We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring, no internet as they advise”
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel National
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Tuscany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Boring, no internet as they advise”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Pros: Quiet position and nice breakfast
Cons: They advertise there is a restaurant BUT they guy told us that it is usually closed (?), they advertise internet connection BUT the lady told us "now it is not working, I will bring you the necessary access codes later" (I am still waiting for a sign from her). The entrance to the underground garage is narrow and steep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
37
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We spent two nights at Hotel National in October 2007. It is a couple blocks from the main train station and a ten minute walk to the historic downtown of this fun little city.
The front desk was helpful and answered any question we had. There is a restaurant, but we did not eat there. A free cointinental breakfast is served in a room on the top floor and was pretty typical of European hotels, with a good selection of breads, meats, yogurt, cold cereals, and strong coffe. The only thing different was the hot dogs and mustard.
The room was pretty standard for Europe, small but space is well used. The carpet could have been cleaned a little better as it had some stains, but that was the only issue we had with the room.
Overall a good hotel at a reasonable price. Also unlike most reservations we made for this trip, this is the only hotel that we did not have to prepay upon reseriving the room.

  • Liked — Location, price, good service
  • Disliked — Minor spots on carpet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blairb366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2005

We stayed at the Ringhotel National in the fall of 2004. We found it convenient, clean, charming and affordable. I would like to warn: If you are driving, you may want to check out the hotel parking cellar before embarking on the descent down there. It was a nightmare! Very steep and narrow, no room to turn around, easy to panick at the thought of the price of repairs to the rental car. Fortunately, the hotel staff was friendly and understanding, they helped us! While the older part of Bamberg is very nice, we didn't find the walk from the cathedral-area back to the hotel quite as nice after dark. Excercise the same caution as you would if walking after dark in any other (american or not) town.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2004

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June 2004. The hotel is conveniently close to the station and although on a main road I do not recall any noise. Bamberg is a lovely compact town and it is a relatively short walk to the attractions in the old town. The single bedroom was narrow but quite comfortable. There was no air conditioning in the room but that was not a problem when I was there. The staff were helpful and friendly. I ate in their restuarant one night and had a good meal. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable. I would certainly consider staying there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2004

What fun, olde Germany as it was and should still be. Bombing during WWII robbed Germany of the history associated with many of their cities, not Bamberg. Strategically unimportant, this city survives as it has for centuries. The Ringhotel sits right across the street from an international beer landmark- Schlenkerla. This very traditional bierstube serves what many travel the world to find- the best example of smoked or rauchbiers in the world. (Also, for a great german dinner, fine beer, and a stunning view that rivals many of the worlds great olde city vistas, climb up the hill to the Spezial Brewery.)

The Ringhotel is classic in that old, out of square style associated with buildings that surive generations. We had a room on the second floor, complete with flower boxes out the window. There was some street noise at night, but it was amusing and part of the local flavour. Great food is all around you. The only down side to this hotel is driving in. Bamberg streets are extremely narrow, frequently one way, and poorly marked. We passed the hotel twice on the backside before finally parking our car out there and tipping a bellman to drive it around front and park it.

Helpful?
13 Thank kvf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2004

Bamberg was a wonderful, picturesque medieval town with so much to see. We stayed at the Ringhotel National, a family-run hotel which is part of a loose chain. The family was friendly, breakfast was great and we ate at the hotel restaurant twice and we liked everything we ordered except the rauschbier, a local specialty bier that tasted like liquid smoke. (Try it anyway!) The hotel was 2 blocks from the pedestrian zone and medieval buildings galore, several churches and a Rathaus sitting in the middle of one of the two rivers/canals that run through the town. There is an area along one of the canals called "Kleine Venetig" which means Little Venice, where the houses support each other and are right on the river. Definitely try the Nurnberg brats, small brats that are really good and are served in most of the restaurants in the area. Bamberg is ideally located about 30 miles northwest of Nurnberg and many daytrips to places like Rotenberg, Wurzberg, Weimar, and many other locations are easy with two nearby autobahns. The whole family really enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alt Bamberg
Hotel Alt Bamberg
#21 of 40 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Property: Hotel National
Address: Luitpoldstr. 37, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ringhotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel National 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to a 3 stars *** hotel with comfort and atmosphere. The hotel offers all comfort of a business hotel in traffic-favorable situation. Business travellers, tourists, cultural enthusiast, families and groups count to our company circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing