We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. The hotel is an old converted hospital and retains some lovely old touches of its previous life. Our room was in the front building with a view on to Sandstrasse. The room was very spacious, comfortable and very quiet with almost 2 rooms the entrance way was so big. The bathroom was equipped with a large shower and and while not huge was very clean and well stocked with toiletries and towels. Robes and slippers were also provided which was a nice touch as were the gummi bears on the pillow!
Breakfast was a huge buffet with a large assortment of hot and cold food on offer. We also eat a couple of times in the bar and while it was a bit pricey it was good (we both had very large salads served with some very tasty bread).The Weiss beer was delicious, a speciality of Bamberg. Staff at all times were courteous and extremely helpful even advising us that for internet we should use the computers in the lobbey as the in room wifi is very expensive. I would love to return to this hotel maybe in summer when you could enjoy the many beer gardens and all the lovely restaurants and walks along the river. That being said a visit in snowy January was extremely enjoyable and quite romantic with mugs of gluhwein after a stroll around the old city which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the first building seem to be the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    151
    50
    19
    3
See reviews for
29
157
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a deluxe dbl at this hotel. Our room was in the back section of the hotel with a view of the courtyard and front building.
The room was a generous size and quite nice if a bit bland, typical of a business hotel really. We had a seating area with 2 very uncomfortable chairs and a small table.
The bathroom was small but functional with a corner bath and shower over the bath. However the grout around the tub and between the floor tiles could have done with a good scrub. There also seemed to be a leak. After a bath or shower there was water on the floor no matter how careful you were and the volume of water increased over time meaning that the floor always needed towels down.
We dined at the "Erthal" restaurant one evening and it was excellent. It is not cheap but the ambience, service and food were all excellent. We had a lovely evening.
Breakfast was also excellent served in the bright and cheeful "Orangerie".
There is underground parking on site and all the staff members we met were polite, friendly and helpful.
So overall pretty good, but we were a little let down by the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

A friend suggested that we stay in Bamberg as it is medieval town that was unscathed by the war. The town is absolutely charming. The hotel is well located and a short walk to the center of town. The room was the largest and most spacious of any hotel that I have stayed at. The service was great and the breakfast (which was included) was extensive with great quality and quantity of food. The hotel has been expanded. Get a room in the original part of the hotel as the newer rooms are not as spacious or charming as the original rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigintrepidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a hotel developed from a range of impressive period hospital buildings alongside the river and within very easy walking distance of most of the historic sites of this splendid small Franconian city.

The rooms are generous in size, and very well equipped, but avoid those right next to the road as it can be noisy - especially if you like some fresh air from an open window. This is a large hotel built around two garden courtyards and we were quickly moved to a quieter room when we complained. The hotel does not have a wireless facility but there are two terminals in reception available free of charge, and phone line connectors in the rooms - for a charge..

The breakfast offering was quite splendid and the biggest choice we have ever had anywhere, although perhaps a negative for some might be the absence of on the spot cooking.

Overall this hotel is excellent with a helpful reception team, but other negatives for some might be the lack of any porterage facility to handle luggage - a big problem we noted for a touring coach which arrived during our stay, and a very limited "spa" area. This had a few useable machines, but in the relaxation area neither the jacuzzi nor the steam room were working, leaving only a rather crowded sauna to use.

The hotel also has conference facilities, but for those on holiday it is a great location for easy access to almost anything you might want to see or do in this lovely city....and Bamberg really is impressive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Came to bamberg as the celebration of st elizabeth came to an end of five nights of bear drinking in the streets of the old city.we adored the architecture and were so happy to go back to our own schloss when the night was over for us...wonderful place to come back to have your head on a very good pillow... Loved the breakfast and recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Exclusive resort just a short walk from all the city centre attractions. We got a large corner suite (#601) with views over the river and the city. Impeccable service, convenient parking, excellent breakfeast. But it comes at a price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent only one night and were fortunate enough to be given a large room in the front of the hotel overlooking the hotel's very pretty front garden. Two french doors opened onto the garden. The beds were comfortable and clean. Internet was indeed spotty and the a/c was non-existent. In fairness, it was in the 60's outside at night. Europeans open windows when it is cool outside- they don't run air conditioning until it is hot!

The location was perfect for exploring the old town, but tucked away enough to be quiet and peaceful for the night. Breakfast was fine, the parking was convenient and the front desk help friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Property: Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Address: Untere Sandstr. 32, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing