We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break on the way down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Garden at the New Residenz

Rose Garden at the New Residenz
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,432 reviews
921 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
“Nice break on the way down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stopped at the Rose garden on our way down from Saint Michael's Church to the Rathaus i There were still some flowers to look at and it was a nice place to rest and relax before visiting the New Residenz and the Dom ! The place is quiet and well maintained . It also offers a nice view of Bamberg

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    147
    39
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Even without roses, still worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited in November, and nearly all the roses were gone, save for a few stragglers. I was disappointed to miss the Rose Garden in all its glory, but the view of Bamberg totally made up for it. You can get a great view of the Imperial Cathedral and look down onto Bamberg (it was especially nice all lit up just after sunset). We will try to return when the roses are in bloom, but it was still nice without them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Roses with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were there after the rose season, but we still got a sense of how beautiful it would be when in full bloom. Still some blooms out and they had a perfume! The view of Bamberg from the garden was magnificent.

Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scenic View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went into the Rose Garden after visiting the Dom. Had a coffee and very yummy cake. The garden has a 1-Million-Dollar-View over Bamberg. There must be hundred thousand of roses in the area. Great place to unwind and relax in the middle of a sightseeing tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rose Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don't miss this rose garden behind the Neues Residence. We were there in mid-October, and it was on the wane, but I can imagine how beautiful it must be in the summer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Garden at the New Residenz also viewed

Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 

Been to Rose Garden at the New Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing