We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the center of the historical, medieval old town of Bamberg, just a few minutes walk from the cathedral and pubs serving the famous smoked beer. The owners are very nice and very helpful with information concerning the best places to enjoys the various grades of smoked beer. All the old town sites, shopping and restaurants are close at hand. The hotel is housed in an building that has all the modern facilities, but does not lack charm. Other reviews claim difficulty finding the hotel. We Google satellite mapped the old town area and followed landmarks and street name right to the hotel. This visual aid was very helpful. Parking is limited in front of the hotel, but the owner will provide parking (7 Euros) in a small courtyard to the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
86
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice comfortable hotel which is run very efficiently. It is a bit hard to find when you are driving up to it...keep your eyes peeled for the blue signs and you do have to drive through what looks like a pedestrian area to get there. The outside of the hotel is charming and it is run by a very efficient woman. There is some limited parking outside. Our room was on the third floor. Beds were comfortable and the room was large but in need of some updating and modernizing as it all looks several decades old without any charm. The hotel setting is nice and quiet and it is a great place to get your washing done overnight. Breakfasts were good although no cappuccino was on offer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is located within the old town, very close to the Bamberg Dom. Everything was a quick walk and easy to find. The owners were so friendly and gave us multiple suggestions for things to do and places to go. They certainly made our stay a very comfortable, pleasant stay. Hotel is so centrally located to all restaurants and beer gardens we walked so much but were able to see many things. We were interested in seeing Altenburg Castle but were concerned that we would not be able to find it, the owner gave us such great directions that our walk to Altenburg became one of our best experiences in Bamberg. Breakfast was wonderful, the room was quaint and the staff was very helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an historic building. The owners speak English and were friendly and helpful. They lent us a guidebook for the city and also provided a city map. We stayed in a room on the first floor, neat the front door and were concerned that it might be noisy, but that was not the case. Breakfast in a vaulted room was more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tes321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the barockhotel very much. The rom itself wasn't typically baroque (luckily) - more like 1980-styled. Spotless, neat and with a nice bathroom. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Barock Hotel am Dom. Our hotel room was very large, even by American standards, extremely clean and the bathroom very modern. Our room overlooked the Cathedral, which was beautiful, but as a few other reviewers posted, don't expect to sleep late on a Sunday. There are a few parking spots outside, but they were very small, even for our European car. The staff was very friendly, spoke excellent English and were very accommodating. The breakfast was standard German fare, except for the croissants which were quite excellent.

My tips:
The hotel is located on a back alley road, so be prepared to feel like you are driving in a no car zone when arriving.
Make sure you ask for the wi-fi password when you check in. We forgot to do so and by the time we came back to the hotel that night (around 10pm), the staff had gone home for the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English in Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Due to our travel plans we only stayed one night but would have very happily stayed longer in this beautiful old, quaint hotel. It was genuinely stunning and fits in so well with the part of town it's located in. Our room was fine- had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom would be a bit of a squeeze for those of a larger frame, shower was lovely, no bath. Breakfast was a reasonable choice of breads, cheese, cereals etc and

The owners were very helpful and friendly, the husband is Dutch so I'm sure he speaks near perfect English like most Dutch people.

Make sure you do print off a very detailed map of the hotel location We did find it with our sat nav after a few wrong turnings as although we speak German, the sat nav doesn't. Actually I think getting lost in Bamberg's alleys and tiny narrow streets adds to it's charm but a lot of the nearby streets are pedestrianised and if you're the navigator be prepared for some 'are you sure' comments from the driver.

I cannot think of anything wrong with this hotel. Well I can but for me they weren't issues:
- Remember this city dates back to the middle ages and the centre is full of cramped, narrow houses, so the rooms are not spacious.
- Related to that, the rooms probably
- It's not called 'Hotel on the Dom' for nothing. Remember kids, cathedrals have bells and they ring at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Property: Barock Hotel am Dom
Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing