We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel......”
Review of Hotel Brudermuehle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brudermuehle
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel......”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

After a week of sub par hotel stays I made it to the Brudermuehle and was thrilled. Its a beautiful little hotel in a great location right on the river in old Bamberg. The rooms were big, clean, and very comfortable. I never ate in the restaurant but heard it was outstanding. The staff was quick to bring up your luggage, delivery a beer, and recommend sight seeing areas around the city. Definitley a gem of a hotel in a wonderful sight seeing town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thertzler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
39
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We normally return to Bamberg every year having been stationed there in the l960's. We love everything about Bamberg. The people are very friendly and the city is known for its beauty. The last time we stayed there overnight, we stayed at this Hotel and found it to be exactly what we wanted. The food was very good - wide choice of foods at breakfast, and absolutely the best schnitzel anywhere around. The owners are very friendly.

  • Liked — The location. Easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Convenient parking.
  • Disliked — Having to leave it.....
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charlotte08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

I stayed in a double room at this hotel for a few days in December. The hotel is extremely charming and in the perfect location to walk everywhere in Bamberg. Make sure to request a room over looking the water- we felt like we were floating! Breakfast was included and it was perfect- lots of breads/cheeses. The only negative was that there is really no service at the hotel- not that we really needed it BUT I had been traveling around Europe for 2 weeks and we were staying in American hotels with over the top service. Comparatively, this hotel failed in that aspect. We didn’t have anyone to carry our bags down (we were on the second floor, bags were heavy) and the front desk woman was really rude when we checked out. She didn’t want to store our luggage for the few hours before our train departed nor would she allow us to split the room on two credit cards- all of this coupled by some serious eye rolling on her part. An extremely nice gentleman intervened and split the room charge and also stored the bags. Not really a big deal and not enough for me to deter staying there again or recommending the hotel- I would do both. Some people are just miserable by nature. Overall Bamberg is a gorgeous city and well worth the visit. If you have enough time- do a day trip to Nurnberg- also well worth seeing. If you can get there in the next two weeks the Christmas market there is the biggest in Germany. Feel free to email with any questions.

  • Liked — Location & water views
  • Disliked — Rude at front desk
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Brudemuhle in October. It was lovely and in a great location in the center of the city. Everything was within walking distance. The Bamberg Information Office was just over the pedestrian bridge outside the hotel. Rooms were very clean, staff helpful and the breakfast buffet had a great variety of items. Dinner was excellent as well. We did have a little trouble getting to the hotel.

Some of the streets in the central area had construction and we had to do detours. There are many pedestrians, bikes and other cars in the area, so we really had to be careful with the driving. After much patience and a second loop around the area, we arrived safely. Parking was a few blocks away in a public lot.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. attentive staff, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

On the spur of the moment we decided to take a bike trip along the Main River when the bad weather over Easter finally disappeared. After researching hotels in Bamberg where we decided to begin, I chose the Brudermuhle. I'm so happy I did. It was one of the best hotels we've stayed at in recent years. We arrived on our bikes from the train station and were immediately shown where we could lock them up for the night. We had a room right on the water which was pretty loud, like being next to a waterfall. We slept like babies. The room was very nice and we much appreciated the little things that were there, like a figure on the wall with needles and thread for mending. (See picture.)

We don't usually eat in the hotel we stay at but the smells coming from the restaurant when we arrived convinced us to try it out and we had a very good evening meal. Breakfast the next morning was even better. I think I would go back just for the breakfast that they offered.

The hotel is very centrally located, just a few minutes on foot from the cathedral and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Bamberg is a lovely town and we will certainly be back in order to spend another night in this excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Excellent room, excellent service, excellent breakfast, excellent location
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank living-in-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINGOES
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in late May 2005 and enjoyed it a lot. Our room overlooked the river and I found the sound of the rushing water very soothing and it helped me sleep.

It was an easy walk to the cathedral and other wonderful places. Don't forget to try the "smoked beer" which is very unusual and tasty. The public parking garage was a short walk from the hotel and low priced too. The nightly rate was not as inexpensive as some other hotels but worth the few extra Euros! Plenty to eat at breakfast although there weren't many folks to meet, at least when we ate around 8:30 am.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2003

Stayed in the Brudermuhle for 3 nights, June 2002. The location is ideal, right on the river with a great view of the old town hall--in the middle of the old town. Great atmosphere; nice restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff; clean rooms; very good buffet breakfast. Our luggage did not make it to Germany with us, and they had a staff member guide us to a department store so we could buy some essentials to get us through a couple of days. I recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Helpful?
18 Thank bill4752hm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brudermuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brudermuehle

Property: Hotel Brudermuehle
Address: Schranne 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brudermuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Brudermuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudermuehle Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing