We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Weierich
Ranked #3 of 12 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location in Bamberg. Charming family run pension. Nice traditional decor. Very nice breakfast . Clean. And very cheap, especially if you can get a smaller room- 45Euros a night.,

Now that is a real bargain. 45 Euros to stay in the best location in the most beautfiul city in Europe.

Room Tip: Smaller double rooms are exceptionally good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyfrombucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    79
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
86
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When my parents came to visit me in Bamberg they stayed here because it is just around the corner from where I live. It is a lovely hotel which is very central and the owners are very friendly. Although I didn't stay in the room it looked nice and my parents said that it was comfortable and quiet. I was allowed to eat breakfast with my parents each day although I wasn't staying there! The breakfast was good with a wide choice of food which was local - the break coming from the baker opposite and the meat from the butcher next door. Although we didn't eat there they also have a restaurant attached to the premises which serves traditional Fränkisch food. All in all a lovely hotel which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaNutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments for two nights. Easy to find from the main hotel - uphill. Convenient bread shop close by.
apartment had two single beds, sofa, TV, dining table and chairs, small kitchen area with microwave, two ring electric hob and fridge. No kettle but pans provided for boiling water. Enough crockery and cutlery. Apartment was on first floor overlooking street. A fair bit of traffic noise but it was reasonably quiet during the night. Rather poor lighting but only a problem when reading. Very good value for money.
Stored our bikes in a small covered area by the rubbish bin. Secure enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbit-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We found this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor. It is located in old town near the river and close to all of the sights. We also were able to book parking at the nearby Hotel Molitor. Our rental car was too tall for the lower section of the quirky double-deck rack, but they were able to allow us to park on the top section.

Our room was on the first floor and had a small extra area with a third bed. Wifi didn't work in our room, so we sat in the comfortable lobby to use it. Breakfast the next morning was great, with meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, pastries and cereals.

Highly recommend this hotel if you are in Bamberg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Weierich with my husband in late May 2013 and had a lovely time. The location of the hotel is in Bamberg's old town, which is definitely where you want to be. It's within walking distance of all the sights in Bamberg and just a couple minutes walk to the river. Front desk staff gave nice recommendations on where to eat and were very friendly. Our room was very spacious and quiet. The only downside was the interesting decor around the hotel, a little bit cheesy and hodge podge, but really nothing to complain about. Breakfast was very nice and had lots of variety, with a nice view of the cobblestone streets of town in the dining area. We would highly recommend Hotel Weierich for your stay in Bamberg! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My dad and I recently went on a father-son trip to Germany, visiting six cities total. I most highly recommend this hotel for the following reasons:

My father and I were about five hours early from the normal check-in time. Rather than making a big fuss about it or just having us drop off our bags we were simply upgraded, free of charge, to a double room with separate bathrooms.

The owners and workers at the Weierich are very friendly and there's a mom-and-pop store atmosphere to the place. They offer a large variety of breakfast included in the price of the room. The staff is always very gracious and willing to help, even in English!

My only tip for the Weierich is that if you travel by train, either get a taxi from right outside the station (only about 8-9€) or have the entire route mapped out ahead of time. Bamberg is a very confusing city. All of the streets wind different ways and buildings are so tall that you can't easily find a landmark to use as a reference to your location.

Book this hotel! =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just spent two nights in room 10. The room's small but the hotel did ask us our choice of small or larger room, so the room size was my fault. The room was clean and adequate. Bathroom was clean and large enough. The hotel is in a great location 3 blocks from the alte rathaus over the river and near many pubs, restaurants, and shops. Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. This was our third stay here and we're booked again in November.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the smaller rooms as there is a vast difference in size. Also, try to avoid rooms faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Property: Hotel Weierich
Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weierich 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing