We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean reliable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Clean reliable hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a good quality hotel with modern bathrooms. I would recomend it to anyone. It is conveniently located to mas transit and the downtown area. They offer internet and a good Breakfast by German standards. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabberwalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    28
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room was large with rather date decor, but the bed was comfortable and our room at the back of the hotel was fairly quiet. WiFi, however, was painfully slow. Breakfast provided a good range of food and the breakfast room was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as they are quieter. The hotel faces onto a bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good for the price, Rooms are small and basic, but perfectly good. We had a all balcony with a good view. Good buffet breakfast with a nice terrace outside. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Tricky to find by car (it is in a one-way system near a bus terminus) but you get there eventually...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here while on a short break to Bamberg. The hotel is only 2 stars so we didn't have high expectations but were generally happy with what we got.

The room was a decent size although it was very outdated and needs renovation. You open the door and the bed is imemdiately in front of you (so if somebody was in the corridor they could see whoeever was in bed) and the sink was located in the bedroom. The bathroom was also old fashioned and again needs renovating.

The free wifi is good, and the quality was a bit hit and miss so streaming videos probably isn't possible but for basic surfing it is OK.

The location is excellent, just around the corner from the bus station and right in the city centre with plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping and culture very close.

The breakfast was very good. A very good range and excellent quality in a very nice breakfast room with outdoor seating area as well.

Overall for 2 stars we thought it was OK, although a little pricey this seems to be typical for Bamberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is well located we walked everywhere from the train station to the breweries. Breakfast was a nice spread the rooms were very basic for a hotel in this price range with cheap carpeting that gave it a musty sort of feel. They did have the radiator heat turned on something I did not find common in September in much of this area. I was glad to have it as it was cold. The weekend I spent in Bamberg was a evidently a popular one. When I went to make reservations a few weeks in advance very few rooms were available. Definitely few rooms at the below $200USD range. We ended up paying for a triple room at this hotel as it was the only one available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was found on a whim, after we were getting ripped off by the on-post hotel on Bamberg base. After visiting the hotel, I was completely surprised by the poor reviews of the hotel. The hotel rooms have gone under a complete reconstruction, as my experience is completely opposite of previous encounters by tripadvisors. The room was so brand new, you could actually smell it! The room appears tiny, but had enough room for our britax stroller without bumping into it or each other. The bed linens were crisp, the room clean, and we had a balcony. Ceilings were tall, and our favorite part was the shower...it was one of those rain like showers and was the best shower of our ten day Germany tour (including the moevenpick in berlin)- literally washed away the hard day of driving. Only complaint is if you shower for a long time (40min like my hubbie) the water will leak from the bathroom into the carpet...so maybe not a long shower! ;) There was an elevator to bring us to the third floor- but it was super tiny! Just barely big enough to fit us and stroller in it. Location fantastic--- 10min walk from the beautiful dome & another five to the castle. Complete gem of a city and of the hotel. Never written a review, but wanted to for this hotel, because it deserved a good one. The staff too were so friendly!! Absolutely recommend. Just stayed for one night, as we were on our way to berlin... And wished that we had stayed longer at this city and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Of the ten hotels we stayed at during our recent European trip, the Central was disappointing. The hotel is barely three star, old and its rooms are in need of renovation and far below all the other three star hotels we stayed in. Our room was basic with a tiny bathroom where movement was restricted. Breakfast was adequate but again well below the generous and attractive offerings of other hotels. The hotel is conveniently situated and the reception staff are very efficient and helpful but we would not stay there again as we did not think it represented value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Promenadestr. 3, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing