We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked through RCI. We had one bedroom and our two young boys stayed on a pullout couch in the main room. It was nice and clean but we main,y had their bed out so seating was a little challenging especially when other family from another room were with us visiting. The kitchen was a sink, microwave and refrigerator. Wifi available for purchase that works in the room.
We came a week where the weather was pretty rainy and cold so, while it was still pretty there, there was no skiing but it wasn't good weather for hiking either...sort of a bummer. So we took advantage of their pool. In another building they have an indoor heated pool. There is a huge hot tub which was really nice. They have a sauna room. You also get access to Aquaria which is a large indoor pool facility that is off the grounds of the facility. Both their on site pool and Aquaria had nice locker rooms so you could basically change (with privacy) lock it all up and head to the pool knowing your stuff was locked up. Hairdryers in the locker room at Mondi. The breakfast was 9 € and was buffet. We just did it once but it was excellent, just a little more than we wanted to spend everyday. Besides, that would have just been too much food! You can pre order items for delivery to your room (croissants etc) for reasonable rates. We just happened to be out and about enough to pick things up in town so we didn't try this. They were not full when we were there and were able to park easily every day. Staff were great and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this through RCI for the week of December 14. Upon arrival, given choice of 2 rooms--we chose the large studio for the 3 of us. Had a basic kitchen with stove, refrigerator; no oven. There was a little privacy between sleeping area and sitting area. Our son slept on sofa-couch; very uncomfortable. Had enough storage for clothes & suitcases. Bathroom was basic & small but we are used to only having 2 share instead of 3. Location is quiet; had a lot of snow before & during trip--a little remote. Most attractions/scenic areas people visit region for is approximately 1 to 2 hours away--Neuschwanstein, Munich, Lake Constanz, etc. TV was limited on choice, just 1 English channel (CNN/BBC news) but not the reason why 1 comes here. Internet was available for small fee--10 euros for 24 hours, but you could split the time up during the visit as long as you remembered to log out. Though we didn't partake, it seems as though its a good area for skiing, snow-boarding and the like, as we saw a number of people waiting for transportation w/ gear on.

For dining pleasure, I would highly recommend the Italian restaurant next to reception. The owners are from Rome and the food reminded us of our 3 years there. Food was great and reasonably priced, owners friendly with everyone, and atmosphere was good whether a couple or family. We ate there twice and had carry-out pizza one night (for a total of 3 meals). Would definitely recommend eating here.

Overall, the stay was good but one must visit with realistic expectations. A car is definitely necessary and if one wishes to do day trips further afield, it would probably be best to look elsewhere. However, if one is willing to travel the autobahn and see some of the country & if one wishes to partake in outdoor activities, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingYanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When I booked the room through RCI, it was a last minute decision. I called and talked to Steffi and she sold me on coming up to the resort. When I arrived the next day, Steffi and the whole crew made my family feel right at home. She gave us directions to the grocery store and place to go in town. The next day after our return from Austria, Sillie gave us some wonderful directions to a place to eat in town. It's called Globus and the food there is wonderful. Ask for Adriana to be your waitress! We are going on our 3rd day at the resort now and my son loves it. Unfortunately, tomorrow is Christmas Eve for the Europeans. So, there will not be too much to do for the next 2 days. Luckily, there is a lot of beautiful scenery to take plenty of pictures! We will be back!

Two things.. The rooms are European standard! Not big and spacious like in the U.S... But still nice.. And second, pay the 20 Euro for the wireless internet service.. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Resort is quite big and busy. It has all kind of visitor from all over the world. It is quite popular with families as the kid's facilities are good. As it is not that high altitude, it was raining in December such that skiing was not a good option. The receptionists are not very friendly and it is quite a mess with the pass they give you for free liftrides etc.
The distance is a good 15-20 minutes walk to the nice and touristy village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just stayed here for 5 nights in one of their apartments. The facility & rooms are a little outdated but very clean & comfortable. Our apartment was a little cramped but just fine for the 2 of us. All the receptionists could speak English & were super helpful w/ everything. The hotel is very close to Oberstaufen & the whole area is gorgeous. Green & lush evdrywhere. We did get quite a bit of rain, that's probably common for the fall?
The little town is quite charming w/ little shops, restaurants, a bakery.

Room Tip: Having a view of the mountains is a must. I dont think there are many rooms w a bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirheadAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urlaubssammler, Manager at Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Airhead Adventures,
thank you for your friendly comment.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a fine time here at our resort and at Oberstaufen.
We do not have special times for rain - all over the year a few rainy days are normal. That's why our region is so green :-)

Hope to see you again sometimes and wish you a goot time!

Sunny regards from the Allgäu

U. Christmann-Back and the whole team of MONDI-HOLIDAY HOTEL Oberstaufen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our second stay at a Mondi Holliday-the first was some years ago in Grunldsee, Austria when we were very satisfied.
This time the apartment (one bdr) was nicely furnished but kitchen space was minimum and lacking some appliances like an oven and a toaster, for instance.
The apartment was located in the far end of the complex and far from reception, restaurant, spa, pool and sauna and with POOR or NO internet access (paid for).
From several daily tours offered we chose the Glacier Express that took us to Austria and Switzerland
for a full day; the local tour operator, Stefan, was a perfect guide and driver and made our day a special one with his professionalism, politeness and adequate information during the trip.The excellent staff at the hotel is also to be praised for and was tested in many occasions handling situations that involved many young kids that were always needing their attention and vigilance.Parking represents a problem if you are a senior citizen or have any physical limitation because there is no space near the apartments and you are forced to park far from where you stay and climb many steps to reach your apartment.The nice village of Oberstaufen nearby (a car is stongly advised) deserves many visits because of the many restaurants, bars and shops to be visited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good view but not in the last two bldgs up the hill - internet is non existent t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yagoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mondi Fereinclub Oberstauffen is very well run. The resort is well situated for visiting the Bavarian Alp region - particularly if you have a car (although I did meet guests from Tasmania who were using a Eurail pass very effectively). The reception staff speak English well, and are very helpful. We had a single bedroom unit with a balcony and a lovely view of the mountains. Very clean and well maintained, but, as with its sister property in Grundlsee, Austria, the small kitchenette had only a top plate and no microwave. Still, this did not detract in any way from the fact that this is a great place to stay. Parking for cars is away from the buildings at the bottom of the hill, so expect a walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberstaufen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Kur- & Sporthotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allgau Sonne
Hotel Allgau Sonne
#6 of 40 in Oberstaufen
118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
#2 of 40 in Oberstaufen
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
Koenigshof Hotel Resort
#5 of 40 in Oberstaufen
159 reviews
1 mi away
Concordia Wellness & SPA Hotel
Concordia Wellness & SPA Hotel
#11 of 40 in Oberstaufen
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
#4 of 40 in Oberstaufen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen

Address: Malas 8-16, 87534 Oberstaufen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstaufen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Oberstaufen
Price Range: $130 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONDI-HOLIDAY HOTEL Oberstaufen is situated on a southern slope of Oberstaufen in the beautiful countryside of the pre-Alps. The centre of this famous "Schroth" spa resort is just 800m away. The hotel complex consisits of 10 attractive apartment houses furnished and decorated in the traditional alpine style. Holidaymakers can make the most of the great range of facilities and amenities available, amid intact natural surroundings. This includes a whole variety of fitness-, wellness and spa treatment offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Alpenblickhotel Oberstaufen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing