We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clean and Tidy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Kent, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A Clean and Tidy Hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Altenbergblick was a good value for the money. I was very impressed with the remarkably high standards of cleanliness in our room and all public spaces. All hotel personnel were friendly and professional. On the otherhand, I was not as impressed with my bed which was extremely firm and the pillow which was small and minimally supportive. As noted by other reviewers, the hotel is a bit of a walk from the old town (but even then, it is only about a 10 minute walk), and it is almost on the far opposite side of the old town from the train station. Sited in a residential neighborhood, there is plenty of free parking off of the street. Free Internet service was offered and it was very fast. The breakfast was a standard gasthaus breakfast, not the rave breakfast some reviews have noted. Overall, this is a good choice for a person on a business trip, but it is not really a touristy hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
48
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Altenburgblick hotel doesn’t integrate with its surroundings very well. The building is rather ugly but really I shouldn't let the building's exterior stop you from staying her. It is a nice hotel (run by a family) and it’s not too far to the old centre of the historical town of Bamberg. It is in walking distance to the world heritage site “Altstadt”.
We stayed in a double room with a balcony and we had a nice view of the old castle of Bamberg (Altenburg). On a side note it is worth visiting the castle. My first impressions were “am I in the world of Harry Potter?”
Our room was standard but spacious, clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. The only annoying things were the squeaky and uncomfortable bed and the lack of coffee/ tea making facilities.
The bathroom was without basic amenities such as the standard shampoo and conditioner. There was only a liquid soap (three-in-one type) available which was not so great to wash your hair with. Ladies bring your own Shampoo.
The great thing is there is free parking and internet.
Breakfast was truly good. The food was fresh and plentiful and served in a nice room.
Not far away from the hotel is very nice restaurant, Greifenklau, which serves a Franconian kitchen speciality. We went there for dinner.
I recommend this hotel. It is good value for money. If we decide to visit Bamberg again we will choose to stay in this hotel again. On a side note: make sure you do some research before you arrive to Bamberg as all the tourist information in this hotel is in German. We found this (and the lack of coffee/ tea making facilities) to be the case with most German hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank komsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Ok this hotel is not designed in keeping with old town Bamburg but don't let that stop you from staying here. It is an excellent hotel with free parking just a shortish walk from the main part of town. Ticks all the boxes and some great art on the walls. Fantastic breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A pleasant 15 minute walk from the town centre. Very good value with excellent breakfast. Room was very comfortable and very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This offers excellent value for money to see this delightful world heritage site town.

Room Tip: If possible, a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is in a good location just a short enjoyable walk to the center of the old town . Our room had a great view of the castle from the balcony , basic but comfortable. . Plenty of parking was a bonus. the staff where friendly and helpful . they gave us umbrellas to use when it was pouring with rain. The breakfast was quite good with more than enough variety to satisfy.
only down side was supposed to have Wii Fii but it was not working for all of our stay.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a view and balcony if you do not get one ask for it on booking just makes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Altenburgblick is a modern style hotel on the edge of Bamberg. It has double rooms at the front, each with balconies with (as the name suggests) a good view up to the Altenburg, the Old Castle. You can see it from your room (if at the front).
The hotel itself can be a little tired in places (TV, shower, no Wifi in room) but has most things you need for a stay. For the rate, it is excellent value. 15-20 minutes walk up the road is the Altes Rathaus (and Schlenkerla). This distance is worth it if you either have a car (good parking at front and back of hotel) or if you just want a good night’s sleep. Up the hill to the side of the hotel is the Greifenklau, which brews its own beer and in Summer has an excellent beer garden.
Breakfast is extra but very well priced at only a few Euros. Quality is excellent.
I’ve stayed here 3 times now over the years. I will stay again soon & would recommend to anyone visiting Bamberg.

Room Tip: Single rooms are at the back & have no view of the Altenburg, but they are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Location is near enough to the city center without being in it. Great breakfast. Nice staff. Room didn't seem as nice as previous stays - smaller and less sparkly (but still clean nevertheless). Good beer in the minibar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
1.2 mi away
Hotel National
Hotel National
#21 of 40 in Bamberg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel garni Altenburgblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Property: Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Address: Panzerleite 59, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel garni Altenburgblick 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel garni Altenburgblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing