We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas markets tour 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
northern virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas markets tour 2013”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had a delightful one-night stay here the second week of December. The location couldn't be better, the service was very good and an excellent breakfast in the cellar room. The bathroom was very modern. Only small complaint would be a stiff mattress. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
87
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

While this place is a little pricey, it is worth the location and quality of the hotel. Bamberg is a very aesthetically pleasing town that can be walked. The hotel is located right below the Domplatz, which allows you to easily reach all the sites. The rooms are great, breakfast superb and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuleta507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Barock Hotel. As other readers have mentioned, even with a GPS and driving directions supplied by the hotel, it was very tricky finding the hotel and navigating the narrow, one-lane windy roads. If you follow the directions supplied by the hotel you will get there just fine, just don't be afraid to drive through what looks like a pedestrian, non-drivable area.We reserved a parking place in advance and was glad we did. When we arrived, the lovely lady at the front desk came out and showed us where to park our car, which was just a few spaces away from the front door, behind a gate which she opened for us. Our hotel room was basic but big, with everything you need. It's just a quick walk from the hotel to the cathedral and river areas, and the allstadt. Bamberg is full of some wonderful picture-taking opportunities and the day we were there, they were celebrating some sort of local festival, so there was live music and food booths set up. Great people-watching. Make sure to check out the "Little Venice" area by the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our stay in Bamberg and the Barock Hotel was our favorite experience in a week-long trip across Germany. The location of the Barock Hotel is simply amazing in Bamberg. Also, I felt like I was staying in someone's home from a hospitality and generosity standpoint -- really a family, personal feel with above-and-beyond customer service.

I can say that the room and toiletries/etc. were very basic, but the charm of the hotel, the great breakfast and location, more than make up for the simplicity of the room amenities and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room with a view of the top of the cathedral -- it made me smile in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanaphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This Is my third trip to Germany, but my first to Bamberg and the lovely Barock hotel. Gracious hosts, super rooms with extras (makeup mirror, coffees, water), wonderful breakfast , plus nice treats in the lobby. My traveling companions (5) and I loved our two night stay and would highly recommend the Barock Hotel. It would be difficult, but not impossible, to locate at night. If you have navigated the tiny streets of Rothenburg, you will understand! Please add Bamberg and this lovely hotel to your itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is right in the heart of the old town next to a wall next to the cathedral and yes it is darn tricky getting a car in there. Even with the lovely little map supplied in an email it took three goes to wriggle down what look like oneway lanes but we eventually made it. Bamburg is a gorgeous town and this hotel is perfect for dumping the suitcase and getting out on foot. There are at least six brilliant places to eat and while away a few hours relaxing within metres of the hotel. We had lunch overlooking the river and just soaked up the very appealing atmosphere. The hotel is large and spacious, very clean and our twin room was perfectly fine. The bathroom was new, immaculate and had every amenity. The hosts put themselves out for us as we had to leave very early to get to airport so put a breakfast in the lobby fridge so we could snack in the car. If nothing else the service with genuine care was fantastic and we thank them for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful place, great walk-in location, but may the good lord be there to support you if you arrive by car. Bamberg is not really a car friendly town in the first place. The rooms are modern, nice size for Europe, clean, nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#9 of 40 in Bamberg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Property: Barock Hotel am Dom
Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing