We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Weierich
Ranked #2 of 13 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had room 5 on the first floor this time. The room was nice, decent sized, very clean, with a small but very clean bathroom. We had three windows, a large schrank, along with a couch and table/chairs. We had a few small issues that weren't worth reporting: the soap dispenser at the sink was empty (the same dispenser in the shower was full so no big deal), the shower appeared to, at one time, have had doors but now had a curtain. I hate shower curtains but it was clean. Lastly, and this isn't the hotel's fault, we were there in late November so of course it was cold outside. The bar/restaurant downstairs was packed Saturday night with apparently lots and lots of smokers. Some of that smoke found its way into the lobby and our room; not horribly strong, but we could smell cigarette smoke. The following morning the smell was gone and did not return Sunday night.

The location of the hotel is great; about two blocks from Bamberg's beautiful rathaus. Our corner room was away from the main road so we heard no road noise whatsoever (of course our windows were closed). Restaurants and shops are literally below and next door and the famous Dom is about 200-300 meters walk away. Parking on the street is quite difficult but we did manage to snag a couple spaces while there and only once had to feed the parkschein automat!

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare. The bread selection was not stellar but adequate. Boiled eggs were the only warm/hot food but that is not a complaint. Coffee was plentiful.

This was our second stay at Hotel Weierich. When we return (probably next year) we'll no doubt stay here again. And lucky for us Americans, they accept VAT forms so we all avoid paying the German VAT for the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Weierich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Central, clean, good value. Good breakfast. Near to all the pretty sights in the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent: in the heart of downtown only minutes from both the Dom area and the shopping erea. Bamberg is a beautiful city (on the UNESCO list). Because of the many one-way streets in Bamberg, you may need a good map or GPS to find the hotel, but make sure you do find it for the hotel is excellent. We stayed with 4 adults in a single room, which turned out to be a two room suite with a full bathroom for the low price of Euro 135. I believe the hotel does not have an elevator. The breakfast was superb. The staff provided a good map to the nearby public parking garage (5 minute walk) and stored our luggage on the last day. If you expect to arrive very late, notify the staff in advance; I believe the office is not manned during the late evening and night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be adequate for our needs. Somehow we ended up getting a room that was split into 2 rooms (bedroom and bathroom) even though there were just 2 of us. It ended up turning out great since we had a lot of room to spread our 3 suitcases about. The bathrooms were very clean and the rooms were pretty quiet. Breakfast was decent---breads, meat, cheese, cereal, soft boiled eggs.

The hotel is very close to most of the attractions and several decent restaurants.

The wifi was a bit iffy. It would work in one of the bedrooms but the signal was not strong enough for the other bedroom.

I would stay in this hotel again if I ever came back to Bamberg, which I highly doubt I ever will. I found the town a bit dull.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I arrived on Sunday by train from Franfurth, it was a short 10 minute cab ride (less than 8 Euro's) to the Hotel. Our room was ready and we where well recieved by the staff. The hotel is located in the middle of the old town and there is something to see and do around every corner. We loved the location, staff, morning breakfast and overall feel of the Hotel. We plan to stay there again. It was a very pleasant stay, we where sad to leave.

Room Tip: Try the butcher shop next door and the bakery across the street, you can get great germany meats, ch...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sojette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We loved this hotel. My husband, mother in law and daughter stayed here for a weekend getaway. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was large, we had one room for us and another with two single beds where our daughter slept in the crib provided by the hotel. My mother in law had a single room and was a decent size and impeccably clean. We enjoyed breakfast. Everything was perfect in our minds and the location could not be better to enjoy all the sights Bamberg has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevinandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We rented an apartment, up the hill from the hotel. The price was excellent (45 Euro) for Bamberg and the apartment itself was excellent. I only knock the accommodation down for the location, a 10-minute walk down and then back up a steep hill. When we checked into the hotel, we had to pay a cab twice to actually get us there. Once from the train station to the hotel and again up to the apartment, too steep and far to take big luggage. It's walkable with a backpack or smaller bags. There is a neat brewery close to the apartment, up the hill. And of course, several excellent breweries down in town. We loved Bamberg, the highlight of our three week European trip. If you like beer, you'll love this town.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
Thank RTWtraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range: $96 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weierich 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing