We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, quaint.”
Review of Alt Ringlein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alt Ringlein
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A half-timbered former brewery right across from Schlenkerla, where there is something of a nightly party in the street, with a mix of tourists and locals drinking the famous smoked beer. We stayed there with two small children, all of us perhaps more tolerant to the noise than other families might be. Full days of walking the town and trying out beer gardens (and their playgrounds) didn't hurt in that regard. The hotel is not cheap but not bad considering the location. Parking is for smaller cars only, and a little bit cheaper down the street at the Rezidenzschloss garage anyway. Only real complaint with the hotel was that the front desk was unstaffed at night, but it is a smallish family place. Food and beers in the tavern are quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street if the crowd noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for two nights in this hotel in November 2012, it is run by a family and there is no night receptionist. The breakfast was really good, but the wi-fi did not work and the cleaning women were really loud in the morning (both mornings I woke up there, so it's probably a habit).
The hotel looks pretty traditional and it's located in a great part of the city, you can walk anywhere from there and you can find many places where to eat or shop.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbiccheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is amazing. Best location in Bamberg, excellent restaurant with a nice biergarten. The room is really charming, clean, the bathroom is not so small. Everything was great when we were there, and the price was really fair. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ligiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We loved this hotel. The 2 double rooms we had were just average and comfy but for the amount of time in them who cares about room and style? The shower and bath were large which was nice. The room itself was a little cramped and a bit noisy at night but we used ear plugs. Our room looked right out on the beer gardens, so of course we knew it would be. Our car couldn't fit in the small car storage lifts so we ended up parking pretty far away in a garage, with 10 minute walk back to hotel, that was only downside. They did allow us to pull right up to the door to offload the luggage. But the location and the views all around were awesome, so close to the cathedral and old brewery restaurants, the river, and shopping. The desk was very helpful, provided a stadtplan, their own restaurant and beer garden, breakfast was very good. Elevator was nice in such an old hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you bring a car plan to walk a bit to nearest public parking, unless your car is very small, like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowershopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is in the middle of the action in terms of things to see and do, with lots of old buildings, old restaurants, the bishop's old palace, the old castle and the old cathedral all just a few steps away from the lobby. Don't come with a car, as parking is extremely limited, hard to access even with a small car and very expensive (15 euros a night in addition to the room). The food is okay, but better in the surrounding restaurants. The service is fair, most of the staff seem to be putting in their hours as required without much enthusiasm for what they do. Rooms are very small and cramped, minimally furnished and very expensive....essentially you are paying for the location, the room is thrown in as an extra. Don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Only stayed here due to the location and price compared to other hotels. It was very expensive for what was offered for a double room. Cable TV, no mini bar/fridge. The breakfast which was included in the room rate was appallingly insufficient.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

It was accidental choice of the the accomodation in the charming center of historical Bamberg.
Unfortunately, the hotel is very avarage, with no spirit and character. The rooms with old furnitures, but tidy enough and clean. The surrounding is quite noisy / night pedestrians returning from restaurants and bars, bells from the church tower/.
The positiv point was the offer of free garage for my car.
The breakfast was very common, nothing special to remember.
The meal room needs for sure refurbishment.
Like for the 3 stars hotel in the off season winter weekend in the almost empty town, the price was quite high - 90 € for double room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alt Ringlein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alt Ringlein

Address: Dominikanerstr. 9, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alt-Ringlein is a historic house, whose roots go back to the year 1302. It consists of the main wing with 20 rooms (all with shower, WC, telephone, TV and mini-bar) and the timberwood frame wing (shower or bath, WC, telephone, TV and minibar). WiFi is available throughout the house, free for overnight guests. Our rustic restaurant offers Franconian specialties, z. B. Schauferla and sausages, smoked beer and good francoina wines. Enjoy our our cozy beer garden, with views of the cathedral towers. The hotel garage is only for vehicles up to max. 150 Cm height available. Higher vehicles would be damaged. Just ask us if your vehicle fits. The Alt-Ringlein is located in the old town part, in the heart of World Heritage between Cathedral and Schlenkerla. Everything is within easy walking distance, z. B. The Cathedral, the new residence or the old town hall. For the night owls provides the Bamberg Nightlife, right next to our house, a lot of attractions, events and entertainment. The old town part of Bamberg is a living district, during the day or in the night. The Schlenkerla is directly opposite, the main pub alley next to it. It could be very quiet or very loud loud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Alt Ringlein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing