We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Graupner

Hotel Graupner
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Graupner
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

The hotel was recommended by a friend. We stayed there and felt at home, the staff spoke fluent english and were polite and courteous. All rooms have been nicely renovated. A charming little hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDONMariaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    9
    12
    18
See reviews for
13
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Impressed with cleanliness, friendly staff, price and complete breakfast of this well-located inn, within walking distance of most everything in town.

Had no problem except a long climb to top of 3rd floor room and non-existent staff after hours. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plmsprngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

One of the bedrooms which we couldn't sleep in had an open waste vent that smelt strongly of open sewers, Management seemed unconcerned, cold and unhelpful. The reception area/hallways were extremely shabby. Breakfast was passable and to finish off the stay, returning to our room after breakfast we found 5 small bugs that we were unable to identify crawling across the walls and floors. This made our skin crawl. Can not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jenbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bamberg hotels

Sunset, LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

The Graupner is a fine hotel. We stayed there two nights and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room, on the top floor, was quiet and roomy, with a writing desk and an armoire. The bathroom was recently renovated and in fine shape; not roomy but not bad. The breakfast included scrambled eggs and an assortment of good German breads. The location on Lange Strasse is ideal, although the lower floors might be a little noisy. You are two minutes' walk from the main pedestrian commercial walkway, five minutes from the tourism office, and easy walking distance from the river and all the scenic buildings, restaurants and museums.

There is no elevator. In-room wireless Internet service is available for 4 Euros/day, as I recall. You can also use the computer at the reception desk for 1 Euro/half hour.
Try the goose rollbraten at the Brüdermuhle restaurant, right by the tourism office. Excellent.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Regensburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

I am a little surprised that the reviews of Hotel Graupner are so mixed, because my girlfriend and I both enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is well located near the centre of the old town, above a cafe and konditorei selling delicious looking cakes. Not surprisingly, the breakfast (served at the back of the cafe) was a highlight. Interior decorations were in keeping with Bamberg's Bavarian location, and our room was reasonably sized and equipped, with an ensuite bathroom ... but if you leave the window open overnight, you will be woken up at an ungodly hour by the delivery trucks at the supermarket across the road.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy in the early morning
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep the window closed.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRL_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We really enjoyed our brief stay in Bamberg. The hotel was in an excellent location but not well marked. We drove around the town for quite a while without seeing it. We had to walk around on foot before we were able to locate it. The staff was friendly and our room was recently rennovated. However, the rooms are not at all sound proof. We were woken up repeatedly in the early morning by the sounds of hotel staff making up the surrounding rooms. Don't think I would stay here again for that reason. Not the most restful night.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

The Graupner is in a marvelous location, and overall is a good-looking hotel for the price. However, the problems we experienced overshadowed the location and ambience of the place: 1. our room was very small, 2. the TV did not work, and they made no effort to fix it, 3. a large cockroach appeared in our room one morning! and 4. although our reservation confirmation said parking was free, we were very surprised to find we had to pay 6 Euro per day for it. They would not do anything about the parking fee, despite the fact we had a copy of the reservation promise for free parking and a TV. On arriving home, I sent an email to the hotel complaining of these disappoinments, and the owner wrote back saying we could have a night free on our next visit! That won't happen. We would love to visit Bamberg again, but we will not stay at the Graupner.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarbaraJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wohnbar
Hotel Wohnbar
#21 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#17 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#19 of 41 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Graupner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Graupner

Property: Hotel Graupner
Address: Lange Str. 5, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Graupner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Graupner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graupner Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing