oberstaufen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludwig Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwig Royal

Property: Hotel Ludwig Royal
Address: Im Dorf 29 | Steibis, 87534 Oberstaufen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel König Ludwig)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstaufen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ludwig Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the warm season the ideal Golf and Wellness Hotel with its own tennis court. In Winter situated directly on the cross-country skiing track and for alpine skiers the first lift is just opposite. Lots of hotels advertise Golf but here you find a "real" founder golf hotel with less than a par 5 to the first tee-off. The Spa and Wellness oasis in Toskana style is completely new and lavishly planned. To radiate tradition and be modernly spoilt: welcome to the first hotel here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ludwig Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing