We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking, great breakfast, stunning view of castle at night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Hotel garni Altenburgblick has parking which is such a plus in Bamberg which is a walled medieval city. We drove around and around trying to find parking since we arrived so early, but could not find any. We decided to go to the hotel, and it was such a relief to park and walk. The hotel room was very clean. We enjoyed the balcony. The outside is a bit 1970's, but the inside decor of the room was new. The breakfast was truly excellent!!!!!!! The Bamberg New Residence Palace will do a free English tour if you e-mail them ahead of time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2008

We arrived in Bamberg without reservations and so a friendly guy at another hotel called the Hotel Altenbergblick and booked us 2 rooms there. When we arrived we were a bit apprehensive because the exterior of the hotel is kind of a '70's grey concrete apartment and we entered through their small back door from the parking area. The reception area was okay and their breakfast room was big, bright and airy so it being late and us being tired, we decided to stay. Their hallways could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting but once we got into our rooms they were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean (maybe recently renovated) but behind the crisp white sheers their window frames were old with peeling paint and the room safe must have been one of the first ones ever made.
It is located in the midst of a residential area about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the old town. We did have a nice view of the old castle on top of the hill. The breakfast buffet was quite nice. All in all after a good nights sleep I would say it was okay for our one night stay but the place could be improved with a bit of a reno.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toptraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This is an exremely friendly, modern, confortable hotel located on a hill above the city center of Bamberg. It sits amidst a very nice residential neighborhood about a 20 minutes "Spazieren" (scenic walk) from the city center, with part of the way being a pedestrian walkway that skirts the grounds of the Dom. The breakfast buffet offered excellent Bavarian fare, many of the items like preserves being home-made, and delicious dairy, grain, and wurst choices. Seating was available in a glass-enclosed room with garden views. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Parking is available free on-site.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auf Wiedersehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Comfort-Zimmer bietet ausreichend Platz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank detlefc554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CordlS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bitte nur inclusive. 3 Stock buchen, die Betten sind nur 1,50
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
1.2 mi away
Hotel National
Hotel National
#20 of 40 in Bamberg
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel garni Altenburgblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Address: Panzerleite 59, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel garni Altenburgblick 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel garni Altenburgblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing