We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sandstern
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nepomuk(Bamberg)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$132
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Tandem Hotel(Bamberg)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Bamberg)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Alt Ringlein(Bamberg)
$110
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
4
21
14
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
21
14
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good location for the city center, in the pedestrian area of comfortable roukapaikkojan close. Hotel features clean rooms and a buffet breakfast. Jazz and other music clubs right next to the hotel. The hotel is a good fit for people who do not need to Parking near the hotel, City maps or instruction on arrival.
Annoying thing of the hotel: "Free parking can be found close to the Sandstern Hotel" refers to the possibility for public parking. I got a phone instructions where to park, and in the morning the motorcycle had parking fine..Then I got new instructions from free public parking place which was in a remote area, that's where I did not want to leave the motorcycle. After this, I instructed a paid parking garage which was also a 15-minute walk away. Later notice that closer to the hotel was othetr s a parking garage at same price. When I arrived, I got a hotel key using the key code, but there was not available the city map or any information about the city.

Room Tip: The rooms are quieter at courtyard, street bars will cause some noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable, typical smaller European size. Nice breakfast buffet, with plenty of options and good coffee. The location is right in the middle of town, within walking distance of restaurants and attractions. On the downside, there is no elevator or parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

A serious walk from the railway station, so we suggest you take a taxi or spend an hour getting lost down the back streets of this beautiful city. Like we did... It was hardly a chore though as we gasped at the sights of Bamberg for the first time, but if you’re carrying luggage, a cab is your best bet.

NOTE: The Reception is not manned full time and they are only around in the morning and afternoon until 18:00, plus they have a two hour lunch break. Make sure you contact them with your arrival time to arrange getting a key. After hours the key lets you into the side entrance and directly to your room.

You couldn’t ask for more from a location and the Sandstern Hotel (meaning sand star) is bang in the centre of things in the Old Town among cobbled-stoned streets, medieval churches (you’ll love the bells chiming I’m sure but the effective double glazing ensures it’s not too intrusive) and such a picturesque backdrop you’d think you were on a Hollywood set.

The room (#16) was small but nicely laid out with heavy wooden furniture, small (14”) TV showing local channels and a writing desk. The double bed was firm and comfortable, the linen excellent and it was very clean.

The bathroom was even smaller but everything worked with plenty of hot water for both the shower (very good) and sink. They even supply liquid soap for both and a handy power point for shaver/toothbrush.

More than adequate lighting, including bed side lamps, a wardrobe and central heating finish off the items present and overall we had a very pleasant stay, especially as we had arrived for the annual beer festival.

Bamberg has over 70 individual breweries- who needs the expensive Oktober Fest in nearby Munich anyway?

Breakfast is available as an optional extra but we didn't try it but the free wi-fi was faultless and we had access in the room.

See our Blog for more details (address in our profile) or contact us directly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the town, its placed in a nice cobblestone street a midst cafes and bars and my own room which was on the top floor had a great view of the cathedral, especially at night! The hotel is not luxury but i thoroughly enjoyed it, had a cosy homely feel within the rooms if not a little dated. I havent a complaint, the staff and breakfast are also worth a mention, they where spot on. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Совет по выбору номера: Просить номер с окнами во двор тем, кто не любит национальные песни ночью ))
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews