We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel was really great. The location is very central, although a little tricky to get to in a car. Once we were at the hotel, everything in town is very walkable.

The hotel itself is nice. The reception and common rooms are decorated in traditional Bavarian style. Our own room was a bit spartan in the decor, but everything was very comfortable and well cared for. The room was spacious and the bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated - a bit small, but it is an old building.

The hotel staff were excellent - very friendly and accomodating. When we arrived, the parking situation was a little tight, so one of the people at the hotel even parked the car for us.

Breakfast was fairly standard, but good quality and plentiful. The coffee was excellent.

One word of caution, because the hotel is just down the hill from the cathedral, the bells toll often. Anybody looking to sleep in may have trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the beautiful and traditional architecture of the exterior. Surprisingly, the rooms inside were quite modern. The bathroom in particular was updated with new fixtures and was very clean. We did run into the problem of accidentally booking two full beds (a "double") instead of a single bed (really, two full size mattresses pushed together), but we didn't care enough to ask them to change rooms.

The location of this hotel is perfect. The hotel is very close to all the restaurants and shopping along the river, and is a pleasant walk from many of the tourist sites, including the Cathedral, Rauchbier breweries, and Altenberg castle. We took the train into Bamberg and highly recommend taking a cab to the hotel. It's a short cab ride, but it would be very difficult to walk there with luggage, and the hotel is tucked away on a cute, cobblestone street that would be difficult to find if you were not familiar with Bamberg.

The owners were incredibly friendly and welcoming. They helped us with the Internet access and encouraged us to take some drinks with us on our way out of town, because we would be leaving too early to get breakfast. The breakfast was lovely and simple.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that you can smell the cigarette smoke on the smoking floors. We were never bothered by this inside our room, but you may notice it in the hallways or as you're walking up the stairs.

Nonetheless, we would absolutely stay here again if we came back to Bamberg, and we would recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is in a very good location for Bamberg's old town which we very much enjoyed. It was comfortable and not too expensive. So while it didn't have any wow factor about it, it was decent value and we had no complaints.
Like some other reviewers, we did find it difficult to locate even with a GPS, so we agree that some more directions would be a little easier. We did get some parking outside, but it was in a quiet time so it may be more of a circus in the busy season --I guess the hotel can sort it one way or the other.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

A little hard to find, but well worth it. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was delicious, parking was on the premises, and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The Barock Hotel, located just steps from the Dom, is perfectly situated to enjoy the splendors of Bamberg. Everything is a scenic walk away. The hostess Frau Bosch could not have been more friendly & helpful. She is a wealth of information & charming to chat with. Our room was spacious, modern, quiet, & comfortable. The breakfast, served in a wonderful vaulted room, was a perfect selection of fresh breads, local meats, juices, etc. Couldn't have been better.
I recommend this historic hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Excellent hotel in a perfect location, right in the heart of the old town.

By European standards, the room was very big, so I could forgive the barren 70's decor. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom modern and roomy. Everything was very clean.

Christine the owner runs a tight ship. The breakfast (included in the price) was well stocked and fresh coffee was made for us upon arrival each morning. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The only reason I picked this hotel was for the location and because we only planned to be in Bamberg one night for the Christmas market. The rooms are furnished with outdated furniture and lighting. The bathroom was clean and the towel warmer was nice, but the towels were thin. The breakfast was okay. The staff were not too friendly, and the lady at the desk was rather rude on at least two occasions. The only thing nice about this hotel is the view we had from our window of the cathedral -- it was spectacular. Loved hearing the bells of the cathedral at night. Other than the rude staff, there is nothing really wrong about the hotel. I'm not giving a good review for this hotel because I think it is worth it to spend a few more euros to have charming surroundings and friendy staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tygertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: $131 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing