We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“It is a nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Altenburgblick hotel doesn’t integrate with its surroundings very well. The building is rather ugly but really I shouldn't let the building's exterior stop you from staying her. It is a nice hotel (run by a family) and it’s not too far to the old centre of the historical town of Bamberg. It is in walking distance to the world heritage site “Altstadt”.
We stayed in a double room with a balcony and we had a nice view of the old castle of Bamberg (Altenburg). On a side note it is worth visiting the castle. My first impressions were “am I in the world of Harry Potter?”
Our room was standard but spacious, clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. The only annoying things were the squeaky and uncomfortable bed and the lack of coffee/ tea making facilities.
The bathroom was without basic amenities such as the standard shampoo and conditioner. There was only a liquid soap (three-in-one type) available which was not so great to wash your hair with. Ladies bring your own Shampoo.
The great thing is there is free parking and internet.
Breakfast was truly good. The food was fresh and plentiful and served in a nice room.
Not far away from the hotel is very nice restaurant, Greifenklau, which serves a Franconian kitchen speciality. We went there for dinner.
I recommend this hotel. It is good value for money. If we decide to visit Bamberg again we will choose to stay in this hotel again. On a side note: make sure you do some research before you arrive to Bamberg as all the tourist information in this hotel is in German. We found this (and the lack of coffee/ tea making facilities) to be the case with most German hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank komsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Ok this hotel is not designed in keeping with old town Bamburg but don't let that stop you from staying here. It is an excellent hotel with free parking just a shortish walk from the main part of town. Ticks all the boxes and some great art on the walls. Fantastic breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A pleasant 15 minute walk from the town centre. Very good value with excellent breakfast. Room was very comfortable and very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This offers excellent value for money to see this delightful world heritage site town.

Room Tip: If possible, a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is in a good location just a short enjoyable walk to the center of the old town . Our room had a great view of the castle from the balcony , basic but comfortable. . Plenty of parking was a bonus. the staff where friendly and helpful . they gave us umbrellas to use when it was pouring with rain. The breakfast was quite good with more than enough variety to satisfy.
only down side was supposed to have Wii Fii but it was not working for all of our stay.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a view and balcony if you do not get one ask for it on booking just makes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Altenburgblick is a modern style hotel on the edge of Bamberg. It has double rooms at the front, each with balconies with (as the name suggests) a good view up to the Altenburg, the Old Castle. You can see it from your room (if at the front).
The hotel itself can be a little tired in places (TV, shower, no Wifi in room) but has most things you need for a stay. For the rate, it is excellent value. 15-20 minutes walk up the road is the Altes Rathaus (and Schlenkerla). This distance is worth it if you either have a car (good parking at front and back of hotel) or if you just want a good night’s sleep. Up the hill to the side of the hotel is the Greifenklau, which brews its own beer and in Summer has an excellent beer garden.
Breakfast is extra but very well priced at only a few Euros. Quality is excellent.
I’ve stayed here 3 times now over the years. I will stay again soon & would recommend to anyone visiting Bamberg.

Room Tip: Single rooms are at the back & have no view of the Altenburg, but they are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
222 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Location is near enough to the city center without being in it. Great breakfast. Nice staff. Room didn't seem as nice as previous stays - smaller and less sparkly (but still clean nevertheless). Good beer in the minibar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel was a bit hard to find by car and the exterior is a bit 70's look. But once past this impression things do improve. It is a family run hotel and this means hands on care. The room is standard and very very clean. Try to get a fortress view. It is worth it. The room is sufficent for an overnight stay. The free parking is a must in this city. The walk is downhill to the old town and yes, dear friends, its uphill coming home.
The staff are very efficient and the best thing that I liked was the breakfast. Nice wide and spacious. The food was all fresh and the light airy room, must be decorated by the wife of the owner.
Nothing flashy here, but it is great for bikers and older couples who want to be "in" yet out of the city.
Have a smoked beer and enjoy the sights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#16 of 41 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
#20 of 41 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel garni Altenburgblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel garni Altenburgblick

Property: Hotel garni Altenburgblick
Address: Panzerleite 59, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel garni Altenburgblick 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel garni Altenburgblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing