We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Messerschmitt for therr nights last month. The location is in the center of everything. There are dozens of restaurants just a short walk away. The area that is designated for foot traffic only is just meters away. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast each day was delicious. I had no complaints with the room . I had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have an overnight stay in this hotel and we find it really amazing! The decorations used and the how they maintained the hotel. It is very clean and we had a very comfortable sleep. Nice breakfast and staffs are also very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying in this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milds2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel, and yes the connection is with the plane company, is ideally situated in Bamberg. It is comfortable and the food is good. It is a traditional German hotel serviing wholesome high quality German food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We went for a weekend. This is the only hotel in Bamberg we have stayed in (so we are unable to compare/contrast).

Overall, it's a nice, classy hotel. Quiet too. Friendly staff, all seem to speak English. Hotel info and signs are written in English and German.

Hotel had a small bar. We enjoyed a few drinks there. Night-shift bartender was very nice.

Room is large for a Germany hotel. Double beds (in our room), a desk, chair, small TV (we got to watch CNN in English) and mini bar (whose prices are the same as the bar downstairs).

Bathroom is large for a German hotel - we had a shower/bath. Lotsa counter space. We also had a close-up mirror.

WiFi signal was good. They give you login/password at the front desk.

Spa/Wellness - only open 5-10 p.m., so we were not able to enjoy. Wish they were open longer or in the mornings.

Breakfast was a very nice spread and included "typical" American items - bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage as well as typical German items - brotchen, cold cuts, cheeses. Also had fresh fruits, jellies, cereal, juices, hot teas, coffee beverages and even champagne for a mimosa.

NEGATIVE: Parking is virtually unavailable around the hotel. Garage is a few blocks away. Suggest dropping someone off at the front door with luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

A pretty small hotel at the edge of the old city of Bamberg. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean, large and attractively furnished. The bathroom was modern and clean but retained a delightful style. The bed was comfortable (although pillows were large but soft). The rooms were quiet despite a busy street outside the hotel.

Buffet Breakfast was disappointing, not helped by the milk and fruit salad being off. The restaurant staff were however helpful in replacing the milk when this was pointed out to them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OchreSilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Computer in lobby out of service. Shower floor extremely slippery; hotel refused to provide shower mat. Hotel has no iron available. Room curtain does not block out early morning sun light. No auto loading/unloading zone provided. From front of hotel, one must circle town (approximate 20 min) to public garage (two blocks away). But, hotel is perfectly located and staff was apologetic to inconveniences.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kadimatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a newly renovated very comfortable hotel 5 minutes walk from the central market place and 10 minutes from the old town. I was very surprised when I checked in as the hotel is completely new. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and very quiet. Since the hotel has a long history I was expecting much less. The restaurant is probably the best in town. Very upscale, but delicious and not pretentious. Friendly waitstaff, which is not always the case in Germany, and a great selection of Franconian wines.The staff were very accomodating and helpful. Parking is very limited though and not free. Most guests are refered to the public parking across the street. The hotel is not cheap, but worth the price to me.

I have reservations to stay there again this year and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is definitely "tourist friendly", which is important if your German is as spotty as mine.

The ONLY negative is checking in with a car. The hotel is on a very busy shopping street with parking control, which was totally occupied the day I was there. The "parkschein"machine was also broken that day, and with the parking control people quite active I was worried about getting a ticket Finding a place to park the car, then checking in was a minor problem, but after checking in I had to drive clear out of town and come all the way around again to get back to the hotel because all of the streets are one way, and there is only one way to get back to the parking area. With traffic it took almost 30 minutes to make the transit. There is NO "loading" zone in front of the hotel. Really a minor inconvenience, but if you are driving try to turn right just before the hotel onto the access road and park there and you can avoid the long drive I had to make.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the hotel parking spaces
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#11 of 40 in Bamberg
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Bamberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt

Address: Lange Str. 41, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: $189 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing