We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice accommodation in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Schrottenberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palais Schrottenberg
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in the second location across the street. We had a nice room with a good, hot shower, which was nice after a long day. The location is in the best area of Bamberg, close to all the best historic sights and evening activities (restaurants and pubs).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is 2010. We felt we got the "bait & switch" situation. The photos of a hip, contemporary high ceiling room is not the Palais Schrottenberg - it is a separate building affiliated with the hotel called DomHerrenhof. We reserved according the website - 2 HIP chambres but got a 80's furnished 16m2 room. After an exhausting day at a trade fair, I couldn't remember what I had reserved (or if it really mattered). The receptionist asked us "guest room or hotel room?" as it COSTS THE SAME- so I asked her which one was the nicest? And she replies "of course the Baroque rooms" in the main hotel. Minutes later she tells me "The guest house is not possible, cause it is MORE EXPENSIVE." Oh, let me also not forget to add that we 4 were the ONLY guests that evening. We felt ripped. Yes, impeccably clean, delicious breakfast, the dining room is BAROQUE - but not room numbers 4 or 5.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SINFULiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel this month for the third time and we were, as usual, very happy with the accomodation, staff and service. The rooms are terrific with super high ceilings, modern furnishings and large bathrooms (including a bath).. We stayed in Room 1 on the last 2 visits which is right next to reception and doesn't require a trip up the grand staircase to the upper level rooms. Breakfast is a generous buffet. Staff members are very helpful and we were particularly grateful for the suggestion to visit a delightful winery about 1/2 hour away for a birthday lunch. They were also very relaxed about checkout time and allowed us to leave our cases in our room most of the afternoon. We noticed on Trip Advisor that other hotels have higher ratings, but we opted to stay with our favourite and were very pleased we did.

Helpful?
1 Thank rbinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This was our 4th trip to Bamberg since 1996. All four times we spent 3 days in the city. The Palais Schrottenberg was by far the best hotel we have stayed at in Bamberg. Its location in the Old Town is conveinient to The Dom, the Regnitz and all the restaurants and breweries. We even were able to walk up to the castle which overlooks Bamberg. We had an 8 passenger van, parked it for the entire 3 days and walked to all the places we wanted to see in Bamberg. We even walked to the Bahnhof to take a train to Nurnberg for a day visit. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beer garden and restaurant located right in the hotel are fantastic. We had 5 of our adult sons with us and they were amazed. Our oldest son said that he felt as if he were in a storybook with the narrow streets and half timbered structures right outside our door. The complimentary breakfast each day was also fantastic.
Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Bill Birney, Wallingford CT USA
birney9@snet.net

  • Liked — The location and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

Built 300 years ago as the home of a wealthy merchant, and having had many changes of use since, this is now a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of beautiful Bamberg. There are 13 rooms of varying size and the nightly rate is from 100 to 140 euros, including breakfast. All the attractions of Old Bamberg are on the doorstep and numerous restaurants serving excellent food at very reasonable prices are within easy walking distance. We had 1 of the 2 ground floor rooms, both of which are huge with great high ceilings. Rooms are very well heated in winter and have ultra modern furnishings and fittings. Bathrooms, too, are large but have no bath: however the power shower was excellent and there was constant hot water. Toiletries and towels were adequate, but no more than this. A nice glass-fronted bar/cafe/bistro which overlooks a pleasant courtyard, has been added, and is very popular with locals, as is the restaurant.. Buffet breakfast comprises mainly cold meats and cheeses, and the selection is good. Hot cooked breakfast is available on request but this appears to be a "well kept secret" - no one tells you this! The hotel is staffed mainly by young, energetic and attentive people, so service is good and fairly fast. However, it attracts great crowds of locals for weekend breakfast and finding a table can be difficult at these times. Hotel residents appear to be given no preference over locals. One problem with ground floor rooms is that of privacy. Windows are at street level and passers-by are inclined to have a good look in!!

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — No tables reserved for residents at breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Contact the hotel direct and negotiate - don't accept first room rate given
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2004

We stayed at Palais Schrottenberg in March 2002 and were very impressed. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. A hotel like this in the States would be double the price. The breakfast buffet was out of this world and the mini bar is well worth mentioning (very affordable) as well as the sushi bar (on season). The atmosphere is very sophiticated and elegant. We felt quite special as guest of Palais Schrottenberg! Perfect location. Great value. Need I say more?

Helpful?
4 Thank hurley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2003

Palais Schrottenberg is by far the hippest, best hotel in Bamberg. The hotel is a historic palace directly on the river and only a short walk to the city center. The rooms are modern and stylishly decorated. After living in Bamberg for a year and getting to know the city and hotel offerings, Palais Schrottenberg is definitely where I will stay when I return.

Helpful?
7 Thank AtlantaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#8 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brudermuehle
Hotel Brudermuehle
#14 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#16 of 41 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#7 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Schrottenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Schrottenberg

Property: Palais Schrottenberg
Address: Kasernstrasse 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais Schrottenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palais Schrottenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing